[CONSOLIDATED] Accident in Tampines: Multiple-vehicle collision at road junction, with 8 individuals sent to hospitals

cptkj

Confirm the driver will claim insanity or some mental illness, or insist he had a heart attack or stroke, lost consciousness, or that his accelerator/brakes are spoilt etc to mitigate his case

Otherwise he could be in jail for a very long time
later you see his defence lawyer, drama mama try to bring in the merc driver also. then the lawsuit drag long long liao

Teyemittisi

I shudder at the thought of the speeding Saab crashing into a bunch of road cyclists at the juncture.. the death numbers would be way higher

Ender

Not this car. They were travelling in the opp direction and was the first car the Saab impacted. Their car absorbed most of the impact.
Is it the one that turned turtle. That is also a black car, but I can't make out if it's a MPV that the 17yo girls' father drove. Ya, the turtled car is most jia lat in terms of damage.

Geminiboy

So it's the fault of the motorcyclists and not the speeding car fault? I wonder where did the brains go...
wtf. do you understand english at all before you made your stupid comment. don’t come challenge me here!

Smtsai

have not drove in Japan, but have been in private car/taxi there. the driving etiquette is way better. my experience in shanghai has also shown that the quality has huge gaps when compared to SG...
Driver in japan wont horn u even though they are already behind your ass to prevent from scaring you …. Over here from far already horn like his father road and point middle finger …

GreatPumpkin

If the judge is fair, even if the driver plead mental illness, sentence him to IMH for treatment, very sure he will recover faster than anyone could expect, then serve the remaining sentence in prison.
Tiagong mental hospitals had electric shock treatments in the past. Time to bring it back.

bakuten

Was the reason why the Saab was speeding revealed? I find it quite weird to speed on even after the 1st physical touch point from the white merc just before the crash. Would have expected Saab to at least slow down or sth but from video appear to keep going .
looks sus to me as well....

i rmb many years ago alot of Hyundai Sonata cabs also go full throttle by themselves and ending up in ditches and longkangs due to manufacturer fault IIRC.

let's not condemn the driver until we find out why the car moved in this weird manner.

also, RIP to the victims that passed and hope those who survived the accident get well soon.

Not even a month had passed since the 2 fairfield methodist school injured in road accident... now this tampines... what's wrong with Singapore, LTA, MHA (TP) -- do we really have too many kiddos to spare for road-kill ?!?
I suspect this maybe a sign of SG future, something like the mothman sightings in US... :(

Even the plate number ish the same as LW takeover date... :(

OdualO

wtf. do you understand english at all before you made your stupid comment. don’t come challenge me here!
Challenge simi? Nothing to challenge. Clear cut Speeding car fault want to blame other road user. There's traffic law and speed limit for a fuking reason.

titusilvering

aiafifahpix220424.jpg

Afifah Munirah Muhammad Azril was one of two killed in a six-vehicle accident at the junction of Tampines Avenue 1 and Avenue 4. PHOTO: HTTPS.AFIFAHAHA/INSTAGRAM

She was regarded by her peers and juniors as a “high-flyer”. In Primary 6, Afifah Munirah Muhammad Azril was the head prefect at Meridian Primary School in Pasir Ris.

In 2020, Afifah, then studying at Cedar Girls’ Secondary School, returned to her alma mater to nurture and speak to current students, a 12-year-old boy living in the same block as her in Pasir Ris told The Straits Times.

But the bright girl with so much potential met a tragic end in the morning of April 22. The Year 1 student of Temasek Junior College was one of two killed in a six-vehicle accident at the junction of Tampines Avenue 1 and Avenue 4.

At about 7am, Afifah, 17, was in her father’s car on the way to her college’s running event at Temasek Polytechnic when it was involved in the collision that landed eight other people in hospital.

Her young neighbour, a Primary 6 student at Meridian Primary who declined to be named, said: “When I was in Primary 1, I sensed that many teachers held her in high regard. She would lead the school in singing the national anthem and reciting the pledge. She was definitely a high-flyer.”

The boy’s father, a 41-year-old planner, said his family had returned in the afternoon after shopping for groceries in Johor Bahru.

When he reached home, he realised he had many missed messages on his mobile phone. Friends and relatives had alerted him about the fatal accident involving his neighbour’s daughter on the higher floor.

He immediately searched for more information on social media. The man, who also declined to be named, said: “When I saw the black MPV, my heart sank. I recognised it as my neighbour’s car. I would always bump into Mr Azril at the carpark and we would always engage in small talk.”

Mr Muhammad Azril is an officer in the Police Coast Guard, said his family members when ST visited his home on the 13th floor in the evening.

They were about to leave for the hospital just as a group of teenage girls arrived with food.

Afifah’s uncle, who gave his name only as Mr Firdaus, told ST that the family members were trying to cope with their loss.

He said Mr Azril was conscious in hospital and had suffered kidney- and spine-related injuries.

“Afifah was probably in the rear passenger seat. My brother (in-law) had just dropped off his wife at work and another daughter at her secondary school.

“They (Mr Azril and Afifah) were heading to Temasek Polytechnic for a cross-country event,” said Mr Firdaus, adding that his niece was in the science stream at Temasek Junior College.

On Cedar Girls’ Instagram page on Feb 9, 2024, Afifah was featured as one of the school’s outstanding graduates who had faced “formidable challenges that tested her resilience and determination”.

In a poignant reminder of life’s unpredictability, condolences were left by well-wishers on the same post after the accident.

Someone also left a bunch of flowers in the evening at a lamp post near the intersection where the tragedy occurred.

Another neighbour living on the 16th floor told ST that she had always met the friendly Afifah at the lift as they made their way to school in the morning. She was in Primary 2 when Afifah was in P6 at Meridian Primary.

Said the 13-year-old girl, who did not want to be named: “It was usually a ‘hi and bye’ affair in the lift. I just feel sad that my goodbye to her earlier this month was my last.”

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...lled-in-tampines-accident-was-bright-friendly
See her photos no wear seat belt.. Sad

cptkj

Driver in japan wont horn u even though they are already behind your ass to prevent from scaring you …. Over here from far already horn like his father road and point middle finger …
yah lor. they only use horn when absolute needed or emergency. will use hazard light to say thank you, etc etc. sian, maybe is time there should be more requirements to get license ah

Chris008

if they wanted to race each other or fight then get off to fight. Why hurt other innocent road users. The white car driver should also be taken off the road, he’s a danger to others.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.