jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

Yeah sundown last year was so bad I just could not continue. Thankfully no more plantar for now. I can't imagine plantar together with this calf strain
All of this ultimately boils down to your running goals.

Talked to one runner I met yesterday in my current running club from my first running club 9 years ago. At that time, he was into shorter distances (5k+). I used to run at similar pace with him, but he continued running and improve along the years, scaling up to HM. Now, doing 3.40/km for 5 x (1km + 0.4km) repeats w/ 2 min walk rest. Will be trying for sub 1.30 for the 2XU HM.
1) It takes more than just 1 or 2 muscle sngness / ache to conclude you are over-trained. There needs to be a constellation of other factors and usually the earliest signs are mood changes/swings and poor sleep quality due to hormonal unbalance.

2) Something which @zeroX26 taught me during my student days is the implementation of an "unloading week". He typically recommends a 3:1 ratio, meaning for 3 weeks you can increase your training load gradually (still sticking to the 10% rule), but on the 4th week you cut your training load by 25-40% depending how tired you are. Even if you are still feeling good, u still cut it by 25% so allow your body to recuperate and adapt. I suggest you try this.
Yeah I did something like point 2. Increased my mileage by 10% and then run at that same mileage for the following week to see whether I am alright with it. If I feel good, then increase another 10%.

botakchek

1) It takes more than just 1 or 2 muscle sngness / ache to conclude you are over-trained. There needs to be a constellation of other factors and usually the earliest signs are mood changes/swings and poor sleep quality due to hormonal unbalance.

2) Something which @zeroX26 taught me during my student days is the implementation of an "unloading week". He typically recommends a 3:1 ratio, meaning for 3 weeks you can increase your training load gradually (still sticking to the 10% rule), but on the 4th week you cut your training load by 25-40% depending how tired you are. Even if you are still feeling good, u still cut it by 25% so allow your body to recuperate and adapt. I suggest you try this.
Ok I try to do less and see. Thanks pro!

botakchek

Personally, I really think "recovery" is a concept that's very under-valued esp among Sporean runners. Most very Kiasee and Kiasu, think cut mileage or just totally do passive rest will cause their hard-earned running fitness to suddenly be gone :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Usually how many days of passive rest then fitness will Go down ?

ctan84

Usually how many days of passive rest then fitness will Go down ?
I'm quite out of touch with detraining studies liao, but I recall the early study design was very impractical one - they had athletes totally nuaing on bed not doing anything to measure the effect of passive rest on aerobic fitness. If you are keen on this subject you can google using key words "detraining effects endurance sports" and see what you get.

Kuudere

Did this yesterday (3km @ 10k pace, 4 x 800 @ HM)

3k goal pace: 4.11/km (10k)
3k actual pace: 4.03/km (4.04, 4.04, 4.00)

6 min rest

800s goal pace: 4.38/km (HM)
800s actual pace: 4.20/km (3.35, 3.30, 3.25, 3.22)

rest (1.06, 1.31, 1.09)
  • 3k was probably done around 7-8k race pace at the same average pace as my 8 x 1km w/ 3 min rest 2 weeks ago
  • 800s was done at cut-down from HM > 10k pace
  • Could've gun for sub 20 5km but wouldn't be able to complete the remaining 800s

Jeremy1

Yeah sundown last year was so bad I just could not continue. Thankfully no more plantar for now. I can't imagine plantar together with this calf strain

I used to have but cured.

Please take care n if can always protect your feet also by wearing plantar sandal at home.

I highly recommend Spenco.

WussRedXLi

Please take care n if can always protect your feet also by wearing plantar sandal at home.

For PF, i always go to my arcoxia / naproxen sodium......for arcoxia the dosage depends on the severity of the pain. But really is need to take the moment you feel it starting as a niggle. At least that works for me.
No episodes of delibitating pain that stopped me from training at all. This is aside from other things like strengthening (of coz you stop strengthening like your soleus/gastrocs during the PF episode lah).
But then again, some people might not like this way of taking NSAIDs.

sph777

For PF, i always go to my arcoxia / naproxen sodium......for arcoxia the dosage depends on the severity of the pain. But really is need to take the moment you feel it starting as a niggle. At least that works for me.
No episodes of delibitating pain that stopped me from training at all. This is aside from other things like strengthening (of coz you stop strengthening like your soleus/gastrocs during the PF episode lah).
But then again, some people might not like this way of taking NSAIDs.
Thanks! Glad that PF is gone! If it comes back will take both of your advice haha. Calf strengthening after the 2XU will probably help with the calf strain and PF issues

WussRedXLi

Did this yesterday (3km @ 10k pace, 4 x 800 @ HM)

3k goal pace: 4.11/km (10k)
3k actual pace: 4.03/km (4.04, 4.04, 4.00)

6 min rest

800s goal pace: 4.38/km (HM)
800s actual pace: 4.20/km (3.35, 3.30, 3.25, 3.22)

rest (1.06, 1.31, 1.09)
  • 3k was probably done around 7-8k race pace at the same average pace as my 8 x 1km w/ 3 min rest 2 weeks ago
  • 800s was done at cut-down from HM > 10k pace
  • Could've gun for sub 20 5km but wouldn't be able to complete the remaining 800s

Looking good. Finally time to hoot 11 mins for 3k liao.
Not sure if it's me, but i find it really hypnotic to run 3.xx pace, ie fast.

Ender

I do notice that in the Pfitzinger training plan I used 2 years back. About every 3 or 4 weeks will have a recovery week where it's the same training but with much less mileage.

Ender

Looking good. Finally time to hoot 11 mins for 3k liao.
Not sure if it's me, but i find it really hypnotic to run 3.xx pace, ie fast.
Probably that is what they call runner's high? I never experience before in my 15 years of running. Very elusive.

Ender

Thanks! Glad that PF is gone! If it comes back will take both of your advice haha. Calf strengthening after the 2XU will probably help with the calf strain and PF issues
I never had PF before. But I do think calves strengthening helps. Which I attribute to my past years of running minimalist. That was during the release of the book 'born to run' craze. The good thing is it really strengthen the calves, compoundly due to minimal to no support.

Ender

Long run...think it's about time to prep for AHM 10K as it's 4.5 months away?
You can still get discount for AHM? For me depends if the organiser still discriminate pes C. If I don't get the discount again, will skip.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.