[SG Reddit] Sinkie Pwn Sinkie in Govt Agencies and GLCs

StoicGuy

It depends on your character also.

A simple test.

A. Urgent operational/production issue.
B. Continue meeting with CEO first.

If you have a scheduled meeting with CEO but suddenly got very urgent operational issue that needs you to coordinate the recovery.

If you choose A, then you are not suitable for CS or GLCs.

Some big MNCs has this an interview question especially in Singapore, especially you had worked in GLCs before..

user2024

If 1 still think getting promoted n big bonuses is u working very hard then nothing to say already lol

gamerx

NTUC fires Assistant Director for racist comments​

amy-cheong2-jpg_040225.jpg

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/ntuc-assistant-director-says-sorry-for-racist-post.html
Wah this lady's comments is really too much. I think she would have been fired anywhere she worked.

mata_hippo

got sick of the sg company culture so i knew i need to get into ang moh mnc

soulblader_89

becos they nvr fire wat...iron ricebowl....

those yearly review is for show...

at most they transfer to do other thing or reduce bonus

increment sure have...just very little like $50...

promotion very slow...but it is slow for everyone anyway....

this type of environment surely many incompetent...and they dun leave...govt agencies no headcount to hire new ppl...

Shion

Senior Mentor
sinkie pwn sinkie is a culture and behaviour flowing thru our bloods

tatsit

isnt this the foundation of sg's education?

you think bell curve is about studying hard or finding ways to make your fellow classmates score worse than you? because if everyone is clever, everyone's score cannot be high.

how do you think govt agencies and GLC conduct their promotion practice? they have limited space for promotion and everyone is fighting for grade A. here comes the bell curve to the rescue, and to get promoted, you have to make sure your fellow colleagues perform worse than you by backstabbing the sh!t out of them.

Kum Jit Pow

I knew a PhD holder working in an MNC, he quit and join MTI..... 1 Yr later he quit and went back to the MNC. he said he couldn't stand the toxicity and the stand back and wait for someone to die 1st culture.

soulblader_89

glc and govt agencies like to hire "scholar", i gt some scholar classmate come in same time as me, but work in different office...more atas...

they gt different treatment/ scheme for scholar people....

very obvious class system

like a E5 normal employee vs a E5 scholar employee...

the scholar E5 will be higher position and more salary, despite u all same lvl, and scholar tend to promote faster, regardless of performance

wwenze

Let me put it this way

You want to build your career on productivity? The average productivity of a person's whole lifetime is not enough to pay for a $3M condo

yuzu28

What makes you all think that there's lots of sinkies there?
There are PRs and many many new citizens, indo, msian, indian, tiong, Myanmar...

888blancgmail

I always thought that hdb n tc are on friendly terms until few weeks ago, tc asked hdb to confirm abt the S&CC n no reply till now.

Last year, I asked my tc again on the status of the noisy exercise equipment that we had been sufferings for weeks, tc asked me to check w hdb n bsc.

I thought tc dare to ask me to do it instead !!!

Now I know.😮💨🤦‍♂️

I even asked this f exercise equipment agent this year too to lessen the noise n they replied will come down to check n advice not to slam it as indicated on the board.

I replied how to prevent ppl not to slam when users are short, tired n no strength, kids, this is human reflex etc..

1 week later emailed agent to ask for any updates n to provide b4 n after rectification, agent MIA 😡😡😡🤞🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

So now residents still sufferingS due to agent, hdb n tc jlb ....

soulblader_89

reason thing is slow is becos too many ppl is involved...but too much dependencies

got 1 time, some simple issue can resolved within 1 day...but need approval from many parties

like if this director is on leave until end of feb, u cannot just approve it...have to wait till he come back...

vice director oso on leave

then he come back, the situation have change and new problem arise...have to rediscuss solution....

the existing solution does not work alrdy...have to retink of solution and seek new approval again...

happen again and again .....

gamerx

glc and govt agencies like to hire "scholar", i gt some scholar classmate come in same time as me, but work in different office...more atas...

they gt different treatment/ scheme for scholar people....

very obvious class system

like a E5 normal employee vs a E5 scholar employee...

the scholar E5 will be higher position and more salary, despite u all same lvl, and scholar tend to promote faster, regardless of performance
What is E5? The paygrade?

MiG123

Myself and many sinkie professionals I know in private sector would rather work in multinational office where sinkies are minority (with no specific nationality forming the obvious majority) rather than in a sinkie majority office

iceblendedchoc

the backstabbing culture is cultivated since primary school, where you have class monitors and school prefects. students were taught to report any misbehaviour to teachers.

whereas schools elsewhere and international schools here only have class reps, which are mainly tasked with dissemination of information or doing the saikang which no one wants to do. and students were taught "snitches get stitches" early in life.

well during world war 2, some of our leaders work for japanese

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.