Samsung Galaxy S23 series

cybertech

funny promo, last year's phone only overtrade $200 but very old phone can overtrade $500
Agree that the $500 overtrade is really good. I don't own any Samsung phone so I go bought a working condition Note 8 at $150 to be used as trade-in in order to get the overtrade value as well. Bought the S23 Ultra 8/256 and after all the trade-in with overtrade + promo code paid $408. Oh should be $558 since I paid $150 for a used Note 8 but still a ok price to me.

windwaver

I also think not blacklist, more like system lag or buggy. More sales is always good to Samsung. Flip or own use, that’s consumer decision. Those who wants a hard bargain by going to ah beng shops will never buy at the price offered by Samsung anyway. So Samsung is gaining access to this group bu opening up for resellers.

higher adoption rate is always good for Samsung, boost their top line sales, open up possibility for future upgrades also. In fact if I’m Samsung, I will be more than happy to give out as many codes as possible, they most likely still earn from it anyway even after all the promo codes. Don’t care reseller or not, as long as they buy the phones from me first round. S24 maybe coming out soon or next year, might as well cream as much as possible from S23 series
Yeah, it's not just S23U, it's the entire Samsung ecosystem.

Their smart TV, devices, etc.

plustwo

Not true la. Samsung sent 2 codes to me. Don't think they blacklist la. More like system problem. Why would they care if you buy to flip or use or hoard? It's still legit sales to them and that's all they need.
feel free to try a few times before asking your "friend" to order themselves

progene

Nah I don't own it. I just notice the general sentiment for the S23 is very much positive vs the old S22 thread where you get a lot of negativity. I am guessing like what others say the 8G2 solved a lot of the problems people had.

For me. I am shying away from Samsung after my fold 3 GG. Bought my Fold 3 on 28Nov21. And this year, Jan. Started to give me problems,
dead pixel, wifi spoil, external screen.. next internal screen also spoil.
no drop, no damage, yet still can spoil. The QC is really bad.

Now happily using Oppo Find X6 Pro as my main driver.

For below, I think, I will get bash by bros here. But for those using S23 Ultra. Please rest well and avoid using your phone too much
https://ntpor.com/samsung-s23-ultra-a-brilliant-display-with-a-hidden-danger/

amazingone

For me. I am shying away from Samsung after my fold 3 GG. Bought my Fold 3 on 28Nov21. And this year, Jan. Started to give me problems,

For below, I think, I will get bash by bros here. But for those using S23 Ultra. Please rest well and avoid using your phone too much
The PWM refresh thing really depends on individual, some may be sensitive to the low refresh PWM rate while others may not. Samsung phones with OLED usually comes with 240Hz, not only on S23 Ultra.

lrng

I also think not blacklist, more like system lag or buggy. More sales is always good to Samsung. Flip or own use, that’s consumer decision. Those who wants a hard bargain by going to ah beng shops will never buy at the price offered by Samsung anyway. So Samsung is gaining access to this group bu opening up for resellers.

higher adoption rate is always good for Samsung, boost their top line sales, open up possibility for future upgrades also. In fact if I’m Samsung, I will be more than happy to give out as many codes as possible, they most likely still earn from it anyway even after all the promo codes. Don’t care reseller or not, as long as they buy the phones from me first round. S24 maybe coming out soon or next year, might as well cream as much as possible from S23 series
Yeah and because of these promo, they get people talking abt the S23 for a long time lol. So from marketing point, also good advertising 😄

Soh Jianke

Anyone has any experience with the 12GB RAM S23 Ultra? How much better is it compared to the 8GB RAM variant?

I've the 8GB variant, been seeing less than 2GB available

DigDub

Unfortunately x6pro doesn't show notification icons from third party on the AOD. Also I understand that quick launch of the camera requires double pressing of the volume down button which is a hassle if listening to music. So the x6pro falls flat right out of the gate in terms of usability as a phone for me. I don't dim the display, so the pwm issue doesn't affect me.

DigDub

Nah I don't own it. I just notice the general sentiment for the S23 is very much positive vs the old S22 thread where you get a lot of negativity. I am guessing like what others say the 8G2 solved a lot of the problems people had.
Ya the 8g2 resolved the issues that s22 had. S23 ultra probably one of the best android phones out there for now.

kiryu86

I receive the email that the phone has been ship out liao

If reach tml or thursday is good because i WFH on these 2 days

0sPfOAt.jpg

progene

Unfortunately x6pro doesn't show notification icons from third party on the AOD. Also I understand that quick launch of the camera requires double pressing of the volume down button which is a hassle if listening to music. So the x6pro falls flat right out of the gate in terms of usability as a phone for me. I don't dim the display, so the pwm issue doesn't affect me.
Of cos. Personally I feel S23U is a good phone. But not for me.

I always believe there is no perfect phone, but there a phone perfect for you. One man poison, another one meat. Sometimes is depends on how you can tahan with the con & flaw and live with it. If wanna be calculative pecky, sure can find fault and problem. All the beachmark data and stats are just data. $ is your own to spent. Don't get influence by others to dicate on what phone u should buy or use.

Life is short, just buy what you like. As simple as that. If you think this phone work for you, then is worth it.

S23U
> Expensive yet no charger head. Only type C to A cable and Charging speed so so slow.
> Low pwm. Only 240Hz.
> Big and Heavy

Oppo Find X6 Pro
> China exclusive. China ROM. (At least for now, till Oppo decided to change their mind and launch Global version)
> No Android Auto, no Google map location history, No App notification appearing in AOD except for china app.
> May have issues on warranty as bought from china.

DigDub

The battery life can really compared with my 14PM. This is the 1st Samsung phone which I experienced good battery life and need not bring charger out or charge in office.
Ya the battery life is really amazing. And the heat control is pretty good also.

DigDub

Of cos. Personally I feel S23U is a good phone. But not for me.

I always believe there is no perfect phone, but there a phone perfect for you. One man poison, another one meat. Sometimes is depends on how you can tahan with the con & flaw and live with it. If wanna be calculative pecky, sure can find fault and problem. All the beachmark data and stats are just data. $ is your own to spent. Don't get influence by others to dicate on what phone u should buy or use.

Life is short, just buy what you like. As simple as that. If you think this phone work for you, then is worth it.

S23U
> Expensive yet no charger head. Only type C to A cable and Charging speed so so slow.
> Low pwm. Only 240Hz.
> Big and Heavy

Oppo Find X6 Pro
> China exclusive. China ROM. (At least for now, till Oppo decided to change their mind and launch Global version)
> No Android Auto, no Google map location history, No App notification appearing in AOD except for china app.
> May have issues on warranty as bought from china.
If x6pro releases internationally which supports third party app notifications on the AOD, I might consider it. Was close to getting it also but the notification issue is a deal breaker for me.

progene

If x6pro releases internationally which supports third party app notifications on the AOD, I might consider it. Was close to getting it also but the notification issue is a deal breaker for me.
I doubt x6Pro gonna have international.
They have some internal issues.
> Marisilicon department closed down. (3000 people lost their jobs)
> Pulled out in Germany due to Nokia lawsuit...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.