jogging and motivation thread

ctan84

This 4X4 suppose to be done near VO2max pace. So is faster than threshold pace. That's why I say need to know your threshold as a guide. Problem is most runners, such as myself, don't know our VO2max pace since never did a VO2max lab test.
No need to know the lab test to know your VO2max pace bro. There are a few options:

1) 2.4km time trial

2) 800m field test: After a thorough warm-up, cheong all out for 800m, then jog as slow as you can for 400m, then cheong all out for another 800m. The 2nd set of 800m convert the time taken to speed you utilized. That's your VO2max pace.

3) Treadmill test. For this you need a treadmill that ideally can tahan up to 18-20km/hr. Keep incline at 1%. After a thorough warm-up, start at a very comfortable pace (usually recovery jog pace). Every 1min increase by 1km/hr until you KO. The last stage if you can hold > 45 secs will be your VO2max pace, otherwise minus 0.5km/hr from it as your VO2max pace. Ideally, the test should last between 8-10mins nia. If you want can record your HR as a secondary confirmation. As long the highest HR recorded is 5-10 beats > threshold pace, you can pretty much be assured you did hit VO2max lah.

Jeremy1

Fake shoes comparison.

I think fake sneakers still okay to buy cause it's more for walking but fake running shoes is really taking a high risk cause you will be using it for heavy duty which might hurt your leg if the shoes are not quality assurance.

Mecisteus

No need to know the lab test to know your VO2max pace bro. There are a few options:

1) 2.4km time trial

2) 800m field test: After a thorough warm-up, cheong all out for 800m, then jog as slow as you can for 400m, then cheong all out for another 800m. The 2nd set of 800m convert the time taken to speed you utilized. That's your VO2max pace.

3) Treadmill test. For this you need a treadmill that ideally can tahan up to 18-20km/hr. Keep incline at 1%. After a thorough warm-up, start at a very comfortable pace (usually recovery jog pace). Every 1min increase by 1km/hr until you KO. The last stage if you can hold > 45 secs will be your VO2max pace, otherwise minus 0.5km/hr from it as your VO2max pace. Ideally, the test should last between 8-10mins nia. If you want can record your HR as a secondary confirmation. As long the highest HR recorded is 5-10 beats > threshold pace, you can pretty much be assured you did hit VO2max lah.
The 1.5mile or 2.4km run cooper test is a very good approximation for v02max.

Garmin can also accurately estimate our v02max assuming we input max HR correctly. So make sure you input correct max HR into Garmin for more accurate training data.

ctan84

The 1.5mile or 2.4km run cooper test is a very good approximation for v02max.

Garmin can also accurately estimate our v02max assuming we input max HR correctly. So make sure you input correct max HR into Garmin for more accurate training data.
He's asking for the VO2max SPEED, not VO2max value. The value itself is of limited practical use one. What a runner wants is the speed that can induce a state of VO2max or what we call the Maximal Aerobic Speed. Think @zeroX26 talked about this b3fore.

Mecisteus

He's asking for the VO2max SPEED, not VO2max value. The value itself is of limited practical use one. What a runner wants is the speed that can induce a state of VO2max or what we call the Maximal Aerobic Speed. Think @zeroX26 talked about this b3fore.
Pace and value are related.

ctan84

Pace and value are related.
No they are not. Your VO2max value can stay stagnant, but the pace to induce a state of VO2max can continue to improve becoz of improved running economy. That's why Maximal Aerobic Speed is a way better predictor of endurance performance than VO2max.

binbinpon

No they are not. Your VO2max value can stay stagnant, but the pace to induce a state of VO2max can continue to improve becoz of improved running economy. That's why Maximal Aerobic Speed is a way better predictor of endurance performance than VO2max.
For those who are interested in science, traditionally endurance performance can be determined by 3 factors
1)Vo2max
2)lactate threshold,
3)running economy.

The correlation of vo2 max with endurance performance probably around 30-40%.

The latest consensus in 2022 involves 26 factors....lol. The 26 FENDLE factors comprised of five different clusters: i) physiology ii) nutrition, iii) injuries, iv) psychological traits and v)fatigue.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC9794057/#:~:text=Traditionally, three physiological factors have,), and iii) 'running

While vo2 max is affected by many variables, genes, gender, age, aerobic and anaerobic training, resistance training , altitude, body composition (lung, heart, muscle anatomy)...etc.

Maximal aerobic speed (MAS) is the lowest running speed at which VO2 max occurs. It is used to guide and monitor training load.

Hope this helps to clear the confusion.

Ender

Yes, I aws refering to the Vo2max pace which supposedly use for the 4x4 at 80-90%. of that pace.

Ender

1) 2.4km time trial

For a long while, I had suspected 2.4km can be a good indicator for the Vo2max pace. Because it is estimated this can be the all out pace for 10 to 12minutes, which falls right into the range of many singaporean who did NS.
I will just use the latest 2,4km result I did at OTH 2.4 challenge last year as my pace at VO2Max.

ctan84

For a long while, I had suspected 2.4km can be a good indicator for the Vo2max pace. Because it is estimated this can be the all out pace for 10 to 12minutes, which falls right into the range of many singaporean who did NS.
I will just use the latest 2,4km result I did at OTH 2.4 challenge last year as my pace at VO2Max.
How long ago was the 2.4km test? If it was > 6 months, and you have been consistently running from then, you might want to add 0.5km - 1km/hr to the pace coz some training adaptations would have set in liao.

Mecisteus

The original post was related to Garmin.

As far as Garmin is concerned, vo2max and pace are related.

Also, I've not come across MAS on Garmin.

Ender

Jack Daniel (JD)defines it a velocity at Vo2max or vVO2Max It may be related, but for different people is different. So two runners may have the same Vo2max, but their vVo2max can be different mostly due to Running economy, and hence he came out with the Vdot system that is base Vo2Max and running Economy.
Alot of high intensity training are base on the % this vVO2max like the 4x4 I mentioned. Again not many people know their vVo2max, which is why JD came out with VDOT, that helps runner to define what pace to run with what interval workout based on recent race results..
Similarly McMillan, has a popular running pace calculator for the amateur like us who just want someone to tell us, what pace should I do for sprint interval 400m or 800m, if my latest 5km result is 25mins. Or a 1,2km cruise interval, what should my pace be?

But if you go to running forum, People are talking about percentage of vVo2max on that high intensities runs they did. For average runner like me, the McMillan calculator is the easiest.

Ender

How long ago was the 2.4km test? If it was > 6 months, and you have been consistently running from then, you might want to add 0.5km - 1km/hr to the pace coz some training adaptations would have set in liao.
More than a year liao. I hardly do this type of chiong run unless there's a event.

ksapple

i still cannot reak my mental barrier.
At 2.5km i will stop, i will tell myself i cannot liao.

sph777

dunno how lol

I cannot walk awhile and start running/jogging again. The moment i start walk to me is consider done liao.
maybe can start by ignoring distance, closer to 2.5km, ignore looking at watch or phone and carry on running as you won't know u reached 2.5km

ksapple

maybe can start by ignoring distance, closer to 2.5km, ignore looking at watch or phone and carry on running as you won't know u reached 2.5km
sadly i run until i know where is 2.5km liao lol

I tried trying a new route and no look at my watch, end up i stop even earlier.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.