[BREAKING!] Minister Sim Ann: Singaporean Chinese Are Not Overseas Chinese

yuzu28

Don't be influenced by American English.

In British English, the nationality come first before the race.

For example, refer to Wiki page on 'British Indians'.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Indians

Nothing wrong with the term 'Singaporean Chinese'
Then ah tiong become new citizen also Singaporean Chinese leh.
Maybe need to differentiate they are Singaporean prc.

vespaguy

It's complicated. Chinese in South East Asia are of Chinese ancestry but have little to do with the country of China or PRC, which has its own set of values and beliefs. It's like saying White Americans should be called English or Normans or Franks. At some point, the cord must be cut.

LoneTraveller

https://www.8world.com/singapore/budget-2024-budget-and-you-sim-ann-2396966

沈颖:文化和国民认同是两回事 新加坡华人不是华侨​

如今网络上的资讯发达,国人在分析这些资讯时,该如何辨识一些会影响国人凝聚力的讯息?国家发展部兼外交部高级政务部长沈颖指出,国人要时刻都记住国民认同和文化认同是两回事, 例如我国的华族人士是新加坡华人,不是华侨。

国家发展部兼外交部高级政务部长沈颖在接受《点看预算案》访问时提及,国人每天从手机或互联网所获得的资讯非常多,不过国人时刻都记住国民认同和文化认同是两回事。

她以我国的华族人士举例解释:“我们既是新加坡公民,也是新加坡华人,但我们不是华侨。”

在手机上或互联网所获得的大量信息,沈颖希望国人思考这些信息是不是基于文化认同或是其他的身份,希望能争取读者去支持某一个立场,也必须深入思考这个立场是否符合我国作为多元种族国家的基本利益。

另外,对于那些利用比较煽情或用比较批判的字眼,吸引眼球的信息,沈颖呼吁国人深入思考作者是否想要引起读者比较强烈的情绪,以及背后是否有其他的意图。

“最重要的是,考虑这些信息是否符合我国作为一个多元种族社会的一个利益。”

Nowadays, information on the Internet is developed. When analyzing this information, how should Chinese people identify information that will affect the cohesion of Chinese people? Shen Ying, Senior Minister of State for the Ministry of National Development and Foreign Affairs, pointed out that Chinese people must always remember that national identity and cultural identity are two different things.

Shen Ying, Senior Minister of State for the Ministry of National Development and Foreign Affairs, mentioned in an interview with "Budget Point" that Chinese people get a lot of information from mobile phones or the Internet every day, but Chinese people always remember that national identity and cultural identity are two different things. .

She explained using the example of Chinese people in our country: "We are both Singapore citizens and Singaporean Chinese, but we are not overseas Chinese."

Shen Ying hopes that the Chinese people will think about whether this information is based on cultural identity or other identities. She hopes to win over readers to support a certain position. Shen Ying also needs to think deeply about whether this position is consistent with our country as a diverse country. fundamental interests of the racial state.

In addition, for information that uses more sensational or more critical words to attract attention, Shen Ying calls on Chinese people to think deeply about whether the author wants to arouse stronger emotions in readers, and whether there are other intentions behind it.

"Above all, consider whether this information is in the interest of our country as a multiracial society."
I am surprised the minister takes such a position for pap have been telling us for a long time that pr and locals are all Singaporeans.

Does it mean that the pap is discriminating against the Chinese? 🤣🤣🤣

LoneTraveller

Always say no to 坡县esque references :o

Some PRCs also use 华裔 in lieu of 华侨; while both terms have a different meaning, they are still a subtle reminder of one's "origin".

华裔means of Chinese descent which is correct. 华侨by right should only refer to prc citizens that is away from China.

There is a difference and one should know the difference.

cpuer

Current middle east conflict already show how fragile our society is, once CCP invade TW it will again test our resilience and cohesiveness.

TehSi99

Decendants of Chinese outside China are 可怜。

Anti chinese in indo, thailand decades ago so jialat that they have changed names to survive. Apart from looking like chinese, no speak chinese no chinese names.

Malaysia chinese are 2nd or 3rd class citizens.

Singapore is 坡省 just because majority of residents are Chinese.

China wants to invade Taiwan.

sciprof

Many new citizens are migrated from China leh.. So no wrong to say is overseas Chinese

AndroidComa

just pull out the stats of how many converted mainland chinese to SC last 15 years then say
well we voted them in, but they think they do not need to answer to us?

uselessbum

Come the next debate on FT policy, MIW will switch lines again to "remember your roots" because it is a convenient red herring excuse to justify open leg. Maybe organize even more "cultural exchanges" with China. But at the same time, it will also precipitate even more phillip chans/dickson yeos because inevitably there will be jokers who forget that they are supposed to be sinkies first and foremost when they are all caught up in "discovering" their "roots" and the nationalistic ties that China tries to promote in relation to the Chinese race as a whole.

I can already imagine the process:

"Did you know your forefathers came from china? You should know more about your roots! Trace your tree even!" -> "Oh my god, I now learnt that my forefathers led such oppressive lives due to western nations bullying China" -> "I should do more to help China because that's what my forefathers would have wanted" -> "SG is not my real roots, China is because 饮水思源" -> down the rabbit hole even further

LPPL. I'm very used to seeing MIW codeswitch to match whatever it is they are trying to promote/push at that moment.

:(

yew lun

https://singaporeccc.org.sg/

Then the centre would change name to singaporean chinese culture centre bo?

The first sentence in website.. chinese culture in Singapore has evolved in a way unlike other communities around the world. Singapore is a tiny.....

Would it change or amend to chinese descendant culture..?

Cos chinese can be also mean china nationally...

weiess

question is how many singaporean chinese are from overseas leh?

SageWolf

For sure in hk i dun speak mandarin.

In Japan not sure if so racist or not, but i overheard some jap's conversation that they don't like tourists. But seriously, those tourists in groups are quite annoying, esp ang mo, tiong, koreans. Taiwanese also

As i tour alone, most of them would think that I'm jap, even if i speak broken jap. Often see them shocked when I bring out my passport for tax free.
If they think you are Japanese then you should be able to enter soapland, that the ultimate test.
If not they are just being polite.

eno_lc

Correct you slightly.
华侨arePRC born in China but are holding another country's passport.
华侨 refer to those born in AND still holding China citizenship, but currently residing overseas

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.