[BREAKING!] Minister Sim Ann: Singaporean Chinese Are Not Overseas Chinese

DeadPeople

Singaporean chinese is good meh.

If can earn big bucks etc, i dont mind la.. now can only drive grab etc. If overseas chinese wants me to be overseas chinese to get a good job, i dont mind also since Singaporean chinese can drive grab only.

LoneTraveller

I am aware of that. What I meant is the subtext (ie nuances) implied by such terms. There is a subtle reminder of one's place of origin implied by both, no? (And depending on context, this can be manipulated, especially on the susceptible, to evoke a longing for the motherland, etc.) Correct me if I'm wrong.
Don't really agree on the subtext by 华裔 but I do agree that there is a subtext for the term 华侨 and I believe that is what the prc government is trying to evoke by using the term 华侨 to refer to all overseas chinese in their propaganda which implies that it is the duty of every Chinese regardless of nationalities to help the motherland if she needs it.

In fact, if I am not mistaken, when I went to roc as a saf nsf in the 1990s,the roc immigration officers there also referred to us as 华侨 though I stressed repeatedly that we are Singaporeans.

LoneTraveller

With uselessbum. Yesterday, Singaporean are all migrants, said one PAP MP; today, we become citizen/non migrants???
With Blackwings. Ann has failed in her national identity job. Suspect this definition speech is in response to recent Senator Tom Cotton's statement/event.
What for she go play with sementics and definitions? This is not a HCL class. So can only be with her if she says we are not communists.
As usual lor. Pap pattern. When the situation favors them, use what term also can. When the situation does not favor them, suddenly they will define here and there and shift goal posts.

For me, I will just listen and not take what they said too seriously given their long standing pattern.

LoneTraveller

Quite disconcerting to see there's even a debate on this.

Imgaine if china and india fights a war (possible due to their border scuffle)... what will happen to our society when "some chinese" and "some indians" here decided to help both countries even though they are locally born here?
That's why unfettered immigration is a double edged sword and pap have to wake up its idea. Today, they are scared of China, tomorrow they might be scared of India if and when the newly converted Indian nationalities compete with them in the political arena.

Time for pap to wake up and invest in local talents instead of unfettered importing of foreigners en masse.

LoneTraveller

Still not very clear. If put this sentence, very hard for ang mo to understand.. I am xxxxx chinese, chinese is my culture , I have chinese culture, but I am not chinese.

Thus chu think Oxford dictionary better create new English word to define 华侨 , 华人 , 华裔 .
Actually if your command of the language is good, you can differentiate clearly eg.

I am a Singaporean of Chinese descent who speaks and write Mandarin and practises Chinese culture. I am not a Chinese citizen though/by the way.

d5dude

Only first generation Chinese immigrants can be considered overseas Chinese, those born here cannot possibly be considered overseas Chinese since they are NATIVE to SG.

AZE

Only first generation Chinese immigrants can be considered overseas Chinese, those born here cannot possibly be considered overseas Chinese since they are NATIVE to SG.

As said earlier, fully integrating a family line takes generations.
At best it takes 3-4 generations for the bond to form. Why, some may ask?:o

1st gen were foreigners turn citizens.
2nd gen may or may not be born and raised here.
Only 3rd or 4th gen are the ones that are born and raised by parents that were born and raised here.

Because 1st gen immigrants were mobile enough to shift to SG, they could always afford to become mobile and leave again, not including the ability to link up with kins and friends back from their original country or elsewhere around the world.
2nd gen that were not born or raised here ish rikely with the same mindset, though they might not be able to make independent decision until later.
2nd gen that were born and raised here, despite being "more" native, ish ultimately deeply influenced by their parents, and could be forced/indoctrinated to move or leave or even work against the nation by their parents. I hab a 2nd gen relatives rike that, grew up here but left SG and never intended to come back anymore, because one of the 1st gen new citizen parent ish a total s*ker for green pasture of foreign lands and hab planned for that since the start.:crazy:
It ish the chewren(3rd/4th) to the generation(2nd/3rd) that were born and raised here, with which ALSO make a conscious decision to want to take root here that will be the ones that can fully integrate into the nation.

And that's the 3rd/4th gen.:o

LoneTraveller

你可以说你是新加坡公民。
你万万不可忘记你的根。
Nobody is forgetting their roots due to these political forces at play. We, Singaporeans Chinese are as Chinese as the rest of the Chinese around the world. We are also the inheritors of 5000 years of Chinese culture and heritage but we are not citizens of China.

新加坡华人与世界上的华人一样,是中华五千年文化的传承者,是炎黄子孙也是龙的传人!但是,我们并非中华人民共和国的国民。。。。

Whimsica

你可以说你是新加坡公民。
你万万不可忘记你的根。
我们本来就是新加坡人,什么叫做可以说是新加坡公民?
我们生在这里,死在这里,我们的根在这里。
你说你根在中国,你觉得中国人会认同吗?
中国人吞掉你苏州工业园、扣留你装甲车时,有给你任何一丝同根的感觉吗?

kiatkiat

I always proudly tell PRCs ''我是新加坡人!!!!!!!''

All will reply the same and asked ''您是什么祖籍?''

Back to square one

I will just reply 泉州安溪郭坂 lor. Btw, I have no more relatives there liao hor. So how? When the 祖籍 don't have any relatives there anymore, what are we going to do? Go back to the spot and look at the building?

Last time ppl talk about 祖籍 was because there still was still whole village with relatives back there. Now, if no longer any relatives there, is it still valid?

祖籍 was more about cultures and roots. But nowadays, ppl highjacked this 祖籍 thing and make it into a political thing

kelhot2001

This is literally answer like no answer/no reply/no intent.. etc etc

the one that’s stirring is always you who want to pick out specific stuff to talk about.

that’s why wanted to make sure you have same colour IC as allegiance instead :)

Given your suspicious and obsessive nature, it will be hard for you to believe anything. But anyway, i am not here to convince you anything, you are still entitled to your own opinion.

In addition to that, you want to be ISD wannabe, it is up to you but please do not tag me anymore.I can read on my own. Your trolling and nusiance is becoming annoying. Thanks in advance and cheers

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.