jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

I just google and check and look like the full marathon cut off time is not the same for all events in Singapore n Overseas.

galvin

Actually some youtube videos are helpful. I found Top of the Line Running to be a good coaching video. He suggests build up intervals workouts for general 5K/10K training. Also, predictor workouts like 3k threshold run/1.2k intervals for the 5K. I don't follow 100% of it but adapted a lot of my workouts from his videos.

This guy also assesses performance based on current running abilities. There's nothing wrong if can't hit sub 20 and continue to enjoy running.

I try to approach running cautiously, because I seen quite a number of peers getting injured in chasing running goals. Slowly progress, don't gek qiang aim for so much.

I hearsay about this leak back in April after 2XU. Heard from a mutual friend that this year no sundown + AHM. Don't know how true is that so didn't want to share it here until it's fully confirmed since both events take place every year.
They announced AHM 23 on 5th June last year. Yea until now no news.

Maybe coz of all those downgraded ppl complain that they cannot get subsidized rates. There was this big hoohaa last year.

Sad if no AHM this year. One of the easier and cheapest events to get finisher tee lol.

dreamaurora

I just google and check and look like the full marathon cut off time is not the same for all events in Singapore n Overseas.
Singapore is tropical city, of course the cut off time is more generous lar. Larger marathon also because often the runners are released in waves.

I want to try Seoul Marathon next year. That one the cutoff time is 5 hours and have to submit proof of a successful under 5 hrs marathon to participate. Hope I can do it later this year in Hanoi.

WussRedXLi

Im contemplating whether or not to go for 2nd session later at evening. Weather seems ok, strong wind, so probably cools off stuff. Scattered showers all over SG also.
But i think the rain front is gonna clear by 6-6.30pm

Tomorrow need to work, very moody. :frown:
Yes, it's windy now 👍🏻

I think can go :s21:

Weather not too bad. Not super cooling but it is not very humid. 27.7 deg C and 70% RH = 30 deg C heat index.
At least not the 38 deg C heat index warm nights.

10 seconds improvement! (last time got 18.30)
Might not be much as it's GPS, still just record it down ba. Cannot hiam.

Will continue taking whey and creatine anyway. Ordering 3 more tubs. I have 4 in the cupboard now.
Got (small) improvements in muscle measurements and lean weight. (dont think it's fats gain)

hd6GkOf.jpg

Cometdevil

Weather not too bad. Not super cooling but it is not very humid. 27.7 deg C and 70% RH = 30 deg C heat index.

Will continue taking whey and creatine anyway. Ordering 3 more tubs. I have 4 in the cupboard now.
Got (small) improvements in muscle measurements and lean weight. (dont think it's fats gain)

hd6GkOf.jpg
Wa biang you run finish 5km I also haven't reach my 3km mark lol

Kuudere

If want to improve fast must do high mileage like 400 - 500km per month.
400-500km/month by right is the way to improve for long-distance running marathon.

But in practice, there's a couple of considerations:

1. Takes a lot of time to complete each week if you're slow runner.
2. Not everyone is aiming for fast times. If aiming for completion, mileage will not need to be that high.
3. Higher risk of injuries if poor running form. Best is to fix/correct running form first as junior runner.
4. Older age have greater injury risk.
5. Requires time to build up to 400 - 500km.

Junior runner, first year running serious, don't have to run so long. Just focus on getting good at the shorter distances and develop proper running form. Once the fundamentals are there, then can safely increase mileage consistently.
Ya, I watched YouTube channel too, there are real running channels which I follow too. Will check out this 'top of line' after SCSM.

Agree nothing wrong with not getting sub 20. I hope you didn't misread me in this. Coz I have been running consistently for 15 years without this goal. So not at all bothered with this lack of capability.
Takes time to filter out the legitimate running videos.

When I was a junior runner, I don't even have goals :LOL: My first year of running was to kick the soccer ball as far as possible. And that means running is necessary. Only started doing proper running training in my 2nd year.
They announced AHM 23 on 5th June last year. Yea until now no news.

Maybe coz of all those downgraded ppl complain that they cannot get subsidized rates. There was this big hoohaa last year.

Sad if no AHM this year. One of the easier and cheapest events to get finisher tee lol.
The organiser didn't do a good job in communicating. But nothing much to worry since got Garmin Run as a replacement for AHM. 🤣

WussRedXLi

I hearsay about this leak back in April after 2XU. Heard from a mutual friend that this year no sundown + AHM. Don't know how true is that so didn't want to share it here until it's fully confirmed since both events take place every year.

Wah lau eh........then those few long runs (slower) i did useless liao. Could have converted to cycling mileage.

Last year early June announced already, now is mid June.

WussRedXLi

Quick, 24% off on iherb.

My usual whey protein brand out of stock already. Anyway the 24% disc code overwrites the 20% item discount. I selected another brand and 24% code was accepted.
Purchased 2 tubs, not sure about the taste.

SKgxY7O.jpg

Kuudere

Wah lau eh........then those few long runs (slower) i did useless liao. Could have converted to cycling mileage.

Last year early June announced already, now is mid June.
Nothing is useless, since you hit your 5k PR. Can just sign up for other 10k races, not much loss 🤣

WussRedXLi

This one can run.

Wah lan eh NNB, this 65 year old not simple. Younger times would smoke the vast majority of even SG males.
Our national females PB cant even smell smoke.
edit - in fact she'd even smoke SEA games atheletes

HM 1.12.48h
FM 2.36.31h
WTF :oops:

I ran fast times in the 1980’s
5k 15.50
5m 26.22
10k 33.29
10m 55.10
1/2m 72.48
Marathon 2.36.31

Bonus, milklee, you want minimalist running. She can do

raylong

At least not the 38 deg C heat index warm nights.

hd6GkOf.jpg
Jiaoyou!

Ender

Wah lan eh NNB, this 65 year old not simple. Younger times would smoke the vast majority of even SG males.
Our national females PB cant even smell smoke.

HM 1.12.48h
FM 2.36.31h
WTF :oops:

I ran fast times in the 1980’s
5k 15.50
5m 26.22
10k 33.29
10m 55.10
1/2m 72.48
Marathon 2.36.31
Notice she was world class elite on the YouTube description too.. Not Eu standard hor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.