EM (Exec Maisonette) or EA (Executive Apartment)?

EJB

In before some people say I hao lian .... but...

I'm staying in an EM now, For 32 years at least. Moved in when I was studying in poly. The house is now 37 years.

I'll tell you space is great for an EM, upstairs downstairs, isolates the living room from the bedrooms, upstairs 2 toilets, 1 toilet downstairs, you hardly need to fight over toilet usage honestly. It's really great, until you grow old, and parents even older.

Then you really don't want the EM anymore because worry of falls. I have a 2 way stair light switch, but for some reason, maybe being too traditional, my parents refuse to use it when descending in the wee hours of the mornings (4-5am) which scares us a lot.

It's good when your family demographics are young and with children, for older folks, it will become less desirable over time.

That said I still enjoy the EM (location - near food, park and directly next to MSCP) and the space, but my parents' wellbeing over the EM. I've purchased a 5A and will be downgrading, another month or so my reno should complete and my parents will be 'safer' without the stairs.

Hayate84

practically, many ppl will prefer EA due to single load space. but EM will be much more in demand if you intend to sell it in the future. due to it is no longer produce by HDB and henc l created somekind of exclusivity.

Glamorousky

Each has its pros and cons.

EM = 3 toilets + all the bedrooms are at level 2. So guest can mingle around at Level 1 while u kept ur privacy. Plus 2 Void Space (High Ceiling area)

EA = Spacious Living & Dining + Bedrooms, but only 2 toilets.

Can see some designs here for Executive Maisonette [ www.facebook.com/JesignsInteriorDesign ] Pls do not ask for quote, just take a look at the designs&layout Only!

peaceheart

I'm staying in an EM now, For 32 years at least. Moved in when I was studying in poly. The house is now 37 years.
I'll tell you space is great for an EM, upstairs downstairs, isolates the living room from the bedrooms, upstairs 2 toilets, 1 toilet downstairs, you hardly need to fight over toilet usage honestly. It's really great, until you grow old, and parents even older.
Then you really don't want the EM anymore because worry of falls. I have a 2 way stair light switch, but for some reason, maybe being too traditional, my parents refuse to use it when descending in the wee hours of the mornings (4-5am) which scares us a lot.
It's good when your family demographics are young and with children, for older folks, it will become less desirable over time.
That said I still enjoy the EM (location - near food, park and directly next to MSCP) and the space, but my parents' wellbeing over the EM. I've purchased a 5A and will be downgrading, another month or so my reno should complete and my parents will be 'safer' without the stairs.
Wah uncle how old are you liao? 50?

Anyway, what's with the light switch? Why your parents dun turn the lights on when going down?

MegatonNev

Do you need to welcome guest?
EM is better for that... And should have space for bathtub too...

reds79

Jumbo

im not joking.

jumbo-flat-floor-plan.jpg
Nice...

Where is this and how much you bought it?

standarture

Never understood why people keep quoting stairs as an issue with EM. No issue one. My parents 70+ and grandma 90+ no issue. At most she will sit down and slowly go up and down with her hands but she never ever complained. If you can walk decently at that age, it won't be an issue. Otherwise, you should be in a nursing home already.

peaceheart

Each has its pros and cons.
EM = 3 toilets + all the bedrooms are at level 2. So guest can mingle around at Level 1 while u kept ur privacy. Plus 2 Void Space (High Ceiling area)
EA = Spacious Living & Dining + Bedrooms, but only 2 toilets.
Can see some designs here for Executive Maisonette [
www.facebook.com/JesignsInteriorDesign
] Pls do not ask for quote, just take a look at the designs&layout Only!
The toilets can be cons. Normally 2 is enough. More toilets means more to clean. Also, pls correct me if I'm wrong but Iirc the common toilet at lv2 is smaller than usual and normally can't accommodate a shower?

Wu-Han Clan

when you are old, you still want to climb stairs to your room?

i prefer EA.

lazy to climb stair to reach my room
most ppl alrdy move out by 10 yrs liaooo.... if want to buy forever home then maybe EM nt suitable...

i think staircase is v unique in hdb context... i think since 1990 no more EM liaoo....

@reiser i think ppl are seeing the appeal of EM especially those who like big space.... young couples shld srsly consider EM... so much space to work from home.... after 10-15 yrs can later go back to single floor unit...

dont later want to stay EM then the remaining lease is like 40 yrs left lmaooo....

nyvrem

Nice...

Where is this and how much you bought it?

this one idk but my mum owns one in 10kkj

she got it in the 90s so chip chip la

heard now units there going for 800k-900k+ also

but hard to beat 1600+ sqft units, especially if u got a big family

EJB

Wah uncle how old are you liao? 50?

