Best DSLR camera for travel

reiser

Still got ppl use DSLR?
Because I think hp camera is a different ballgame from DSLR. My hp pics look like I have never used a hp before. Everybody in the family thinks the pics I take are horrible. They didn’t have such complaints when I was using a DSLR.

BigMonkey

iEyes, can recall at any instance and can last a life time for meaningful event.

zoossh

50mm is nice if u have Full Frame..

its horrible on APS-C
It really all depends on your standing distance and how tight u prefer the shot

I often shoot with “cropping” off of the forehead. Perhaps it is unorthodox

but agree that 35-50mm is great for environmental portrait that u want to show some surrounding

zoossh

aps-c. cursory inspection is decently sharp towards corners at wide open. I had a blast using them in near pitch darkness wide open high iso recently. last trip to jp i wasnt allowed to use tripod for the gundam show or temple night illumination so basically shot them mostly wide open.....
I wonder if monopod allowed.

that said I dunno how much it helps and I had never seen anyone used it before

RockaRolla

nowadays if you go touristy places with dslr, be prepared that you may get asked alot of times by other people to help take their photos
because of mirrorless and phones, people now see dslr user as some zai fotographer lol

zoossh

nowadays if you go touristy places with dslr, be prepared that you may get asked alot of times by other people to help take their photos
because of mirrorless and phones, people now see dslr user as some zai fotographer lol
lol u sure or not ?

got people tell me dslr shoot street photo will be given more respect and deem less weirdo suspicious etc … but I wonder if that is true

WW1 Flying Ace

I tio that while in Tokyo. I was admiring the different spring flowers, violas and lilacs, then got someone ask me to help take using their phone.

When I looked up and saw it was a lao kwei atb, I sian one half :(

xdivider

I wonder if monopod allowed.

that said I dunno how much it helps and I had never seen anyone used it before
its not going to add more than 1-2 stops. chances are if u can find a rubbish bin its probably much more stable.......

zoossh

I tio that while in Tokyo. I was admiring the different spring flowers, violas and lilacs, then got someone ask me to help take using their phone.

When I looked up and saw it was a lao kwei at, I sian one half :(
Ask if they have pretty dotters to intro

just kidding

xdivider

When I looked up and saw it was a lao kwei atb, I sian one half :(
i really hate people asking me to take pic. half the time if its iphones and i dun even use them......

WW1 Flying Ace

I only hate myself if I fail to take a good picture for others
I hate only if it's a dino or lao kwei bu, or any guy/ghey

If it's a xmm or at least decent looking bu, I will feel honoured to be asked for help :(

reiser

Haha, yeah. People asked me to help them use their hp take photos when they see me using a dslr. They thought if you use a dslr, you must be very good with any kind of camera.

saggice

Unfortunately Sony sizes are getting bigger and bigger. Went to Sony centre to molest an A7r5, it is way heftier than my current A7r. It is even bigger than the A1. At this rate they are going to become nearly as colossal as a DSLR..
Sony-a7R-vs-Sony-a7R-II-vs-Sony-a7R-III-vs-Sony-a7R-IV-camera-size-comparison-2-768x294.jpg

Detractors complained about the early Sony shallow grip. I rather have a tiny full frame with option to add on small rigs or batt grips than to be stuck with bulk.
Dun usually hear Leica folks complain about ergonomics when they dun even have an integrated "grip"

wow thanks
didnt realised but it seems like it was due to having a bigger grip that people complained...

my next europe trip - I'm really contemplating what camera to bring. hahha

RyanJ

wow thanks
didnt realised but it seems like it was due to having a bigger grip that people complained...

my next europe trip - I'm really contemplating what camera to bring. hahha

Woa ur A7r5 is a powerhouse, still hunting for another ? :grin:

Any smaller it will be the A7cr.

die

Unfortunately Sony sizes are getting bigger and bigger. Went to Sony centre to molest an A7r5, it is way heftier than my current A7r. It is even bigger than the A1. At this rate they are going to become nearly as colossal as a DSLR..

Sony-a7R-vs-Sony-a7R-II-vs-Sony-a7R-III-vs-Sony-a7R-IV-camera-size-comparison-2-768x294.jpg

Detractors complained about the early Sony shallow grip. I rather have a tiny full frame with option to add on small rigs or batt grips than to be stuck with bulk.

Dun usually hear Leica folks complain about ergonomics when they dun even have an integrated "grip"
that is why a7 good enough le ...

saggice

Woa ur A7r5 is a powerhouse, still hunting for another ?
biggrin.gif

Any smaller it will be the A7cr.

yes prob just a light lens to go with, lime 35mm-

but the thought of bringing a minimum 6L camera bag is... *lazy*. btw I'm also a hobbyist not a pro.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.