SIMBA Fibre Broadband

sky1978

Did they state the customers' equipment need to support this speed too? If not then it is misleading.

Already got 1 user here asking why cannot get 2.5gbps. Expect more to ask such questions.

As per my understanding, the 1Gbps, 2.5Gbps, or 10Gbps are bandwidth speed capacities rather than single-device speeds. They did not sell it as a single device capable of achieving those speeds. Two users can concurrently use separate 1Gbps LAN connections and saturate the 2.5Gbps connection together.

If we look at the exact marketing wording, one of the 10Gbps ISPs markets it as "an ultra-smooth and reliable connection for 4+ users and devices". It didn't say a single device will hit 10Gbps.

In reality, and taking into account the current stage of development, other than speed testing with the servers (assuming they can take those speeds), no single productive activity is capable of using the full 2.5Gbps or 1Gbps speed. Can we download YouTube videos and files from OneDrive, Google Drive, etc., at those 2.5Gbps speeds?

hyper_megaman

Hey so I read through the entire thread.

SIMBA BB uses CGNAT, that's fine. I'm on MR right now, which is CGNAT too. No issues.

But can't find info about whether SIMBA throttles bandwidth or not. Can anyone comment?

twosix

As per my understanding, the 1Gbps, 2.5Gbps, or 10Gbps are bandwidth speed capacities rather than single-device speeds. They did not sell it as a single device capable of achieving those speeds. Two users can concurrently use separate 1Gbps LAN connections and saturate the 2.5Gbps connection together.

If we look at the exact marketing wording, one of the 10Gbps ISPs markets it as "an ultra-smooth and reliable connection for 4+ users and devices". It didn't say a single device will hit 10Gbps.

In reality, and taking into account the current stage of development, other than speed testing with the servers (assuming they can take those speeds), no single productive activity is capable of using the full 2.5Gbps or 1Gbps speed. Can we download YouTube videos and files from OneDrive, Google Drive, etc., at those 2.5Gbps speeds?
But not what the end users expects. They expect speedtest to show 2.5gbps. And this is where the issue is. They will start asking why they cannot get the advertised speed. The tech savvy ones know, but not everyone is tech savvy.

alex22

Did they state the customers' equipment need to support this speed too? If not then it is misleading.

Already got 1 user here asking why cannot get 2.5gbps. Expect more to ask such questions.
@twosix
https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/articles/26549037502361-Is-the-2-5Gbps-bandwidth-aggregated

Then

https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/a...my-existing-Wi-Fi-router-with-fibre-broadband

And

For unaddressed there's
https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/requests/new

Of course, one can deny anything and just sign off and claim anything that their Critical Information Summary provides didn't see too small to read, too non-layman whatever

twosix

@twosix
https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/articles/26549037502361-Is-the-2-5Gbps-bandwidth-aggregated

Then

https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/a...my-existing-Wi-Fi-router-with-fibre-broadband

And

For unaddressed there's
https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/requests/new

Of course, one can deny anything and just sign off and claim anything that their Critical Information Summary provides didn't see too small to read, too non-layman whatever
I do not know why you quoted these articles for me. My definition of personel equipment includes laptops, pc, nas etc. Router i believe is common sense need to be able to support 2.5gbps or more..

rider83

Does Simba support Google Wifi Mesh system?

I asked this because last time I go this Mesh system from Starhub then i wanted to switch to Singtel. Singtel told me their home internet does not support Google Mesh (i not tech savvy so i believed). So up till now if i want to switch i would like to check first

xiaofan

Does Simba support Google Wifi Mesh system?

I asked this because last time I go this Mesh system from Starhub then i wanted to switch to Singtel. Singtel told me their home internet does not support Google Mesh (i not tech savvy so i believed). So up till now if i want to switch i would like to check first

SIMBA is using ONT without VLAN, so Google Mesh is okay.

Google mesh is quite bad in terms of features -- so it is not a good match for Singtel users. It is also not a good match for ONR (eg: WC 2.5Gbps plan).
1) It does not support Singtel VLAN -- so it can not be used by Singtel ONT users
2) It does not support mesh in AP mode -- so it is not a good option for Singtel ONR users. You have to use Double NAT and the point needs to be connected to the main node and not Singtel ONR.

rider83

SIMBA is using ONT without VLAN, so Google Mesh is okay.

Google mesh is quite bad in terms of features -- so it is not a good match for Singtel users. It is also not a good match for ONR (eg: WC 2.5Gbps plan).
1) It does not support Singtel VLAN -- so it can not be used by Singtel ONT users
2) It does not support mesh in AP mode -- so it is not a good option for Singtel ONR users. You have to use Double NAT and the point needs to be connected to the main node and not Singtel ONR.

Thank u!

xiaofan

【淘宝】
https://m.tb.cn/h.g2mAjuBczlYBMCw?tk=PwgJWvZEbkD
CZ0000 「asus/华硕 TUF 小旋风 Pro WiFi7 BE6500路由器 无线网千兆mesh组网wifi7路由器全2.5g电竞路由器6500M」
This modem good?

