New HDB BTO Flat - How do you connect your Home Fiber Network

BradenHeat

@BradenHeat has an interesting perspective as well for BTO flats --- where wireless backhaul may be an easier option compared to using a router in the DB box, at least when you have already bought a pair of Asus Zenwifi XT8.

That being said, Zenwifi XT8 2-pack is probably not a good option in the first place. The better option is to have two LAN ports in the living room and then use dual band Asus routers using AImesh. The problem is probably many people do not have two LAN ports next to each other in the living room.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...us-zenwifi-xt8.6177953/page-59#post-139565366

Wah lao eh, i thought i kena NTUC points la sia, suddenly got quoted. lol

Anyways to add on :

just get a single ax82u,

if those 3room long style, can get 4out of 5 bars, from living room to furthest room with bare minimum line of sight interference

[ in non geek speak, router sees your furthers room where you stand, and you can see the router eye to "eye""]

the wireless backhaul is technically, better, due to the fact, some of the older / non 5GHz capable wireless "smart "" iot or devices might have a better latency.

long distance single router
vs
mesh via 2nd 5Ghz radio transfer

my reason --> 2 mesh devices, with a wireless back haul, shorter distance, can push more stable 5ghz /2.4ghz if required, with the 3rd radio active as backhaul

only applicable IF,

- single ax82u [ yes, i know its expensive, but ive been testing with long walkways, its given the best bang for buck performance ive been going around helping extended family relatives ]

- LAN cabling is for sure NOT doable, as with some of the pre 2013 btos, those rooms are only with useless phone lines, thus re-wiring work has to be done BEFORE move in [ duh ]

again, Ubiquity and/or other cheaper solutions or higher end ideas that have been thrown around, has been here free of charge

but , again,

im coming from a [ set and forget it , but easy to maintain] , by non technical users [ thus Access points are out ] , remote work that can be done through phone is near nay impossible for other brands [ Linksys / netgear etc has poor management interface , unless cost is problem aka getting a 2nd hand linksys mesh ]

not sure if Orbi Mesh has improved , but currently ive yet to hear a single complaint from xt8s introduced,

though i was itchy to help them upgrade to merlin firmware lol

elendil5259

Hi all,

Been reading up on networking and am planning for my 4 room BTO -

Plan is to buy a 3 pack TP-Link Deco X75 (3 Ethernet ports available for each), setup as follows (wired backhaul for all 3 mesh devices):
  • 1st one in DB box (direct link to modem, Study Room and Living room)
  • 2nd one in Study Room (direct link to PC, 2 ports free)
  • 3rd one in Master Bedroom
  • Also planning to use a TP-LINK TL-SG105 5 Port Gigabit Network Switch at the Living Room to link to the TV and PS5
Does this setup make sense as compared to a dual router setup? Any potential issues, pros/cons before I pull the trigger?

sacredrays

Hi all,

Plan is to buy a 3 pack TP-Link Deco X75 (3 Ethernet ports available for each), setup as follows (wired backhaul for all 3 mesh devices):
  • Also planning to use a TP-LINK TL-SG105 5 Port Gigabit Network Switch at the Living Room to link to the TV and PS5
Does this setup make sense as compared to a dual router setup? Any potential issues, pros/cons before I pull the trigger?
what isp you signing up with for your internet and tv?

elendil5259

sorry for noob question, is it possible to:

ONT --> Deco --> network switch with 4 ports out so that I can further connect to i) living room, ii) study room and iii) master bedroom

If possible, would there be any potential cons/issues?

another thought is, since mine is a 4 rm bto, maybe 2 mesh devices (one in db, one in study) will do? no need for 3rd device...

Alphas

Yes, you can connect the deco x75 to a switch to expand the number of ports. Since it is a 3 piece pack, you can place one in DB, one in study and one in MBR to eliminate dead spots.

BradenHeat

Hi all,

knows.com/tp-link-deco-xe75-axe5400-wi-fi-6e-mesh-review/

https://www.blacktubi.com/review/deco-xe75/

hmm interesting , am i reading it wrongly here ? are the specs marketed these days as such ?

https://www.tp-link.com/sg/home-networking/deco/deco-x75/#specifications

Very High

Tri-Band
Distribute devices to different bands for optimal performance

2×2 MU-MIMO
Simultaneously communicates with multiple MU-MIMO clients

OFDMA
Simultaneously communicates with multiple WiFi 6 clients

6 Streams
More than enough bandwidth for connected devices

htennek_mil

Hi All, noob question here.

I got a AX3000 as my main router in an isolated corner, and can't get it to link to my wired LAN network due to layout design of my flat without some ugly trunking. Can I use AI mesh to setup a node at the LAN point, and then that node can feed all other nodes that are connected to it through the wired LAN?

