SIA instead of topping up govt reserves paid themselves handsomely like investment bankers

rider83

You obviously don't understand how a company with shareholders work... Zzzzz

1. Government never gave free money to SIA during COVID

They subscribed to their bonds

2. A company with Global shareholders cannot just transfer money to a government as they wish

They cannot redeem the bond earlier? It is legal and can do as they wish right?

Milodrink

2. A company with Global shareholders cannot just transfer money to a government as they wish

So how does them subscription to bonds affect civilians?

K202020K

Heavy losses in our reserves de to SIA planes sitting idly in nevada
And pilots sitting at home shake legs collect hdouts
Nw they forgot about the free cash donation they are greedy
PAP's 3rd generation leadership's grave mistake. That's why need 9% GST today : (

elvintay07

Heavy losses in our reserves de to SIA planes sitting idly in nevada

And pilots sitting at home shake legs collect hdouts

Nw they forgot about the free cash donation they are greedy
No choice one la. Everyone for themselves. Ancient movie already taught us. Today you see 1 guy going to die of hunger, you give him 1/2 biscuit and he survived. Years later he becomes very rich, he forgot about you. 😝

Cmonster

Key word is Government subscribed to their bond. If the Government did not subscribe, do others have subscribed? The answer is.........
You are asking a hypothetical question

But based on the yield offered, and the quality of SIA , i believe people like Blackrock would have subscribed

Cmonster

They cannot redeem the bond earlier? It is legal and can do as they wish right?
Bond redeemed one year ago liao. No more outstanding

Edited to add in timeline:

full redemption announced on 15 May 2024

to redeem on 24 June 2024

so technically it has not been fully redeemed, but is announced

Cmonster

So how does them subscription to bonds affect civilians?
It does not affect negatively at all. Unless SIA went bankrupt and defaulted on the bonds

In fact Singaporeans benefited from the bond subscription, because SIA paid a high yield to the government, and this money went into our reserves

Tony.Manero

Airfare too ex and economy class meal and seat cmi. Even the krisworld entertainment also cut cost. One album only got 5 songs lol. Even biz class meal also cmi and cheap if you never book the cook
Yet all the kumgong sinkies continue to swear by and fly sia. Isn't surprising coz sinkies are known to be kumgong max

nachtsid.er

Already paid back in 23 if you bother to read their financial reports
Sour bbfas here behave like their $1 very big

parchiao

A certain amount of money was taken out of the pool of money that Temasek manages.

The part that was used to invest in SIA bonds has not been repaid in full.

The part that was used to subscribed for additional SIA shares, the majority cannot be returned as Temasek has to maintain SIA as a subsidiary.

standarture

SIA fired so many people during covid. Even my malaysian friend had to go back malaysia work.

Cmonster

A certain amount of money was taken out of the pool of money that Temasek manages.

The part that was used to invest in SIA bonds has not been repaid in full.

The part that was used to subscribed for additional SIA shares, the majority cannot be returned as Temasek has to maintain SIA as a subsidiary.
Temasek subscribed to the SIA rights issue using Singaporeans money at $3 per share

Please go check SGX for the current SIA share price , thank you

parchiao

SIA did not rob any. The government made the wise choice to buy the offered bonds.

They got repaid when the bonds matured and earned too. Temasek holdings also got richer from the rise of SIA shares. You all did not buy SIA shares, cry father and cry mother now?

Can show me when the 2021 MCB redeemed? Only the 2020 fully redeemed If I recall correctly.

The other problem is that even though SIA share price goes up, Temasek can only sell the shares in excess of 50% as it needs to maintain SIA as a subsidiary.

So paper profit means nothing if the money cannot be used.

parchiao

Temasek subscribed to the SIA rights issue using Singaporeans money at $3 per share

Please go check SGX for the current SIA share price , thank you

This shows you have zero understanding of cashflow.

So what if the share price goes up? Can Temasek sell off part of its holdings and get back the money in full? If it does that, Temasek will loose control of SIA. Temasek can only sell off anything in excess of 50.01%.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.