Gpgt:any plumbing experts here can teach me how to turn on this water main?

compuser

Use an adjustable wrench or pier will do. Just get a good grip. Hand must make sure be stable, grip steady and firm before you turn .

Forgot the size, but you can buy the handle. But an adjustable wrench has far more use for many jobs so I say invest in an adjustable wrench better. Adjustable wrench has smooth surface, no teeth so won't damage the brass that easily.

You will only round and more likely to damage if the plier it has has teeth's and your grip keeps slipping .

Actually even if you round it, no big deal, you will most likely be able to open or close with a good grip using teethed pliers.

If you want a good tool for such gripping.
Get plier wrench. Irwin is cheaper but works. Knipex is the best brand.

Turn Clockwise close.

Anti clockwise open .

Canis Lupus

If Ur water pressure low

U open tap will not have the "vibrate "sound meh?
If water pressure low then likely not, high pressure usually delivered via the main pump located at the void deck. When that high pressure released by smaller flow access like to a home, the resistance causes the vibrations.. :(

Canis Lupus

probably safer to use this instead..using a self locking pliers may wear down the handle stem until botak, botak oredy harder to turn next time..best to find a square head allen key of the right size..:(
71HCQJ3whlL._AC_SX425_.jpg

DragonFire

During renovation, the old uncle contractor told me just turn(open) until you cannot turn anymore, then turn back abit, like half a round. Can’t recall why turn back already.
It stops the valve from freezing.

mynickname

During renovation, the old uncle contractor told me just turn(open) until you cannot turn anymore, then turn back abit, like half a round. Can’t recall why turn back already.
Later screw thread pitcha big problem

coyote

I mean it can turn how many rounds for this? I know the process is anti clock wise do it already but not sure the real Way and wheather if turn too little will cause the water pressure low or not

If too many rounds also dunno can or not

(I would appreciate all in puts here thanks all )

20230325-084810.jpg

Use a small wrench.

Gotten a set of wrenches in an orange holder from Mr.DIY and one of the size is just nice to fit and turn the tap in my utility box outside my hdb.

compuser

If Ur water pressure low

U open tap will not have the "vibrate "sound meh?
The vibration is from cavitation or air in the pipeline. Also could be water hammer effect.

Is the flow of water insufficient and columns of air in the pipe cause those collision which result in vibration and noise.

tiredman

The vibration is from cavitation or air in the pipeline. Also could be water hammer effect.

Is the flow of water insufficient and columns of air in the pipe cause those collision which result in vibration and noise.
Then how to settle this? :(

articland05

I dunno I scare turn too many rounds may "break "
My question is this one can and need to turn into max level?
If turn on little bit can or not?or half?
As I don't have much experience on this scare one shot turn too big then bust

i turn this many times in the past.
unlikely it will break but may leak.
it may be quite hard to turn due to mineral build up just make sure u r not hammering so as not to dmg it...
usually how i do is just turn on a tap full blast at hm then turn this valve until acceptable strength i stop

tiredman

i turn this many times in the past.
unlikely it will break but may leak.
it may be quite hard to turn due to mineral build up just make sure u r not hammering so as not to dmg it...
usually how i do is just turn on a tap full blast at hm then turn this valve until acceptable strength i stop

Icic thanks

rtfm38

if you turn it on max, over time due to deposits from the water, it can cause it to jam at max open position and no wriggle room to try to get it loose.

keenklee

I mean it can turn how many rounds for this? I know the process is anti clock wise do it already but not sure the real Way and wheather if turn too little will cause the water pressure low or not

If too many rounds also dunno can or not

(I would appreciate all in puts here thanks all )

20230325-084810.jpg
IMHO.
Actually, what are you trying to do ? Lower or increase the water flow ?

If increase, just turn in that direction until what you require. If you turn max already and flow still the same, just turn back a bit.

sporeknight76

Tools - small adjustable wrench. No nd too big. Make sure u use correct tool to prevent "rounding" the stem (tip) of the valve.

Note- there is a "stopper" jus below the valve to "lock" the final position of the valve. Your adj wrench mus b big enugh to loose the "stopper".

1. Loosen stopper.
2. Using yr wrench (fit tightly over the tip of the stem) Fully Adjust clockwise (lesser press), Anti CW (high press) depending on wat u wan. If yr valve is new, u can use finger to turn after turning the valve with the wrench a few rounds. For max press, open until FULL but shut back v slightly to prevent the valve from seizing many years if nvr operate.
** I have encountered when I full open my valve, water is trickling out from the valve so I need to shut back a few turn so water will stop.
3. After open or shut the valve, LOCK back the "stopper".
Hope it helps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.