MoCA Network Setup | Ethernet over TV cable

blurnard

hi guys, my dbss flat has 2 3-way 5-1000mhz splitters inside the scv box. 1st splitter is the main in line, split to bomb shelter, living room, 2nd splitter. 2nd splitter splits to master bedroom, bedroom1, bedroom2.

I only need to moca my own bedroom to ethernet. am i able to just plug out the coaxial connector in the splitter from the scv box which connects to my bedroom and directly connect it to the moca adapter? Then i can directly connect the coaxial port in my room to the 2nd moca so it becomes a direct connection. does this work?
DBSS is which year de...

DBSS should likely have lan ports in every room? or telephone ports in everyroom?

Archuke

DBSS is which year de...
DBSS should likely have lan ports in every room? or telephone ports in everyroom?

2011. park central @ amk. no lan ports, all is rj11 phone ports. this dbss abit problematic, the main rj11 junction box is far from my router, so i decided to go moca instead.

blurnard

2011. park central @ amk. no lan ports, all is rj11 phone ports. this dbss abit problematic, the main rj11 junction box is far from my router, so i decided to go moca instead.
ah...

I unplug the coaxial from the spliiter...so it should work for you..

XiaoFu99

hi guys, my dbss flat has 2 3-way 5-1000mhz splitters inside the scv box. 1st splitter is the main in line, split to bomb shelter, living room, 2nd splitter. 2nd splitter splits to master bedroom, bedroom1, bedroom2.

I only need to moca my own bedroom to ethernet. am i able to just plug out the coaxial connector in the splitter from the scv box which connects to my bedroom and directly connect it to the moca adapter? Then i can directly connect the coaxial port in my room to the 2nd moca so it becomes a direct connection. does this work?

Splitter #1
Port a: bomb shelter
Port b: living room
Port c: connect to splitter #2

Splitter #2
Port a: Master bedroom
Port b: bedroom 1
Port c: bedroom 2

Assuming your router @ living room, the following should work:

1. disconnect incoming @ splitter #2
2. disconnect port a @ splitter #2 (master bedroom)
3. disconnect port b @ splitter #1 (living room)
4. Connect the coaxial cable (living room) disconnected from splitter #1 and connect to splitter #2 (position of former master bedroom).

ONT -> (WAN) Router (LAN) -> (ethernet port) MoCa -> Coaxial point @ living room

Coaxial point @ bedroom -> MoCA (ethernet port) -> access point / switch / desktop

Archuke

Splitter #1
Port a: bomb shelter
Port b: living room
Port c: connect to splitter #2

Splitter #2
Port a: Master bedroom
Port b: bedroom 1
Port c: bedroom 2

Assuming your router @ living room, the following should work:

1. disconnect incoming @ splitter #2
2. disconnect port a @ splitter #2 (master bedroom)
3. disconnect port b @ splitter #1 (living room)
4. Connect the coaxial cable (living room) disconnected from splitter #1 and connect to splitter #2 (position of former master bedroom).

ONT -> (WAN) Router (LAN) -> (ethernet port) MoCa -> Coaxial point @ living room

Coaxial point @ bedroom -> MoCA (ethernet port) -> access point / switch / desktop
Can i connect the coaxial cable from the splitter into the moca instead of using another coxial point ? According to your labels, i planned to disconnect port b(my room) from splitter #2 and connect it to moca. Then i connect the moca to my room coaxial point. so it will be a direct connection straight from the port b in the scv box to my room. is it possible to do it this way instead of going 1 round to connect living room point then my bedroom?

basically its like this

ONT -> (WAN)Router -> Moca -> port b @ splitter #2(disconnected from splitter) -> coaxial point in bedroom 1 -> moca -> desktop

if this way works, i can avoid the use of splitter.

XiaoFu99

Can i connect the coaxial cable from the splitter into the moca instead of using another coxial point ? According to your labels, i planned to disconnect port b(my room) from splitter #2 and connect it to moca. Then i connect the moca to my room coaxial point. so it will be a direct connection straight from the port b in the scv box to my room. is it possible to do it this way instead of going 1 round to connect living room point then my bedroom?
basically its like this
ONT -> (WAN)Router -> Moca -> port b @ splitter #2(disconnected from splitter) -> coaxial point in bedroom 1 -> moca -> desktop
if this way works, i can avoid the use of splitter.

unless you have a RG6 coupler (sold @ Amazon) to link the 2 coaxial point together, you will need a splitter to join them up.

Archuke

unless you have a RG6 coupler (sold @ Amazon) to link the 2 coaxial point together, you will need a splitter to join them up.

erm which 2 coaxial point do you mean? living room and bedroom #1? my living room do not need moca.

the coaxial cable in my scv box(port b) is the head of the coax cable while the end point is in my bedroom coaxial point right? why can't i just connect both ends to the moca adapter for a direct connection instead?

i need some enlightenment.

