[CONSOLIDATED] Accident in Tampines: Multiple-vehicle collision at road junction, with 8 individuals sent to hospitals

simkahkeat

There were 2 deaths? The JC girl and the auntie? I read the auntie is from the pest control van, how about the JC girl? Not from the red light beating car right?
From another video, you can see a Honda stream with a roof rack moving across the junction, but was T boned by the black Saab, the speed and the loud bang is scary, I believe the passenger side is the JC girl and the driver is the father. However news from this thread says the father might have died. ( need to confirm )

Nuclear Boy

There were 2 deaths? The JC girl and the auntie? I read the auntie is from the pest control van, how about the JC girl? Not from the red light beating car right?
No, she was a passenger in one of the cars hit at that junction. Her father (driver) was injured and warded.

JigSaw

We can argue until the cow comes home but the fact is the sideswipe and the beating of red light are 2 separate incidents.

Saab driver wants to drive fast, then he better be prepared to face the consequences of endangering others and himself.

GLC43 wants to stop him from overtaking, he better be prepared to be sideswiped.

Those putting blame on the GLC43 probably thinks that everyone on the road is an angel - which is not the case. If I were the GLC43, I would see myself as a victim of getting sideswiped and being flamed online.

Pohpiahskin

Thanks for all your info, very sad case. Really hope there is closure for the families. Only can say that driver is bloody stupid.

Nuclear Boy

Seeing that the two deaths are in positions I find myself in when I tumpang others' ride (front pax seat, sitting free in the back of a panel van), it just reminds me that if something will happen, nothing can save me. Not the first time afterall. :(

savoirex

driving already v stressful, nao habe to lookout for kamakazi siao langs when driving across traffic jn... :s22:

Nuclear Boy

Thanks for all your info, very sad case. Really hope there is closure for the families. Only can say that driver is bloody stupid.
SAAB driver ought to be put behind bars for some prolonged time, kena rotan gaogao, then banned from ever driving again.

The blood of 2 lives on his hands, I hope he never get to sleep well at night ever.

Nuclear Boy

driving already v stressful, nao habe to lookout for kamakazi siao langs when driving across traffic jn... :s22:
Bobian, it's called 'defensive driving' for a reason. Whether or not you do things right, all it takes is an idiot to get in your way.

lordofshanghai

I want to add my analysis to this:

If you watch the video carefully of the white merc dashcam- based on lamp post calculation at the start, he is only travelling between 50-60km/h before he reach the bus stop area In the video.

The SAAB behind is overtaking other cars at most at 60-70km, not crazy fast.

If you observe further, the white merc Increased his speed (likely because he saw the SAAB snaking behind), from about 60km/h to what this post mentioned, around 85km/h. Subsequently the post's calculation is accurate- they accelerated side by side to about 100km/h before the white merc getting side swiped. The SAAB continued accelerating to about 135km/h to impact.

While the black SAABs is 100% in the wrong and in no way am I defending this shithead, it is safe to say that the white merc agitated the unnecessary speeding from the SAAB.

There is a direct cause and effect on the part of the white merc- if he did not agitate, the SAAB may not have accelerated to that speed (yes he was snaking erratically, but not at a lethal speed as seen at start of video), may not have been distracted by the tunnel vision of having to overtake the other car, and may not have crashed at a lethal speed, amongst many other whatifs.

It is however clear that if the white merc did not agitate a race, things would definitely turn out differently, lives may not need to be lost.

I really wish more commentors of this would call out the merc for his ego driving behaviour- it's like agitating a crazed person operating a dangerous weapon to use it even more dangerously. What for? While white merc may not wrong in eyes of the law, he is definitely culpable morally.
takes two hands to clap lo.
singapore road, these days alot of bad drivers and reckless driving..
instead of increase GST, if gov just focus on road safety and catching these reckless drivers, set fines of 10% of their annual salary, or $1000 per time, whichever is higher, am sure they can get alot of revenue and alot more safe drivers

Jirachi

Bobian, it's called 'defensive driving' for a reason. Whether or not you do things right, all it takes is an idiot to get in your way.
Actually, this incident is really wrong place wrong time. No matter how defensive one is, really cannot expect this type of nonsensical driver torpedo into a junction just like that.

Really. Anyone could be a victim here. The pedestrians who are crossing the roads included.

Nuclear Boy

Actually, this incident is really wrong place wrong time. No matter how defensive one is, really cannot expect this type of nonsensical driver torpedo into a junction just like that.

Really. Anyone could be a victim here. The pedestrians who are crossing the roads included.
Exactly my point... One can only do their best, and hope for the best from other road users.

duatiaoloh

Merc driver come out check his vehicle and drove off in the vid
Does not look like checking his vehicle. He was searching for something.
He claimed that is not him. He don't have money to buy Mercedes. But of course no one actually will know.

