YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

Barbiedoll

Ok feeling very sleepy now. Spent 4 hrs chatting and having lunch with my childhood friend and her hubby at my place just now. Gonna sleep now.

wira

In 2015, I bought some AMD stock at less than USD2. Today the stock is close to USD90. Last year I bought ON stock for USD54, today USD75. There are many opportunities in the stock market. If you don't want to pick your own stock then just go with the market.
wow thats an awesome multi bagger bet on AMD !!!

OngHuatHuat

Thks for sharing. How old r u now? Had yr first child recently right? Congrats.

But u never count yr property value?
Just past 38 years old.

Dunno how to count those values, my properties are on loans, it is safer to just assume all belong to banks now.

elloz123

In 2015, I bought some AMD stock at less than USD2. Today the stock is close to USD90. Last year I bought ON stock for USD54, today USD75. There are many opportunities in the stock market. If you don't want to pick your own stock then just go with the market.

Sick conviction to hold all the way. Gz ser.

hwmook

Sick conviction to hold all the way. Gz ser.

My philosophy in investing is to invest in companies that are growing over the middle to long term. I don't panic buy or sell, market can be irrational but I always keep a clear mind. I only exit a stock once I feel that it is no longer growing or have become irrationally overpriced. 1-2 good stock is all I need every year, no cryptos, no meme stocks.

DevilPlate

My philosophy in investing is to invest in companies that are growing over the middle to long term. I don't panic buy or sell, market can be irrational but I always keep a clear mind. I only exit a stock once I feel that it is no longer growing or have become irrationally overpriced. 1-2 good stock is all I need every year, no cryptos, no meme stocks.
Next time share your strong buy for 2023

Jirachi

Hmm no investment strategy really. I just have a goal that I set at the start of the year and try to hit it. This year, it is to hit 3k in passive income (achieved). Stretch goal is to have a net worth at 1/3 of a million and increase my investments in iwda from 45k invested -> 60k.

Still thinking of my goals for next year, but I think my focus will be to increase equity allocation.
I am keen in your $3000 passive income. I believe this is some sort of payout monthly?

Jirachi

He say his NTUC endowment gave 4.5% pa for 15 years.

He say property still gives the best returns.
Do you think is possible to buy a condo in a few years time with expected lower interest rates for someone 30 with above median income?

Jirachi

Anyway, this thread here makes me very poor.

I’ve been eyeing a >$1 million condo as investment (single) at 29. The down payment is impossible for me now.

stanlawj

Currently
CPF : 272000
Stock : 260000
Cash : 100000

Total around 632000 SGD
Your housing loan is $732k in this thread: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/3-months-sora-rate-keep-rising.6899438/
So that means you have net negative networth if own residence is excluded? Seems like you should pay off the loan as much as you can instead of investing.

The likelihood of your own residence appreciating faster than the interest payments in the next 2 to 3 years is somewhat uncertain.

OngHuatHuat

Your housing loan is $732k in this thread: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/3-months-sora-rate-keep-rising.6899438/
So that means you have net negative networth if own residence is excluded? Seems like you should pay off the loan as much as you can instead of investing.

The likelihood of your own residence appreciating faster than the interest payments in the next 2 to 3 years is somewhat uncertain.
Yes, negative net worth if own residence is excluded. In addition to that, I still owe bank:
1 other property loan: 380000 sgd
Overseas property loans: 2.24 million ringgit = 672000 sgd.

clock is ticking and I have to think of a solution.

revhappy

Anyway, this thread here makes me very poor.

I’ve been eyeing a >$1 million condo as investment (single) at 29. The down payment is impossible for me now.
Do you own a HDB? If not you must make use of the subsidized housing 1st as the stepping stone to the property ladder.

stanlawj

Yes, negative net worth if own residence is excluded. In addition to that, I still owe bank:
1 other property loan: 380000 sgd
Overseas property loans: 2.24 million ringgit = 672000 sgd.

clock is ticking and I have to think of a solution.
1.Create another source of income and boost your total income (Subpartition -> rental, consultancy etc).

2. Find another investor to do capital injection to reduce outstanding loan. But that will result in profit sharing. Normally if they are close relatives, no paper work is needed. Just make sure they are not linked to any triads/mafia.

Last resort:
3. De-leverage: sell one of the property.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.