Gree's chairwoman Dong Mingzhu realised that the demand for air-conditioners in S'pore was healthy and the pie was big enough for another brand

mgx-alander

sry loh i prefer jipun mitsubishi

but then again i got no air con at home

rathalos

Gree aircon not bad actually, it's considered a top-tier aircon brand in china along with Midea and Haier. But for china brand to break in SG market, have to be competitive in price otherwise sinkies will confirm choose Japanese brand,
So with the lucrative pie, will gree stop supplying prism n go own route?

amazingone

So with the lucrative pie, will gree stop supplying prism n go own route?
Depends how Gree wants to capture the SG market, they may want to use prism as a proxy to get SG market along with their Gree brand. Right now prism got advantage as a 'sinkie brand'.. :o

Even if Gree stop supplying prism anytime, prism can just go to any other tiong aircon oem as many won't bother to research and just buy based on prism marketing. :s13:

tokong

She’s right
A lot of gian png here
Buy cheap stuff, then faster spoil then regret. Big market here
You know which market outside china is biggest for gree? Laos
You dun want to buy then don't buy lor. People never say you what. So petty and biased. Never read up then say rubbish.

BlackStar00

Prism = Secretlab
Sama sama type. Overhype their **** by selling OEM stuff for lots of profits.

jywy2005

Most of the air con technicians dunno how to service or repair these new brands. My midea spoilt after the aircon man came to service.

Prism Tv some times watch halfway no sound. Need to restart TV. Thought Prism TV is rebranded from Skyworth ? I went to buy thought want to support local brand. Kena cheated.

Soccer Ball

Gree aircon not bad actually, it's considered a top-tier aircon brand in china along with Midea and Haier. But for china brand to break in SG market, have to be competitive in price otherwise sinkies will confirm choose Japanese brand,
Hi Ah Tiong. Pls stop selling your country products. Those bought Midea knows the pain.

Smallballz

Thanks for sharing!

Have any personal review on the Prism appliances?

Seen mixed reviews on EDMW...feel that a fair number of them are the typical Singapore brand-bashing from those who tend to look down on anything local. :oops:

Yes, so far have been using Daikin & Mitsubishi Electric air-cons only in all our homes.

However, if a new but not yet so established disruptor/competitor enters the market, would give them fair consideration. 😄
Please. Prism is nothing more than an OEM rebranding company, aka a middleman. Nothing more. Why go for a middleman instead of some company who actually design or create their own products?

Its like TV. Why buy a middleman (Prism), when you can get an actual manufacturer (like TCL)? Similar pricing, but the former has no value-add, whereas the latter manufactures the product themselves.

peaceheart

Hope our gahmen steps up its check before allowing in... no joke when we live in dense high rise flats.
https%253A%252F%252Fcms-image-bucket-production-ap-northeast-1-a7d2.s3.ap-northeast-1.amazonaws.com%252Fimages%252F8%252F9%252F8%252F9%252F37189898-3-eng-GB%252FCropped-1635817251AP_19162337568694.jpg

China's Gree fined $91m over fire-prone appliances sold in U.S.
Appliance giant waited a year before recalling defective dehumidifiers
apple-touch-icon-144x144.png

asia.nikkei.com
Gree Fined $91 Million for Waiting a Year to Tell U.S. Regulators About Fire-Prone Appliances - Caixin Global
Gree Fined $91 Million for Waiting a Year to Tell U.S. Regulators About Fire-Prone Appliances -The Chinese appliance giant did not recall the defective dehumidifiers sold in U.S. until 2013, almost a year after learning they might catch fire
www.caixinglobal.com
Gree-Air-conditioners.-scaled.jpg

channelnews : Air Conditioning Supplier Fined $122M Executives Charged
Chinese home appliance maker Gree Electric whose air conditioners are widely sold in Australia via specialist dealers and on the Kogan web site has been fined A$122 Million for selling defective and dangerous products, executives of the Company have been charged. The faulty air conditioners have...
logo.gif

www.channelnews.com.au
I'm sure they are monitoring!!!!

JAson1980

you see Prism start spamming products on the market liao. TVs, AC,air purifiers and even massage chairs :s13:

coldish

Aircon also want to galo
I think mods have to create a pro gree n non pro gree threads ba

mynickname

Thanks for sharing!

Have any personal review on the Prism appliances?

Seen mixed reviews on EDMW...feel that a fair number of them are the typical Singapore brand-bashing from those who tend to look down on anything local. :oops:

Yes, so far have been using Daikin & Mitsubishi Electric air-cons only in all our homes.

However, if a new but not yet so established disruptor/competitor enters the market, would give them fair consideration. 😄
To be fair, think edmw generally hates middlemen, not sinkie brands.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.