jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Vdot is a good indicator of current performance. It does give an indicator over a period of time especially if you don't really improve much and stagnate.

The way I see it is more of predicting future performance especially for runners that are new/haven't run consistently with high mileage but are looking to do so in future. For example, my Vdot now is 55 (low 19 min based on Garmin), but I run 4 x 800m (2.4km pace) w/ equal rest at 2.48 average. That translates into a sub-18 minute 5k pace.

Sub-18 minute is achievable for me only if I continue to focus on 3/5k specific workouts. And this must be done over couple of years. Also, includes training plan adjustments like increasing mileage and cutting down pace during interval sessions.
Yes, it's the measurement of current running capability. As I said once plateau and your VO2max is not improving, that is it. No youtube training is going to get you that sub 20 goal for most people. In general people of mid 40s to 50s the average runner with years of training don't go above 50 for Vdot. Just hope people stop saying this and that training is going to get you your sub 20. It is not happening for most ordinary folks.

For you, you are young and naturally better gifted than most of us. You haven't plateau yet, and highly likely to see better timing aheads with your training.

Ender

I run very slow only :sad:

Actually, need endurance :sad:
Even walking in this hot sun, I have issue. LOL... That day, 1pm, I used shares bike to go out for lunch, come back whole body wet. Somemore I rode thru PCN, so it''s like 30 % shade.

WussRedXLi

to me sustainable exercise is the key to a balance. Is it something u can do everyday or every other day post recovery. If doing that 500km can be a weekly event and no health damage then is okay.

Cannot lah...... my weekly mileage is around 250km and can feel recovery aspect is jialat, ie my legs never feel fully rested. 500km in 18 hrs (ie with timing) is no joke, you probably need to recover 3 weeks, from what i see on T100 triathletes. 500km, that's probably more than a full ironman in energy expenditure.

That is in addition to around 25km of running mileage.
My cycling sessions are daily, but vast majority pretty low HR / RPE. Basically just joy rides listen to music and see chio bus. But peppered in there are sprints/surges. eg I usually gun 1.5km at Bay East Garden....as to how many intervals i do like that, depends on the mood.

That is also probably why i have had no real progress in my running TT timings as well. (5 and 10k)
Insufficient recovery

But that is fine, coz no running race events etc anyway.

Jeremy1

Even walking in this hot sun, I have issue. LOL... That day, 1pm, I used shares bike to go out for lunch, come back whole body wet. Somemore I rode thru PCN, so it''s like 30 % shade.

Yes, luckily got some shelter but today the sun is still not at it's strongest.

Luckily, got some clouds.

WussRedXLi

Yes, luckily got some shelter but today the sun is still not at it's strongest.

Luckily, got some clouds.

Im contemplating whether or not to go for 2nd session later at evening. Weather seems ok, strong wind, so probably cools off stuff. Scattered showers all over SG also.
But i think the rain front is gonna clear by 6-6.30pm

Tomorrow need to work, very moody. :frown:

Jeremy1

Im contemplating whether or not to go for 2nd session later at evening. Weather seems ok, strong wind, so probably cools off stuff. Scattered showers all over SG also.
But i think the rain front is gonna clear by 6-6.30pm

Tomorrow need to work, very moody. :frown:

Yes, it's windy now 👍🏻

I think can go :s21:

Kuudere

Yes, it's the measurement of current running capability. As I said once plateau and your VO2max is not improving, that is it. No youtube training is going to get you that sub 20 goal for most people. In general people of mid 40s to 50s the average runner with years of training don't go above 50 for Vdot. Just hope people stop saying this and that training is going to get you your sub 20. It is not happening for most ordinary folks.

For you, you are young and naturally better gifted than most of us. You haven't plateau yet, and highly likely to see better timing aheads with your training.
Actually some youtube videos are helpful. I found Top of the Line Running to be a good coaching video. He suggests build up intervals workouts for general 5K/10K training. Also, predictor workouts like 3k threshold run/1.2k intervals for the 5K. I don't follow 100% of it but adapted a lot of my workouts from his videos.

This guy also assesses performance based on current running abilities. There's nothing wrong if can't hit sub 20 and continue to enjoy running.

I try to approach running cautiously, because I seen quite a number of peers getting injured in chasing running goals. Slowly progress, don't gek qiang aim for so much.
KNN talking about running events, i think no more AHM this year liao.
I hearsay about this leak back in April after 2XU. Heard from a mutual friend that this year no sundown + AHM. Don't know how true is that so didn't want to share it here until it's fully confirmed since both events take place every year.

Ender

sama sama 🤣
old liao, no longer go for speed. health is first priority
Take care of your old injuries important while running.
Any way good to add in one session of speed work a week. Not to say must improve speed (got improve then bonus), but to mitigate the VO2max degradation due to aging. We want to hold on to it as long as possible.

xllms

Take care of your old injuries important while running.
Any way good to add in one session of speed work a week. Not to say must improve speed (got improve then bonus), but to mitigate the VO2max degradation due to aging. We want to hold on to it as long as possible.
resting now, ankle didn't feel good after my friday run. Will review day by day to see when i feel better to run again. Right ankle now too fragile to go fast, i think. even with ankle brace, i have mental phobia.

Ender

Actually some youtube videos are helpful. I found Top of the Line Running to be a good coaching video. He suggests build up intervals workouts for general 5K/10K training. Also, predictor workouts like 3k threshold run/1.2k intervals for the 5K. I don't follow 100% of it but adapted a lot of my workouts from his videos.

This guy also assesses performance based on current running abilities. There's nothing wrong if can't hit sub 20 and continue to enjoy running.
Ya, I watched YouTube channel too, there are real running channels which I follow too. Will check out this 'top of line' after SCSM.

Agree nothing wrong with not getting sub 20. I hope you didn't misread me in this. Coz I have been running consistently for 15 years without this goal. So not at all bothered with this lack of capability.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.