Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Habrosus

the raised pots are for drainage right? initially i had mine just sitting over the corridor drain, but now i have it "raised" over an inverted base plate for pots.

mine is the smallest plant out of all my neighbours, so my pot smaller, but i have larger pots that i can re-pot.

i think i will just give up on this and take a small cutting from my neighbour and try again.

maybe it's because this one was a cutting from my friend, and his growing environment and mine are different, so the plant not used to it? He grow his outside his shophouse, he took over the common area and use it for planting his own plants and he has a 3 meter tall rose TREE

2023-06-13-17-45-27.jpg
First thing that came to mind when I thought I saw that the small pot's just sitting on the drainage plate on the ground, is the TC guys coming round with their soap powder and water hose. :o

You might want to get a (higher) stand for your next pot. :wink:

Aaagogo

First thing that came to mind when I thought I saw that the small pot's just sitting on the drainage plate on the ground, is the TC guys coming round with their soap powder and water hose. :o

You might want to get a (higher) stand for your next pot. :wink:

oh... i forgot about the TC soap and corridor washing...

good point, but also corridor washing i think only once a month... still will have that bad of an effect on the plant?

Habrosus

good point, but also corridor washing i think only once a month... still will have that bad of an effect on the plant?
IMO, once those chemicals get into the soil would be bad enough on the plant's growth...

Just citing a possibility...

Elon Jobs

Andrew833

wah lau eh, kek sim lah me, i see panda plants grow until so nice... i can't even keep 1 small pot of pandan alive... and my corridor neighbours ones all grow until like yours... i damn pai seh, my corridor neighbour grandmother, see me grow up since little boy, last week came over and ask me if i need a cutting from her plant and some soil to try again to grow my panda plant... her panda looks like yours, but in pots.

about 2 months ago, i went over to ask for some panda leaves to cook desert with, then i bring over 1 container for her as an exchange for her panda leaves.

this cutting i took from my friend, picture from about 2 weeks ago, now it's almost dead...

aec9e307-00aa-4647-9cd9-f33bc121e31d.jpg
Same like my father, ask neighbour want panda leave plant or not. My father tips, panda leave plant need more water when you see their leaves turn yellow. Don’t need a lot of sunlight.

Coffeelix

I wanted to raise this too.

Do like what your neighbors are doing raise your pot with good height to avoid harmful external interference and avoid direct contact with the heated concrete.

Andrew833

2002 account, don't know that a lot of sg go over and "misbehave"

first and worst thing; the moment open mouth is say "wah, so cheap, so cheap"... knn, make the people living in malaysia fed up, sg keep saying cheap, until jb people themselves have to suffer from pricer things just because they also shop there.

best example is compare the food prices between JB Sentral/KSL/Pelangi/Sentosa, where all those birdies go, vs TUTA/Taman Bestari, where almost no SG go, while both areas has seen food price increase, due to inflation and cost of living, the latter areas is still priced lower or you get more food for the same (higher) price.

a while back i posted a picture with a ton of Satay and some chicken wings, RM1/stick of satay, Chicken Wing irrc was RM2.50 each...

now the younger travelling crowd does cut down on the mouth open and say cheap cheap, but cannot do simple maths in head, very common to see the younger ones phone screen shows calculator app, because they can't do 1 divide by 3.3 in their head... #SMH... all study until so high level... but can't do simple mental maths...

2nd, i have noticed Sg people are not courteous, buy things, receive things, ask questions, the way they phrase the questions, like the stall operator owe them their business like that, rude and never say thank you...

malaysians hate the behavior of those kind of sg people, can't blame them, if the roles were reversed, i would hate those same behaviors. and there is enough of those behaviors, >50%, so it's just easier to be lumped into the same group as them...

just like in SG, foreigners are almost 50% of the population, so it's now common to be asked "are you singaporean" when you met or hear those people doing promotional events. When the negative things becomes the majority, the minority has to make an effort to not be included with them
That’s why I’m not near JB Sentral area and KSL. Recently see too many food posts on these area, make me lan pa itchy.
Yesterday watch a YouTube post, JB Sentral is very well constructed, the pavement is very big and beautiful.
I think need to look for a hotel or Airbnb in these area someday.
So many years didn’t explore these area!

Coffeelix

Throw crushed egg shells for its nutrients or rice water

Andrew833

Btw what's the less crowded timing to take bus at wed night if I am coming back to SG from bukit indah? Or the buses are always crowded haha
If I’m in jb on weekend, normally I will take 6pm bus from Bukit indah bus stop. Come back not too late. Weekday should be less crowded.

Coffeelix

the raised pots are for drainage right? initially i had mine just sitting over the corridor drain, but now i have it "raised" over an inverted base plate for pots.

mine is the smallest plant out of all my neighbours, so my pot smaller, but i have larger pots that i can re-pot.

i think i will just give up on this and take a small cutting from my neighbour and try again.

maybe it's because this one was a cutting from my friend, and his growing environment and mine are different, so the plant not used to it? He grow his outside his shophouse, he took over the common area and use it for planting his own plants and he has a 3 meter tall rose TREE

2023-06-13-17-45-27.jpg
I started out with a few bot pandan with roots from market

3 years of lock down and it grew to this size.

My place is shady and the morning dews provides the require water besides the occasional rains

Aaagogo

Aaagogo

life is too short to eat the chop carrot head BKT by KSL... my friend gong gong go and eat there with his wife, paid more for 2 people food than what i just paid at Kulai for 4 people...

@beanstalk6 maybe you can start a sticky and we can compile the makan places info.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.