Feck he actually left the scene. Stop but did not render assistance.
Hey guys, don't you find it strange, how the Mercedes driver just left the scene like that? He didn’t even bother to get the Saab driver’s details, nor did he seem to be interested in claiming insurance from the other party, which is what any typical driver would do.

Jirachi

Hey guys, don't you find it strange, the merc driver just drove off like that. Didn't even want to take down the Saab driver particulars and didn't even want to claim the other party insurance?
I don’t know what’s happening there. But the Anthony guy also very suspicious. He claimed he is not the owner of the Mercedes GLC43. But his photos are full of Mercedes cars.

savoirex

the saab driver dunno how riao, ish critical or icu? since the honda stream driver kena sho jialat, the saab bang sho many cars, the driver cld be in a similar or worse condition...

Alphas

Taxi also quite a number of accidents and hurt or killed the passengers.

Bus n MRT even if got accident, the car will flied off first and the bus passengers should be injured maybe but will not died. MRT also too.
Previous case when a Honda car rammed into the side of a SBS bus, one ah Ma died as the result. SBS bus is not built like a tank, any collision can result in death.

cyke69sg

aiafifahpix220424.jpg

Afifah Munirah Muhammad Azril was one of two killed in a six-vehicle accident at the junction of Tampines Avenue 1 and Avenue 4. PHOTO: HTTPS.AFIFAHAHA/INSTAGRAM

She was regarded by her peers and juniors as a “high-flyer”. In Primary 6, Afifah Munirah Muhammad Azril was the head prefect at Meridian Primary School in Pasir Ris.

In 2020, Afifah, then studying at Cedar Girls’ Secondary School, returned to her alma mater to nurture and speak to current students, a 12-year-old boy living in the same block as her in Pasir Ris told The Straits Times.

But the bright girl with so much potential met a tragic end in the morning of April 22. The Year 1 student of Temasek Junior College was one of two killed in a six-vehicle accident at the junction of Tampines Avenue 1 and Avenue 4.

At about 7am, Afifah, 17, was in her father’s car on the way to her college’s running event at Temasek Polytechnic when it was involved in the collision that landed eight other people in hospital.

Her young neighbour, a Primary 6 student at Meridian Primary who declined to be named, said: “When I was in Primary 1, I sensed that many teachers held her in high regard. She would lead the school in singing the national anthem and reciting the pledge. She was definitely a high-flyer.”

The boy’s father, a 41-year-old planner, said his family had returned in the afternoon after shopping for groceries in Johor Bahru.

When he reached home, he realised he had many missed messages on his mobile phone. Friends and relatives had alerted him about the fatal accident involving his neighbour’s daughter on the higher floor.

He immediately searched for more information on social media. The man, who also declined to be named, said: “When I saw the black MPV, my heart sank. I recognised it as my neighbour’s car. I would always bump into Mr Azril at the carpark and we would always engage in small talk.”

Mr Muhammad Azril is an officer in the Police Coast Guard, said his family members when ST visited his home on the 13th floor in the evening.

They were about to leave for the hospital just as a group of teenage girls arrived with food.

Afifah’s uncle, who gave his name only as Mr Firdaus, told ST that the family members were trying to cope with their loss.

He said Mr Azril was conscious in hospital and had suffered kidney- and spine-related injuries.

“Afifah was probably in the rear passenger seat. My brother (in-law) had just dropped off his wife at work and another daughter at her secondary school.

“They (Mr Azril and Afifah) were heading to Temasek Polytechnic for a cross-country event,” said Mr Firdaus, adding that his niece was in the science stream at Temasek Junior College.

On Cedar Girls’ Instagram page on Feb 9, 2024, Afifah was featured as one of the school’s outstanding graduates who had faced “formidable challenges that tested her resilience and determination”.

In a poignant reminder of life’s unpredictability, condolences were left by well-wishers on the same post after the accident.

Someone also left a bunch of flowers in the evening at a lamp post near the intersection where the tragedy occurred.

Another neighbour living on the 16th floor told ST that she had always met the friendly Afifah at the lift as they made their way to school in the morning. She was in Primary 2 when Afifah was in P6 at Meridian Primary.

Said the 13-year-old girl, who did not want to be named: “It was usually a ‘hi and bye’ affair in the lift. I just feel sad that my goodbye to her earlier this month was my last.”

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...lled-in-tampines-accident-was-bright-friendly
SG so dangerous. @AuraKUPO
So many people get killed everyday.
I dont see such news in Calgary so often.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.