Example AX3000 --->wireless----> Node1---->wired---->Node2 etc

That means Node1 is just capturing the internet from my main router and spreading it wirelessly to other nodes using LAN

Assiduouss

hi, mine is new BTO house. Understand that Whizcomms come with ONR. I intend to use wifi mesh for my house but not sure how to setup so that all my rooms lan points work.

option 1(2 mesh)
ONR -->Gigabit Network Switch --> all room lan point( in DB box). Mesh node in masterbed room and node 2 in living room.

option 2(3 mesh)
ONR --> main Node ---> gigabit network switch --> all lan point (in db box). Mesh node in masterbed room and node 2 in living room.

another question if using starhub.
can ONT --> gigabit network switch --> all lan point (in DB box)? Does it need a router or node to connect ONT before i can use gigabit network switch?

batigola

Correct me if I am wrong, for option 1, the ONR already has LAN ports right?

So example if it has 4 ethernet ports you can connect each one to the patch panels in the DB box. If you only require to route the LAN cables to 4 areas in your house ( example, 1 living + 3 rooms) then you do not require a switch in this case.

For option 1, the ONR is the router. Then the 2 mesh nodes act as AP.

For option 2, the main node in the DB box is your router. In this case depending your mesh model, it may not have suffficient ethernet ports. In this case you will need an additional switch.

For starhub ONT, you will need a router / 1 mesh node (acting as router) before the switch

batigola

Hi All, noob question here.

I got a AX3000 as my main router in an isolated corner, and can't get it to link to my wired LAN network due to layout design of my flat without some ugly trunking. Can I use AI mesh to setup a node at the LAN point, and then that node can feed all other nodes that are connected to it through the wired LAN?

Example AX3000 --->wireless----> Node1---->wired---->Node2 etc

That means Node1 is just capturing the internet from my main router and spreading it wirelessly to other nodes using LAN

Mesh can work either wired or wireless. Wired will be better and doesnt require line of sight compared to wireless. I use 3 mesh nodes (2 wireless and 1 connects to the router) at my rental home as I cant lay cables.
They work but I cannot expect good 5ghz signal strength therefore need to sacrifice speed over stability.

How does your Node 1 and Node 2 connect to each other? if its through lan ports installed by HDB you will need to check your patch panel in the db box to see if they are "linked".

Try to play around with placement between AX3000 and the first Node to get the best signal + speed.

robobooga

Highly recommended 3-parts introductory video for new users, from local Youtuber.

Thanks for posting our videos. It's really hard to balance newbieness and still be correct in presenting such info especially since I've also learnt much from this forum in the past. I know all you here in this forum is looking at these stuff critically, hope the videos get a passing grade at the very least (y)

xiaofan

Thanks for posting our videos. It's really hard to balance newbieness and still be correct in presenting such info especially since I've also learnt much from this forum in the past. I know all you here in this forum is looking at these stuff critically, hope the videos get a passing grade at the very least (y)

I think the videos are very well produced and well suited for local context. Thanks a lot for the efforts.

HMAN

Hope to benefit the public . I dont understand the HDB Kuku planning of having SINGLE LAN Port at the living hall design .

This was my tested setup that does not sacrifice a good router to put inside a DB Closet.

Vlan setup with single trunk
https://ibb.co/f0mC1Mq
This design is only using Single Lan Cable to route traffics from ONT to Router and back to the DB Panel to the rest of LAN points at DB.. Via Vlan group control , one can share a single LAN Trunk to route internal traffics as well as external traffics to share a Single LAN Cable.

Doing so , one can enjoy to use the good router at living hall to control more devices near TV console with multiple media devices with flexible choices of LAN/Wireless without sacrificing the distance path loss issue facing by wireless devices.

Connection
SW2. Managed Switch's Ports connection at DB. with the following connection .
P1. Trucking to Living hall lan point
P2.ONT
P4-7 -Vlan_internal , to link to LAN points to all the rooms .

SW1 - > Managed Network Switch -2(SW2) at living Hall.
Legend P1=> Port 1
P1: Linked to the SW1 Port 1
P2: Router with Vlan Profile , Vlan ID should follow Telco settng .
P3: -> Generic router without Vlan profile SW2-Ports connections
P4 -> Vlan_internal , Router LAN port rerouted back to the same switch to extend the LAN Ports capacity( number of ports increased) .
P5-P8 , Vlan_Internal

SW Configuration with the managed switch SW1 and SW2.
Users need to buy 2 Managed switch and configure a vlan grouping .