XiaoFu99

erm which 2 coaxial point do you mean? living room and bedroom #1? my living room do not need moca.

the coaxial cable in my scv box(port b) is the head of the coax cable while the end point is in my bedroom coaxial point right? why can't i just connect both ends to the moca adapter for a direct connection instead?

i need some enlightenment.
Of course, point to point coaxial is OK.

Otokiru

Hi all, just want to confirm, i assume this scv box in my house (2011 hdb) is the connection from outside to my home hor?
O2W6JXh.jpg

also, the top cable i put the POE filter can liao hor? no need call starhub?
im1qdZM.jpg

Sha2d2

I opened up my riser box and found this:
JhUKC64_d.webp

Sorry this the best pic I could take given the cramped space.

I found some details on its specs:
S8sUuC3_d.webp

So my question is how do use a POE filter on this monster?

deepfriedbrain

I want to install the MOCA adapters but have an issue.

I managed to access the SCV in the riser outside the unit that has a 3-way splitter tagged with my unit number. It has 1 IN and 3 OUT. I have disconnected the IN cable, though yet to install a termination cap.

However, my unit has 5 cable points - 1 LR, 3 BR, and 1 Shelter. I'm not sure how the 3 IN cables outside split into 5 inside the unit. I can't locate the main SCV inside the unit. It might be hidden inside the false ceiling by the previous owner.

I have the Fiber termination point inside the LR only. So if the LR one is not connected to the points in the 3 BRs, then I might not be able to transmit the signals to the BRs.

I was wondering if anyone has an idea of the typical connections in a 4-rm HDB with 5 cable points inside the unit with a 3-way splitter outside the unit.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

xonix

I want to install the MOCA adapters but have an issue.

I managed to access the SCV in the riser outside the unit that has a 3-way splitter tagged with my unit number. It has 1 IN and 3 OUT. I have disconnected the IN cable, though yet to install a termination cap.

However, my unit has 5 cable points - 1 LR, 3 BR, and 1 Shelter. I'm not sure how the 3 IN cables outside split into 5 inside the unit. I can't locate the main SCV inside the unit. It might be hidden inside the false ceiling by the previous owner.

I have the Fiber termination point inside the LR only. So if the LR one is not connected to the points in the 3 BRs, then I might not be able to transmit the signals to the BRs.

I was wondering if anyone has an idea of the typical connections in a 4-rm HDB with 5 cable points inside the unit with a 3-way splitter outside the unit.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.
Isn't the connection in the riser box outside for other units on the same floor ? :unsure:
Your SCV splitter should be internally within your household.

deepfriedbrain

Isn't the connection in the riser box outside for other units on the same floor ? :unsure:
Your SCV splitter should be internally within your household.
Mine is outside in the riser. It has a tag wrapped around the 3 cables labeled with my unit number. Oddly it has the splitters for the only 2 units - mine and the unit above. But the gas / electricity riser has the connections for my unit and the immediate neighbor on the same floor. So, it's really odd that the SCV box is shared with the unit above, and not the one on the same floor.

In any case, I got a pair of MOCA Bonded 2.0 adapters (yeah I know it's not the latest version) and tested them, and I'm delighted to report that it's working well. I'm yet to do proper speed tests on a computer, but I'm able to get the wired internet to my TV in one of the bedrooms. The speed test on the app from Google Play Store shows about 40-50 Mbps, which is not great, but I think the TV is probably not capable enough to support higher bandwidth. The WiFi speed for the same TV is usually around 25 Mbps. So, it's already an improvement.

I need to purchase an ethernet dongle to run proper speed test with my laptop.

deepfriedbrain

I tested the speed with an ethernet dongle. I'm getting around 625 Mbps down and 425+ Mbps up consistently using the MOCA adapters. I'm quite pleased with the results because even directly connecting to the router, I get about 700-800 Mbps down and 500 Mbps up. So, it's not bad.

The existing 2-way splitters in all the rooms are rated 5-1000 MHz, while the ones that came with the adapters are rated 5-1675 MHz. Should I try to replace the splitters? Would it make any difference?

Apparatus

Hi

I just bought the ASUS MA-25 MoCA 2.5 but failed to connect.......so cannot access the net

Only 2 SCV points in my HDB unit. One in the hall and the other in the master room

After setting them up I get the power and Ethernet lights on but the MoCA lights failed to turn on. I even opened the SCV boxes and connect the coaxial cables both directly connected to the splitter and bypassing the splitter to the ASUS MA-25 but result still no MoCA connection light. This is to ensure that there's no compatibility issue between the SCV cables and the provided coaxial cables.

The adapters were tested ok when I connected them together earlier using one of the provided coaxial cable and the download speed was 703Mbps for a 1Gbps broadband

Any help?

Speed test with 2 adapters side by side with provided coaxial cable

P-20231218-150711.jpg

Side by side testing and all 3 light were on strongly. It means the provided cables and the adapters are working fine

P-20231218-145207.jpg

Apparatus

Continue from above...............

MoCA lights (top light) did not turn on when connected to the SCV points so cannot access the net. The power and Ethernet lights were turned on

P-20231218-184700.jpg

P-20231218-184614.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.