[SG Reddit] Sinkie Pwn Sinkie in Govt Agencies and GLCs

dezzo69

I always thought that hdb n tc are on friendly terms until few weeks ago, tc asked hdb to confirm abt the S&CC n no reply till now.

Last year, I asked my tc again on the status of the noisy exercise equipment that we had been sufferings for weeks, tc asked me to check w hdb n bsc.

I thought tc dare to ask me to do it instead !!!

Now I know.😮💨🤦‍♂️

I even asked this f exercise equipment agent this year too to lessen the noise n they replied will come down to check n advice not to slam it as indicated on the board.

I replied how to prevent ppl not to slam when users are short, tired n no strength, kids, this is human reflex etc..

1 week later emailed agent to ask for any updates n to provide b4 n after rectification, agent MIA 😡😡😡🤞🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

So now residents still sufferingS due to agent, hdb n tc jlb ....

take wd40 and go spray the equipment lah

my neighbouhood also got on and off noisy AF equipment at the playground / sexercise area sometimes.

Sylar22

the backstabbing culture is cultivated since primary school, where you have class monitors and school prefects. students were taught to report any misbehaviour to teachers.

whereas schools elsewhere and international schools here only have class reps, which are mainly tasked with dissemination of information or doing the saikang which no one wants to do. and students were taught "snitches get stitches" early in life.

In simple terms : bao toh

888blancgmail

take wd40 and go spray the equipment lah

my neighbouhood also got on and off noisy AF equipment at the playground / sexercise area sometimes.
Yrs is on / off . Mine is daily 😮💨😡

It is not wd40 problem, confirmed by Exercise equipment agent, they push to users not to slam ....🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

Whimsica

As if they won't get pawned in other organisations...

To me, between being pawned by fellow sinkies from similar background with roots here or taonaokangkang foreigners with dubious qualifications/ work experience with nothing to lose, I would prefer to spar with fellow sinkies.

Lance321

In SG, these people are so lucky to complain about govt agencies freely online and get away with it. Do this in other countries like china, and they will get tracked down and then "disappear".

batuchka

the recent cop suicide and whitey's "response" oredi gibe clue the civil service and related gahmen agencies have deeply entrenched toxic culture liao? even chui not civil serpent your time as NSF would have given clue if your eyes/ears open...

siandiao

actually in almost every single workplace, yes, even "cool n hip and forward looking" startups, will have "everyone pwn everyone" mentality, just at which level. those "forward progressive" startups, maybe not so at working level, but they surely wud have their own politiks in the highest level.

but, quite obviously, govt agencies have a lot of "sinkle pwn sinkie" mentality, is becoz all are sinkies (or PRs which are lesser in numbers anyway). in other toxic MNCs or even SMEs, "sinkies" have to band together to guard against "FT enclaves", so in those places, it wud appear to have lesser "sinkie pwn sinkie". but no FT enclaves to guard against in public agencies, so sinkie pwn sinkie lor.

the effect is even more pronounced in specific agencies tt can die-die only hire singaporeans, not even PRs (barring very special waivers), in which case, the "sinkie pwn sinkie" mentality is strongest

messidona

Myself and many sinkie professionals I know in private sector would rather work in multinational office where sinkies are minority (with no specific nationality forming the obvious majority) rather than in a sinkie majority office
Female dominated sinkie environment is the worst. They behave like secondary school kids

4ever1

Really kam lan to take pay cut and join private mnc, end up lagi worse if got retrenched down the road and join the phv gang. Most of non skolars serpents just sug up with the toxic environment, when see their bonuses and salary adjustment every now and then they forgotten what is toxic.

o blong

Too many t0xic stories liao

Where in sg is got good work culture ah? I want to apply

sukukia

sinkies bekhan, cannot compete with prs and fts, can only pawn other sinkies…

gamerx

Really kam lan to take pay cut and join private mnc, end up lagi worse if got retrenched down the road and join the phv gang. Most of non skolars serpents just sug up with the toxic environment, when see their bonuses and salary adjustment every now and then they forgotten what is toxic.
Today's youth are firmly "you work to live, not live to work".

Think many people value mental health and quality of life over making a bit more money. Not wrong imo, it's a matter of perspective and preference.

wahlaneh

Many years ago i joined a govt coy….coming from the private sector, i cant cope (nothing to do with work) and quit less than a month. Lucky it was contract hence no notice period…

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.