How to become a Licensed Electrician (LEW)?

106gunner

Some renovation contractor engage electrician who are not LEW for wiring the house, installing the lighting and the heater

But if you deal with commercial building, is advisable to be a LEW

forests_gump

It is not dangerous for household electrical works..

i have done the follwing myself:
changing switches, adding plug points, changing bulbs, install water heaters..

but i wish to do for others with extra incomes... must be done legally
electrical problem maybe problem left behind done by someelse earlier (upline electrical circuit, not you) so hidden you might not even be aware.

amekago

Depend on how hungry you are.

Those do that industrial, yearly renew charge customer $350-$450. His job is just to sign.

If say industrial building got short circuit (i dunno what the correct term), management engage you come and turn the switch back up cos you are qualified, charge 1.2k per trip.

I know cos i ask the electrician before.

So i would say range of 7k-10k monthly? But the downside is self employed.

yea our office is 500 bucks (include the 100 EMA renewal so is 400).....i tried to bargain but he say lower than 400 he wun do...not worth it

sign is sign only but any daiji he will tio within the year, he kenna once b4 and the chiu buay (aftermath) very long :s13:

wisco

It's not simpur nowadays everyone doing smart lighting. Maybe u go do plumbing better. Don't think toilet can get very smart.
I already have all the experiences to do household electricals and plumbings. Have been doing for more than 5 years as a partimer... Just want to get something more legal after retirement..

ineser

LEW gotch grade 7/8/9.
7 ish sufficient for HDB/condos.
8/9 ish for commercial.
LEW is signing papers etc

elvintay07

Actually plumber and electrician go amdk country like Australia and US freaking song. Earn big bucks

jim889

ts study wrong course.. if i rem correctly is as per below

ite lew = 7
poly diploma can lew = 8
degree lew = 9

kittyklysm

I already have all the experiences to do household electricals and plumbings. Have been doing for more than 5 years as a partimer... Just want to get something more legal after retirement..
Now alot of peepur engage consultant to hook up smart lighting, everything control by 1 remote or apps kind. Maybe you should look into that

fallen1

It is not dangerous for household electrical works..

i have done the follwing myself:
changing switches, adding plug points, changing bulbs, install water heaters..

but i wish to do for others with extra incomes... must be done legally
Yes doing for others must got license

blue00

I want to be a LEW after my retirement. Targeted jobs will be HDB household electrical works.

Any LEW here can advise me how to become one? I already have all the theoretical and practical knowlegdes.

TIA
If u do electrical work , u should know by now.

If not u don't have the time.

hosw

https://elise.ema.gov.sg/elise/homepage_public_menu.jsp Provides guidance for qualifications and prerequisites for the 3 grades related to electrical installations.
LEW must be conversant ith SINGAPORE STANDARD SS638 Code of practice for electrical installations ad the the relevant ELECTRICITY ACT(CHAPTER 89A. ELECTRICITY (ELECTRICAL INSTALLATIONS) ELECTRICAL WORKERS AND CONTRACTORS LICENSING ACT
Singapore Standard SS 650 Code of Practice for Temporary' Electrical Installations — Part 1: Construction and building sites
Singapore Standard SS 650 Code of Practice for Temporary Electrical Installations — Part 2: Festive lighting, trade fairs, mini-fairs and exhibition sites.
Experience with electrical systems in buildings which includes supply system ie generators, UPS, fire alarm, lighting, lightning protection system would be helpful to cover related work. Broadly speaking, electrical work is presented in drawings and specifications. Students are attracted to new technologies, IT and Ai and shun traditional engineering courses causing a lack of professionals and technicians and probably replaced by foreigners. This is a world wide senario. I had work with a M&E services contractor and the company is run by staff from malaysia, myanmar and philipines and the work site staff by indian nationals. In fact they are very good even without local certifications.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.