[SG Reddit] Sinkie Pwn Sinkie in Govt Agencies and GLCs

Mechafanboy

Not surprised.

My sister used to work for HSA, she left because of leadership changes, not heypi with new boss.

Oso overheard a conversation between HDB staffers at TPY HDB hub, office politics at work; young staffers not heypi with laojiao staffers, calling them obsolete, cannot survive if thrown into private sector... Jin amusing Sia...

CanIsayNo

the backstabbing culture is cultivated since primary school, where you have class monitors and school prefects. students were taught to report any misbehaviour to teachers.

whereas schools elsewhere and international schools here only have class reps, which are mainly tasked with dissemination of information or doing the saikang which no one wants to do. and students were taught "snitches get stitches" early in life.

remember how they taught us in schools and in tv shows that if you see a friend or family member commit a wrongdoing, you must report them "for their own good"? lol

bongnino

Sinkie pwn sinkie stories for your Sunday naps. :s22:

Those who drive a car in Sg will know what I am about to talk about.

In sg there is this mentality ... I must get ahead of you. I must get an advantage over you. I must get a nice head start over you.

On the road. It is like that. Even though the so-called advantage is very small and negligible. But sg cars will always want to cut lane at traffic light so that it gets to be the "first car" on that lane.

At customs .. this "I wanna gain an advantage over you" also perpetuates throughout.

And those who have "an advantage" will conslidate and pile on it and never give up the advantage.

Sgreans are like that in life, in school, on the road... everywhere.

At queues at hawker stalls also like that..

I have literally seen with my own eyes a guy literally ran and charge ahead of me to get in a queue for the bedok 85 BCM. And that was 5pm where there is literally no queue.

Why really does he have to run?

Because Sgreans like to gain an advantage over others in any form.

You ask msians about their impression and this is what they will say.

DDMatrix

Everyone is nice guy, nothing will get done. Hard truths.
To be precise is "pretending" or rather " don't wish to rock the boat". What's on their mind is "I am here to get a stable paycheck, Since its CS/PS I won't get fired even if my performance is bad. No PIP only coaching, so why work so hard? Might as well cruise and get that money every month. Less trouble for me and for you."

zhanhuju

actually in almost every single workplace, yes, even "cool n hip and forward looking" startups, will have "everyone pwn everyone" mentality, just at which level. those "forward progressive" startups, maybe not so at working level, but they surely wud have their own politiks in the highest level.

but, quite obviously, govt agencies have a lot of "sinkle pwn sinkie" mentality, is becoz all are sinkies (or PRs which are lesser in numbers anyway). in other toxic MNCs or even SMEs, "sinkies" have to band together to guard against "FT enclaves", so in those places, it wud appear to have lesser "sinkie pwn sinkie". but no FT enclaves to guard against in public agencies, so sinkie pwn sinkie lor.

the effect is even more pronounced in specific agencies tt can die-die only hire singaporeans, not even PRs (barring very special waivers), in which case, the "sinkie pwn sinkie" mentality is strongest
That is incorrect.
If you work in an environment with competent people they are busy executing new tasks and new projects.
The competitiveness would be POSITIVE competitiveness because NEW high value stuff will be created,
When you work in an environment failed with incompetence you will find people doing mud flinging because they are not able to create new positive changes to compete. They throw negativity at others the one with the least negativity wins.

The biggest problem with civil service is they don't sack people.
It is like a human who don't defecate or urinate, toxicity always exist if you do not purge them from the system the whole organism will die from toxin built up

fascist

I knew a PhD holder working in an MNC, he quit and join MTI..... 1 Yr later he quit and went back to the MNC. he said he couldn't stand the toxicity and the stand back and wait for someone to die 1st culture.

He didn’t enjoy working with the fresh grad Assistant Directors there?

fascist

glc and govt agencies like to hire "scholar", i gt some scholar classmate come in same time as me, but work in different office...more atas...

they gt different treatment/ scheme for scholar people....

very obvious class system

like a E5 normal employee vs a E5 scholar employee...

the scholar E5 will be higher position and more salary, despite u all same lvl, and scholar tend to promote faster, regardless of performance
It’s self fulfilling. Eventually the non-scholar will lost motivation and then G can claim “look! Indeed scholar is better”

you see, can’t rely on CS folks to understand second order effects.

nasfieldjohn

Redditer is sinkie and serve ns should also know most paper generals parachuted in and bring their kakis

Tabula Rasa

Many years ago i joined a govt coy….coming from the private sector, i cant cope (nothing to do with work) and quit less than a month. Lucky it was contract hence no notice period…

Can elaborate more on what's bad about it?

OddEye

BU8wB7CCEAAickX.jpg

gamerx

I knew a PhD holder working in an MNC, he quit and join MTI..... 1 Yr later he quit and went back to the MNC. he said he couldn't stand the toxicity and the stand back and wait for someone to die 1st culture.

He didn’t enjoy working with the fresh grad Assistant Directors there?

no, he said majority are sitting around twiddling their thumbs waiting for others to propose and commit. coming from a SME and MNC background, they are all JLB, and he is not ready for a retirement job.

Yah, I know exactly what he means coming from the public service. Don't rock the boat. Following the book is more important than producing results. Nobody ever got fired for following the book. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.