Vlan ID :10
SW2:
P1-2, tagged, Port-3 untagged
SW1
P1 & P2 tagged, P3-untag

VlanID:20
SW2 Port 1 tagged, Port8 -untagged
P1-2, tagged, P8:untag

SW1 (living hall )
P1, tagged, P8:untag

Vlan100
SW2
P1 tagged , P4-7 untagged

SW1
P1 tagged. P4-7 untagged

SW1
PVID Setting(VID)
Port1: 1
Port2: 10
Port4-7: 100
Port 8: Optional IPTV

SW2 PVID Setting
Port 1:1 //Single Lan trunk
Port 2: 10 // For singtel router
Port 3:
Port 4-7: 100
Port 8: 20 // for Singtel IPTV

sacredrays

Hope to benefit the public . I dont understand the HDB Kuku planning of having SINGLE LAN Port at the living hall design .

This was my tested setup that does not sacrifice a good router to put inside a DB Closet.

Vlan setup with single trunk
https://ibb.co/f0mC1Mq
This design is only using Single Lan Cable to route traffics from ONT to Router and back to the DB Panel to the rest of LAN points at DB.. Via Vlan group control , one can share a single LAN Trunk to route internal traffics as well as external traffics to share a Single LAN Cable.

Doing so , one can enjoy to use the good router at living hall to control more devices near TV console with multiple media devices with flexible choices of LAN/Wireless without sacrificing the distance path loss issue facing by wireless devices.

Connection
SW2. Managed Switch's Ports connection at DB. with the following connection .
P1. Trucking to Living hall lan point
P2.ONT
P4-7 -Vlan_internal , to link to LAN points to all the rooms .

SW1 - > Managed Network Switch -2(SW2) at living Hall.
Legend P1=> Port 1
P1: Linked to the SW1 Port 1
P2: Router with Vlan Profile , Vlan ID should follow Telco settng .
P3: -> Generic router without Vlan profile SW2-Ports connections
P4 -> Vlan_internal , Router LAN port rerouted back to the same switch to extend the LAN Ports capacity( number of ports increased) .
P5-P8 , Vlan_Internal

SW Configuration with the managed switch SW1 and SW2.
Users need to buy 2 Managed switch and configure a vlan grouping .

Vlan ID :10
SW2:
P1-2, tagged, Port-3 untagged
SW1
P1 & P2 tagged, P3-untag

VlanID:20
SW2 Port 1 tagged, Port8 -untagged
P1-2, tagged, P8:untag

SW1 (living hall )
P1, tagged, P8:untag

Vlan100
SW2
P1 tagged , P4-7 untagged

SW1
P1 tagged. P4-7 untagged

SW1
PVID Setting(VID)
Port1: 1
Port2: 10
Port4-7: 100
Port 8: Optional IPTV

SW2 PVID Setting
Port 1:1 //Single Lan trunk
Port 2: 10 // For singtel router
Port 3:
Port 4-7: 100
Port 8: 20 // for Singtel IPTV
wah.. good inexpensive solution for those stuck in that scenario.

btw, will there be any bottleneck theoretically? feels like the single lan cable connection between the 2 managed switch for trunk will be utilized the most right?

AlvinDj

Can anyone advice where would be the ideal sweet / best spot for ONT & Router placement of this Layout?

I have a rather unique Dumb-bell HDB 4rm layout which I don't really intend to do Mesh system unless forced to.. But I definitely will be getting a rather decent and powerful router to compensate..

Though all rooms would be equipped with data points...

I plan to re-do the Netlink Trust termination point to the TV Console, and place the Router exposed on the console, but worry if the bomb shelter or other walls would affect it's signal at all extreme corners of this floorplan especially in the yard, or first bedroom..

EoYlelK.jpeg

xiaofan

Can anyone advice where would be the ideal sweet / best spot for ONT & Router placement of this Layout?

I have a rather unique Dumb-bell HDB 4rm layout which I don't really intend to do Mesh system unless forced to.. But I definitely will be getting a rather decent and powerful router to compensate..

Though all rooms would be equipped with data points...

I plan to re-do the Netlink Trust termination point to the TV Console, and place the Router exposed on the console, but worry if the bomb shelter or other walls would affect it's signal at all extreme corners of this floorplan especially in the yard, or first bedroom..

EoYlelK.jpeg

Buy a good router (recommended to buy Asus) and you may get by with single router in your case.

If your ONT, main router and the patch panel (connected main router LAN ports to Room LAN ports) are located in the same TV console area, you can always add mesh node in the room with weak signal just in case the main router is still not good enough. Asus AImesh is pretty okay.

If you have not subscribed to any ISPs, you can try M1 which offers three month free for the 1Gbps plan and you can top up for the Asus GT-AX6000 at a very very good price.

Ref: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...r-stick-with-m1.6820723/page-2#post-144283093

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.