It is supposed to be good but there may be some initial FW issues.

The following review says the CPU utilization is on the high side compared to the trusted Asus China TX-AX6000.
https://www.acwifi.net/27580.html

We may need to wait for more reviews and firmware updates to see if this is a better buy than the highly rated 华硕天选路由器Asus TX-AX6000.

Take note AsusTUF 小旋风 Pro WiFi7 BE6500 is a China version WiFi 7 router, without 6GHz and 320MHz channel bandwidth support. The support of MLO may not be that useful in terms of speed boost since you only get 2.4GHz+5GHz. It may help on the latency and reliability side for low signal area.

I will still tend to think Asus will update the firmware to sort out the issues.

BTW, compare to AsusTUF 小旋风 Pro WiFi7 BE6500, I will for sure not recommended the lower end Asus TUF 小旋风 WiFi7 BE3600 unless using it as a mesh node.

slash

Thanks a lot bro! Didn't know my router can configure this. But think due to my limited networking knowledge, can't seem to get it working.
Tried dual wan, load balancing with wan1 WC + wan2 MR or both wan1 & 2 WC, also cannot achieve desired result, slower than using normal 1Gpbs port alone... :(
From router admin can see the wireless connection to router TX rate is 1800-2100mbps, but actual speed test cmi.

Ah, thanks to Xiaofan who mentioned about another user (zexiang) achieved >1Gbps for Whizcomms.

I buey gum guan, tried Dual WAN load balancing again and got it :D

ISP: Whizcomms 2.5Gbps (aggregated speed)
Router: Asus Tuf AX6000
PC: Old i7 + 64GB ram
LAN cable: Old Cat6
WIFI adapter: TP-Link TX3000

WIFI test (my usual was 700+ for 1Gbps):

LAN test:

Router dual wan setup:

The 'Auto network detection' settings I'm not sure what is the correct setting, anyone can advise? Thanks!

Mach3.2

The 'Auto network detection' settings I'm not sure what is the correct setting, anyone can advise? Thanks!
Doesn't matter since it's from the same ONT/ONR. ONR die both ports will go out at the same time.

I would ping every few seconds then lower the failure count from 6 to maybe 2 or 3.

alex22

Ah, thanks to Xiaofan who mentioned about another user (zexiang) achieved >1Gbps for Whizcomms.

I buey gum guan, tried Dual WAN load balancing again and got it :D

ISP: Whizcomms 2.5Gbps (aggregated speed)
Router: Asus Tuf AX6000
PC: Old i7 + 64GB ram
LAN cable: Old Cat6
WIFI adapter: TP-Link TX3000

WIFI test (my usual was 700+ for 1Gbps):

LAN test:

Router dual wan setup:

I tot is 2x 2.5 simba lol
Even double nat also can de on WC for speed test. Pity the source limited to 1GE per WAN.
If u wired test can hit closer to 2Gbps with the appropriate pairing too.

But if its same source, WAN fail then since is one IP then both WAN will fail unless different isp, barring other problems outside ur control

@slash
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/tl-xtr7880.6722433/post-151597280

slash

I tot is 2x 2.5 simba lol
Even double nat also can de on WC for speed test. Pity the source limited to 1GE per WAN.
If u wired test can hit closer to 2Gbps with the appropriate pairing too.

But if its same source, WAN fail then since is one IP then both WAN will fail unless different isp, barring other problems outside ur control

@slash
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/tl-xtr7880.6722433/post-151597280
lol. Your tests looks v chim to me...
My devices are quite old to hit anywhere close to 2Gbps.
Objective is to test combining 2x 1Gbps from WC ONR to get more than the 1Gbps with my current equipment.

DNS thingy I'm not familiar. Think the ZTE ONR is not able to let me test the 'WAN aggregation'...

For 21.80 per month I'm happy. And to think I've paid so much for 1Gbps for so long... 😵

Wataru

Hi, just want to check if anyone has any issues, or is using any ASUS routers on the SIMBA 2.5G plan?

alex22

lol. Your tests looks v chim to me...
My devices are quite old to hit anywhere close to 2Gbps.
Objective is to test combining 2x 1Gbps from WC ONR to get more than the 1Gbps with my current equipment.

DNS thingy I'm not familiar. Think the ZTE ONR is not able to let me test the 'WAN aggregation'...

For 21.80 per month I'm happy. And to think I've paid so much for 1Gbps for so long... 😵
My "Wan aggregation" is named "Load balance" on ur side.
Only my router speaks Chinese so look more complicated really.

Bro i still paying 26 for wc 2.5GE hor

Smurfy

Anyone facing simba internet having video keep pausing issue?
Using it with starhub TV keep getting video buffering.

Jialat sia if this continue.
Using speedtest from simba to StarHub and Singtel server all d/l less than 50Mbps.

slash

Anyone facing simba internet having video keep pausing issue?
Using it with starhub TV keep getting video buffering.

Jialat sia if this continue.
Using speedtest from simba to StarHub and Singtel server all d/l less than 50Mbps.
This is really bad. Try restarting everything.
What was the technician's test speed during installation?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.