need advice is it good to be a phv driver?

desmorado

Just get a real job. you know u will be taken care of by the company when u r on holidays, MCs, accidents, cpf etcs.
Yes driving PHV gives you that flexibilities, but when u see every month end ppl getting salary and bonus, but u only get to pay debts such as rental and stuff

sacrificium

But the big earners are those who work when supposed to spend time with family!!!
If you are not aiming for >15k earning, then just manage your own timing. Drive during peak period to earn the surge. At the end of the day, really depends on the needs of each family. Such as how much debt, the type of lifestyle.

newcell

Some food stall operators also do private hire part-time.

Laguna123

i m an ex taxi driver for 2 years.

my advise is,

dont join unless u really 走投无路

if u join, please think of a way to get out of it asap.
Why you said so can give some insight?

wongminmin

coin got 2 side....
it is misleading when only mention 1 side.....

my frds all went back to get full time job after trying out phv.

Assume u're someone who very hardworking/durable to work 12~16hours.... u just need to lose focus for 1 moment, u landed yourself in 1 accident or knocked someone... that's it,

If u go for rental, u need to work at least 6hrs to start seeing the profits.

Unless u no choice or u require flex working timing or semi retirement, then phv.

skai_11

Best is you join the phv driver Facebook groups to have first-hand opinions from drivers themselves
Grab, ryde, tada
Then you'll know

I saw many complaining about leasing contracts. Alot can't wait to get out of it. Many tried to let newbies take over their leasing.

So i think you need to have your own vehicle to start off then worth it?

sacrificium

I saw many complaining about leasing contracts. Alot can't wait to get out of it. Many tried to let newbies take over their leasing.

So i think you need to have your own vehicle to start off then worth it?
These days, to get the PDVL, you need to be 30 years old. Most would have worked for at least 5 years, if save 1k every month, should have enough to pay for 30% down payment.

Jdm4ever

WHY?
If you work hard u will be rewarded. That doesnt happen in the workplace.
Why you said so can give some insight?

no matter how hard u work, u average out the $$ by per hour, its will always be about the same amount.
if u can drive 12 hour a day, u can do it every day?
even u can do it everyday, 10 years later, u still can?
so your salary will drop instead of increase.

u work outside, still got chance of promo, no promo, u jump co, still got salary increase.
u jump from grab to other co, salary still same.

u r tie down to rental contact.
u sick, no salary , still need to pay rental.
no leave, u go oversea, the ******* rental still deducting.
accident, the excess is crazy.

no medical cover.
all company will have some insurance to cover you.

i think although PHV driver do not need to worry abt work stress, rush project deadline, office politics, but a full time committed drivers will also need to worry about accident, traffic offences, rude/unreasonable passengers, work on holidays and weekend, 手停口停...etc

C_boliao

According to edmwers, better than office job!
oaENyhN.jpeg
Would love to see the rest of months.

Laguna123

no matter how hard u work, u average out the $$ by per hour, its will always be about the same amount.

u work outside, still got chance of promo, no promo, u jump co, still got salary increase.

no medical cover.
Also need to contribute to CPF mid this year onwards? I wonder how much can the avg PHV take home pay?

starrynite138

merits of being one . anyone can advise?
Think carefully
- no annual leave
- no medical leave
- no childcare leave
- no paternal leave
- no compassion leave
- no claim $ on medical
- no claim $ on dental
- no bonus $
- no promotion ($ increment)
- headache to cover overheads

Driving phv, you have overheads to cover daily before your net profit. So the first 4 or more hours of driving everyday is just to cover your overheads.
And don't get summons for traffic offence!

These are just the basics. There are others to consider.

LoaGong12

no medical cover.
Ur point abt outside u can jump ship to get higher salary doesnt hold true. Nowadays with technology and companies preferring younger ppl, its hard to even jump ship. And there are salary caps in many companies too

Jdm4ever

Also need to contribute to CPF mid this year onwards? I wonder how much can the avg PHV take home pay?

during my time, uber just started...
i collect an average of $30/hour as comfort taxi driver.

the first 3 hour is work for rent & petrol.

Ur point abt outside u can jump ship to get higher salary doesnt hold true. Nowadays with technology and companies preferring younger ppl, its hard to even jump ship. And there are salary caps in many companies too

than u continue drive taxi loh.

Laguna123

during my time, uber just started...
i collect an average of $30/hour as comfort taxi driver.

the first 3 hour is work for rent & petrol.

than u continue drive taxi loh.
Think during Uber and Grab fight for the market shares, that’s the best time for PHV driver liao.

Jdm4ever

Think during Uber and Grab fight for the market shares, that’s the best time for PHV driver liao.
i do it from 2013 to 2015.

uber & grab hit taxi drivers v hard.
during my time, every morning, mrt taxi stand, full of people, no taxi.
all hiding & waiting for booking.

by the time i quit, taxi stand full of taxi, no people lol

wongminmin

i think although PHV driver do not need to worry abt work stress, rush project deadline, office politics, but a full time committed drivers will also need to worry about accident, traffic offences, rude/unreasonable passengers, work on holidays and weekend, 手停口停...etc
and perverts
Plas2CA.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.