• The HardwareZone forums will be temporarily unavailable on January 21, from 5:00am to 6:00am (+8GMT) while we perform scheduled maintenance.

Food portion size Singapore vs Australia

IloveWG

I tell you many stalls I went to is cheaper than I ownself cook.
hmm... r u living in the METAVERSE huh??? many stalls are cheap??

i everyday run around the west to south, from jurong, clementi, bouna vista, Queenstown,.bukit merah, outram, tanjong pagar, raffles place, cityhall and bugis.... all the foodcourt or kopitiam found in above places, all had increase min$0.50 to $3 in price leh... everything gone expensive.... now $50 1 day spend like $10! cant buy much anymore.

Ironside

hmm... r u living in the METAVERSE huh??? many stalls are cheap??

i everyday run around the west to south, from jurong, clementi, bouna vista, Queenstown,.bukit merah, outram, tanjong pagar, raffles place, cityhall and bugis.... all the foodcourt or kopitiam found in above places, all had increase min$0.50 to $3 in price leh... everything gone expensive.... now $50 1 day spend like $10! cant buy much anymore.
I think because I am regular they give me a lot.

Visor9999

wow! this is my ideal 1 meal consumption bro!! sg portion really shrank over the yrs... even the size 1 loaf of bread has shrunk! becomes smaller squarish shape! and all the containers for packet to go also shrunk 1/3 to half in container sizes so that to create a bigger portion appearance, even there is a lesser portion, being packed into it now...

Govt should just come up with special nutrient meal packs servings for bbfa eaters. Since food shrink so much these days. Big eaters cost a lot of money to be full

IloveWG

4k in sg, you rent a room for 700-1k near workplace, and you eat and spend 1k since you live nearby, you save 2k monthly plus cpf of 2k or so.

4k in melbourne, you rent a crap room for 1.6-2k near workplace, the remaining 2k you will easily spend it on food, internet, transport, health insurance. if you can save $500 that is quite power already, you will need to eat dinner leftovers daily.
Oh, i guess u r a PR or foreigner working in sg. no wonder u say so. and at the end of the day, u earn and save can go back to your country to retire nicely, got retirement pension by your government somemore.

i think u misunderstood us lah, we are referring to locals who had family here in sinkland, and the cost of living is soo much higher, thus $4k is confirm not enough to spend lor.

well, if u can get a $4k job here, confirm is a Ass Manager or senior executive post, so if u find same post in Aus, u will definitely get much higher salary than $4k correct? i think should be $6 - 9k?? compare wise, aus is still able to do better... cos u get Freedom of speech and get to retire no need to wash toilet! hahaha

Mr Totoro 38

Depends on what skills u got. Minimum wage jobs like waiters or house cleaner can survive. If good at fixing car can join workshop.

Else healthcare, IT in large demand. Can look at skilled migrant list

KNN,

asking a plumber to come over and replace a damaged pump at the toilet water tank easily cost u $470 (including AUD$80 call out fees)
is only a 10min jobs and imagine how much the tradies earn....

If you go to bunnings and buy the materials yourself, it only cost you:

water pump $20
flexi pipe good quality $9
sealing tape $3.20
Spanner (optional if u didnt have) Good one cost $18

so...everything under $60...unless you know how to DIY. If not u pay over $400...to ask plumber and imagine u work as tradies here.

XuishX

Why Singapore food portion is very small when compared to Australia?

@amransan

Around 12 years ago stayed at Australia for half a year.

1 egg Benedict 25 SGD I thought wow so expensive. Dish come Liao, portion size big until I have to share it with 3 other friends and still can’t finish it.

We asked the person how many eggs are in there, he said 25 eggs 🥹

Mr Totoro 38

Around 12 years ago stayed at Australia for half a year.

1 egg Benedict 25 SGD I thought wow so expensive. Dish come Liao, portion size big until I have to share it with 3 other friends and still can’t finish it.

We asked the person how many eggs are in there, he said 25 eggs 🥹

Glad you know!

Sometimes can share with your spouses or friends with 1 big portion.
IF not you can't finish the food, you tao bao home with container and that can be your next meals.

A good example, end of the day if you go to supermarket, sometimes there is sales on clearance cooked food.
1 good example is the grill chicken. price can be as low as $4.00 for a whole chicken!

The evident :

So, can you find such price in sg? If so, let me know. I quickly go and grab one.
Kam Xia!

lalalalalala

4k in sg, you rent a room for 700-1k near workplace, and you eat and spend 1k since you live nearby, you save 2k monthly plus cpf of 2k or so.

4k in melbourne, you rent a crap room for 1.6-2k near workplace, the remaining 2k you will easily spend it on food, internet, transport, health insurance. if you can save $500 that is quite power already, you will need to eat dinner leftovers daily.
then why sg no need spend on internet, transport and health insurance?

MoyoCase

Glad you know!

Sometimes can share with your spouses or friends with 1 big portion.
IF not you can't finish the food, you tao bao home with container and that can be your next meals.

A good example, end of the day if you go to supermarket, sometimes there is sales on clearance cooked food.
1 good example is the grill chicken. price can be as low as $4.00 for a whole chicken!

The evident :

So, can you find such price in sg? If so, let me know. I quickly go and grab one.
Kam Xia!

Yes i was there in 2010.. over the weekend usually have 50% discount or buy 2 for 1 that kind.. That's something u cant find in singapore,

MoyoCase

qMdqYR3l.jpg

This more tasty than NTUC selling same type

PetKat

then why sg no need spend on internet, transport and health insurance?

sg everything is a lot cheaper

but talk to u is pointless ur only goal is to put down sg talk up aus without regard for facts

aus i bleieve the big mac meals are 13 sgd aud now? a cab ride will cost 50-100 aud easily. trains cost $5 per way or something. if you drive the gas will cost a lot too. rental is a lot higher as well in big cities generally. so basically everything is more exp

PetKat

qMdqYR3l.jpg

This more tasty than NTUC selling same type

aus has no cheap food generally

expect to pay at least $10 for cai png at any food court

here you still can get for $4

everything is more expensive there from your haircut to internet to taxi

Mr Totoro 38

already said before those kind of food more exp cos not local food... besides their salary 2-3x higher than singaporean

they don;t know what is known - Min wage!

If one is paid $25 per hour (adult worker).

For 8hrs you are paid = $200 per day.

So, what is a $10 caipng to he/she....

Ar yo...Moyocase bro. Stop wasting time debating with frog la...
they are in a different world la...let it be.

ya lor sg is very very cheap and better than oz...ok!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.