Anyway, what's with the light switch? Why your parents dun turn the lights on when going down?
Not yet 50, :s13:

My parents are very antique, how to put it, very technology resistant, everything is like alien, even a two way switch is something that they don't have when young, so now older, they do not 'like' it. Just like a smart TV, digital door locks, etc. They are very resistant towards it.

Even with an iPhone my dad struggles, apart from using it for calls, there's nothing else he wants to do with it. My mom has an iPad but doesn't like to use it. Nothing beats pen & paper for them. My dad's slightly more receptive and acknowledges that they need to upgrade but he will go as far as needed only.

My mom expects the traditional way things should behave like ice-making - automated ice-makers in fridge will overflow the ice-cabin because it's not human. Or digital door locks, hard to use, smart TV, no 1, 2, 3 buttons, so it's difficult to change channels.

There was a period of time my mom beloved that plugging in a SEGA 16 bit console or Super Nintendo will damage the TVs. She doesn't want a phone, she doesn't want an email and doesn't recognize the fact that internet banking will save her tonnes of time down at the bank instead.

They living in the world whereby it's still like 90s, where everything physically do at the shops/govn agencies instead of online. It's a mindset that is very hard to change. They often "Wow, how come you get this info so fast" or "Can do this on the internet?" but they don't want to do it themselves.

Like paying SP bills, they only know GIRO, they dun want to send meter readings, citing SP might charge us even more if we do so ( !?!?!?!?!? ) :s13: so that's my struggle with them on technology.

EJB

Never understood why people keep quoting stairs as an issue with EM. No issue one. My parents 70+ and grandma 90+ no issue. At most she will sit down and slowly go up and down with her hands but she never ever complained. If you can walk decently at that age, it won't be an issue. Otherwise, you should be in a nursing home already.
Both my parents are cancer patients, including my 2nd sis who passed on earlier this year already.

My mom's legs are not well due to prolong cancer treatment last time, my dad is 80+ already frail but still can do stairs.

The issue is not they can do stairs or not. The issue is just 1 fall. Just 1 day overconfident, even if slow, head spin, or giddy or miss a step or see wrongly, just that ONE fall, is all it takes. Sure, 100 times fine, but 1 just time. Just 1. And you'll have no end of troubles.

I previously drove a Mazda3, they can't even get out of the car in 1 try at least 3-4 tries before they can get out. My sis kept falling back into the car on the seats. I didn't even lower the car. Chemo does take a toil on their bodies.

Nursing home wise, you think they don't want? They want, just that we can't afford to put them there. They can sit there whole day relax, be served :s13: but I believe they also say only la, who will want if can avoid :s13:

PARKRANGER

Prefer EA

EM
Don’t like climbing
Lower floor (corridor unit no privacy)
Clean house is a chore (at least 2hrs doing alone)
3 toilets so More maintenance and fee

peaceheart

Not yet 50, :s13:

My parents are very antique, how to put it, very technology resistant, everything is like alien, even a two way switch is something that they don't have when young, so now older, they do not 'like' it. Just like a smart TV, digital door locks, etc. They are very resistant towards it.

Even with an iPhone my dad struggles, apart from using it for calls, there's nothing else he wants to do with it. My mom has an iPad but doesn't like to use it. Nothing beats pen & paper for them. My dad's slightly more receptive and acknowledges that they need to upgrade but he will go as far as needed only.

My mom expects the traditional way things should behave like ice-making - automated ice-makers in fridge will overflow the ice-cabin because it's not human. Or digital door locks, hard to use, smart TV, no 1, 2, 3 buttons, so it's difficult to change channels.

There was a period of time my mom beloved that plugging in a SEGA 16 bit console or Super Nintendo will damage the TVs. She doesn't want a phone, she doesn't want an email and doesn't recognize the fact that internet banking will save her tonnes of time down at the bank instead.

They living in the world whereby it's still like 90s, where everything physically do at the shops/govn agencies instead of online. It's a mindset that is very hard to change. They often "Wow, how come you get this info so fast" or "Can do this on the internet?" but they don't want to do it themselves.

Like paying SP bills, they only know GIRO, they dun want to send meter readings, citing SP might charge us even more if we do so ( !?!?!?!?!? ) :s13: so that's my struggle with them on technology.
Hahaha OK too much info but thanks for sharing

I can sort of relate to what you shared but my parents are not that extreme

sparespares

this post probably sums it all up for my POV.

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

ajcc1987

huh? what toking you
What I mean is elderly like my mom has arthritis issue makes walking upstairs downstairs diff . And if u have young kids u really have to do up the safety measures on the stairs to prevent falling. This are some of my consideration when deciding on getting EA or EM. No right or wrong answers just what are your needs exactly

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.