Can Buddhist monks own and drive luxury cars?

Quala98

If they can afford without the temple paying for them, I dun see why not

Can't expect Christian pastor, catholic priest, Buddhist monks and Muslim iman walk from point to point right? It's not the 6th century now.

Sent from satki Android device

TitanSmall

Already say buddhism is about non attachment to the material world.... should live life as basic and simple as possible!

Remember buddha meditate under a tree until he gain enlightenment?
yes.. thats my understanding la.. all these attachment are the cause of 'sufferings'... if they want to gain enlightenment.. they need to let all these go?

i stand to be corrected...

yokine3a

u see those temple committee... drive porche.... drive alphard... must be really good biz :X they should be more carefully audited. i was shocked when drive by paya lebar to drop off friend who had family member ancestral tablet at that temple. not many parking lot but big big cars inside and i turn go inside kena death glare by nun.. in the end go out and make a turn park at the thai temple beside..

the nun also sibeh lihai one.. when walk the slipper piak piak sound and flap arms like wings.. omg wads happening to buddhism in sg
I am buddhist. If they are real monks and nuns, then Buddha will monitor them, we don't need to bother. Their deeds their karma.

Note : I forgot to add, non charity orgs are closely watched by govt. Accounting books are being audited.

Elnoxv

Is there a rule against?
Yes, There are rules when one becomes monks, example:
  1. Not to accept money.
  2. Not to use money.
  3. Not to exchange things.
And many other rules (check the source) as well. The gist is Monks are not allowed to use money, handle money or use it to purchase anything. This includes owning property, cars etc. Driving cars are prohibited under normal circumstances.

If monks are seen doing these things either openly or privately, they are probably Monks IN NAME only. Aka Fake Monks.

However, do note: Llama And Monks are different. They have different way of life.

source: https://en.dhammadana.org/sangha/vinaya/227.htm

alalalala

thats why im appalled when a relative engaged in that supposedly powerful monk to do some chantings in a funeral...
All these people jialat la....i got one zabor fren last time go temple pray to be more beautiful..... knn seriously i doubt many even understand the real meaning of eastern religions

yokine3a

Even the charity one (mingzhi? Mingyi?) engage in gayism...
He has paid a price for it by serving jail terms, under human laws. After he die, he has to face karma created by himself.

pattanispirit

Is there a rule against?

if u read the rules from Buddha, there r 250 rules for monks and 348 rules for nuns.

比丘 Bhikkhu 戒有二五〇戒,比丘尼 Bhikkhunī 戒有三四八戒。

However, there is also one big rule for all Buddhist practitioners is not to comment or disrespect any Monks or Nuns.

This will create distrust for Buddhism as a religion.

Monks or Nuns are supposedly to be the spoken person for Buddha, after Buddha attained Nirvana. Speaking against Monks or Nuns is equal to speaking against Buddha himself.

if Monks or Nuns have done wrong, they will receive their punishment as the effect of Karma.

if it's small wrong, they may lose all the good karma they've cultivate in their entire life and their cultivation may be void.

if it's big wrong, they may end up reborning in the 3 bad realm : animals, hungry ghosts and hell-dwellers

u see those temple committee... drive porche.... drive alphard... must be really good biz :X they should be more carefully audited. i was shocked when drive by paya lebar to drop off friend who had family member ancestral tablet at that temple. not many parking lot but big big cars inside and i turn go inside kena death glare by nun.. in the end go out and make a turn park at the thai temple beside..

the nun also sibeh lihai one.. when walk the slipper piak piak sound and flap arms like wings.. omg wads happening to buddhism in sg

aa51452ce595b55389b46b63ff8f2aec.jpg

WtfAimbotSpoilt

I am buddhist. If they are real monks and nuns, then Buddha will monitor them, we don't need to bother. Their deeds their karma.

Note : I forgot to add, non charity orgs are closely watched by govt. Accounting books are being audited.
buddha not parinirvana liao??.... he is not king yama and not a surveillance camera i think?

govt doesnt watch that closely, in registrar of society of course religious society is harder and slower to get approved..but after approval.. annual returns and accounts.. u know the bengali accounting la... u see all the temples.. especially those with big annual bidding festivals.. temple chairman with 400k paycheck and above.... oh well~~

WtfAimbotSpoilt

Yes, There are rules when one becomes monks, example:
  1. Not to accept money.
  2. Not to use money.
  3. Not to exchange things.
And many other rules (check the source) as well. The gist is Monks are not allowed to use money, handle money or use it to purchase anything. This includes owning property, cars etc. Driving cars are prohibited under normal circumstances.

If monks are seen doing these things either openly or privately, they are probably Monks IN NAME only. Aka Fake Monks.

However, do note: Llama And Monks are different. They have different way of life.

source: https://en.dhammadana.org/sangha/vinaya/227.htm
in prev generation.. monk and nun have "god children" and even "favourite" disciple... after which the title deed of temple and the resources.. monies are passed to after their death

alalalala

if u read the rules from Buddha, there r 250 rules for monks and 348 rules for nuns.

比丘 Bhikkhu 戒有二五〇戒,比丘尼 Bhikkhunī 戒有三四八戒。

However, there is also one big rule for all Buddhist practitioners is not to comment or disrespect any Monks or Nuns.

This will create distrust for Buddhism as a religion.

Monks or Nuns are supposedly to be the spoken person for Buddha, after Buddha attained Nirvana. Speaking against Monks or Nuns is equal to speaking against Buddha himself.

if Monks or Nuns have done wrong, they will receive their punishment as the effect of Karma.

if it's small wrong, they may lose all the good karma they've cultivate in their entire life and their cultivation may be void.

if it's big wrong, they may end up reborning in the 3 bad realm : animals, hungry ghosts and hell-dwellers

aa51452ce595b55389b46b63ff8f2aec.jpg

What u are refering is still in the realm of samsara? Not enlightenment yet?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.