Lastest S$ Deposit updates - Part 3

sohguanh

Have you read this?

https://investmentmoats.com/money/tearing-down-allianz-gi-income-and-growth-fund/
I'm not related to the author. Not many can deep dive like him. Need a lot of patience to read the entire article though. Caveat emptor.
I started investing in dividend paying funds since the 2000s or the day fundsupermart is born. Initially I aim for high dividend and later found out this is not a good strategy. It must give dividends and at the same time grow that is important else it will be like the dividends is come out from your own investment.

That fund used to be very good many years back but after a change in fund mangers it has gone downhill. Fund managers are important in funds as they make the major decision to buy which stocks.

As for ETF I also got buy and they pay dividends too. Unfortunately I buy those US listed which take 30% cut so now I only go for capital gain. Using IBKR can access other country stock exchange but I hate their minimum amount in order to change monies. Why Webull I put SGD 10 I can change to USD liao why IBKR cannot leh? So DIY platform also important. Reasons like IBKR bigger than Webull so more safe theory will come in and I ignore becuz read enough of those replies. My monies I decide let which platform earn comm.

lzydata

sohguanh

Haven't read the article but just looking at that title I would be wary of any fund that promises both growth and a high dividend (and no doubt pays the managers a generous management fee too).
If you look at most fund factsheet or associated document they seldom or if ever claim the fund will guaranteed you both growth and high dividend. It is in the small fine print though.

I also invest in ETF it promise me big growth? Hmmm dun think so. Of cuz one can argue you buy lousy ETF so I am not going to argue on that. What I am saying is all investment instrument has pros and cons and readers just need to know about it and decide to focus or diversify. And for each investment instrument sure got their own blacksheep ETF no exception.

Here we talk about fund,ETF there are also REIT and so many other investment instrument. Granted this is a Fixed Deposit thread so I shall next post stick back to original topic.

iphone88

Decided to put the remaining into t-bill.
May I know i should choose competitive or non-competitve options?

For May, if choose non-competitve, the interest is 3.85%?
If choose competitive, the median is 3.4%?.

lzydata

You can check out the first 2 posts in the T-bills thread for a comprehensive introduction and FAQ that may clear up your questions or doubts, otherwise post there :)

dude123

refer to tbill thread FAQ page 1 and you can find the answer. Dont post your question otherwise @reddevil0728 will also ask you to refer page 1.

sohguanh

Just to share - my agent informed me that NTUC Income will launch a 3 year plan next week on June 13. 3.55% per annum.
Please ask the agent is it open to public to DIY or same must go through them. If go through them same thing sure happen again, all agents login system jammed so they usually submit clients with highest placement first. But at 3.55% maybe not so jammed got chance purchase with minimum haha

skyhunter

Please ask the agent is it open to public to DIY or same must go through them. If go through them same thing sure happen again, all agents login system jammed so they usually submit clients with highest placement first. But at 3.55% maybe not so jammed got chance purchase with minimum haha
The past tranches of NTUC Income’s Gro Capital Ease have always been open to the public. You can either go through an agent or if you prefer to DIY, then you can also sign-up via the income website.

Minimum placement is 20k and maximum is 500k.

sohguanh

The past tranches of NTUC Income’s Gro Capital Ease have always been open to the public. You can either go through an agent or if you prefer to DIY, then you can also sign-up via the income website.

Minimum placement is 20k and maximum is 500k.

Great so same as Manulife previously. Noted thanks for sharing. Usually for DIY they ask for lower minimum if go through agent need higher but this time they set at 20k hmmmm thought last time 5k can liao ?

skyhunter

Great so same as Manulife previously. Noted thanks for sharing. Usually for DIY they ask for lower minimum if go through agent need higher but this time they set at 20k hmmmm thought last time 5k can liao ?
I think the DIY route is usually 10K minimum for NTUC Income. I could be wrong though.

sohguanh

I think the DIY route is usually 10K minimum for NTUC Income. I could be wrong though.
10K hmmm.... ok thanks for sharing. I think 5K is from Tiq another insurer instead. Anyway the option to let public DIY is a god heaven sent feature so very much appreciated.

sglandscape

10K hmmm.... ok thanks for sharing. I think 5K is from Tiq another insurer instead. Anyway the option to let public DIY is a god heaven sent feature so very much appreciated.
The most fuss free has been Manulife via DBS, can DIY and do multiple tranches and confirmation is immediate. Most fuss free so far.

wutawa

Had a bad experience to open a posb fd acct a few days ago. Went down branch but was told to book an appt 1 wk later.

lzydata

SINGAPORE banks are flushed with deposits with few options to deploy them amid a tepid lending environment. The city-state’s central bank is one avenue.

The issue was highlighted in May when DBS Group Holdings chief executive officer Piyush Gupta said during an analyst call that the bank had lent the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) S$30 billion as it is “not finding enough opportunities to put the money to work”.

From a yield perspective, lending to customers would usually be more rewarding than keeping funds with central banks, Tanoto noted. MAS’ standing facility accepts overnight deposits at a yield between 2.7 per cent to 4 per cent year to date, while a loan can range from high 3 per cent for a mortgage to over 27 per cent on credit cards.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...so-flush-deposits-dbs-loaning-mas-s30-billion
DBS's savings accounts cost them 0.05% pa and their fixed deposits max out at 3.20% pa. DBS Multiplier's tier maxes out at 4.1% pa and that only for $100k.

Meanwhile they can invest in T-bills - last auction yield 3.85% pa - or MAS bills, last auction yields 4.30% pa and 4.10% pa. And also in MAS's standing facility.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.