jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Thinking of taking a break from running and take up cycling. Cycle for about 2 months in zone 2. Running only be done once a week for threshold or intervals. Give running leg a good rest. 3rd month then resume.

What i scared is that once you take up cycling seriously, you might not turn back to running esp now hot period. :ROFLMAO:
There is this good possibility.

The majority of my running is the home-office commute for morning and evening, and then lunch time.
Then the weekly run might be longer or shorter depending on mood but for sure is faster tempo/thresholdy stuff, and then cycling days i might throw in some SITs around 2 times weekly. (but rather low reps, say 2 ot 3 times only)

My cycling majority is Z1/Z2. But also always peppered with speedwork sprints/surges. For sure if got traffic lights, sure sprint one, even 400m sprint also shiok. And then the climb sessions, be it short or longer, depends on the mood and place of visit (might be short ones like Esplanade bridge, or longer @ Faber or Sentosa and even Serapong hill there).
Cycling always got this "showmanship" risk, much more than running. Now sch hols, over at Shenton Way many fixies also, their base at the back lanes near Lau Pat Sat etc. Road bikes esp pelotons they dare not gun vs them, but with foldies, they know lower hanging fruit, so they will take a go one.

Ender

Re: the youtube channels/vids telling you can beat 5k and 10k of 20 mins and 40 mins etc.......of coz they have to sell you (the runner) the dream first, without much assessment of anything.

Coz the majority of these channels offer coaching and sell plans.

Maybe some will be more realistic......ask you adjust your goals and go step by step, but if talking about 30-35 min 5k drop to 22-25 min, it'd be great for many people, the newbie gains are the biggest and that is true for the vast majority of people taking up any sporting activity.

Still, they prob will be trying to dangle the carrot and tell you that "magic" 20 mins is achievable...that's the hard part :grin:
It is mostly the process that is fun.

Then for the more "elite", training for sub 18, 17, 16. heh.....that one gonna be hardcore.
Glad you said the sub 20 is magic. Even in the ang mo world, it is a magic number goal. I would say training for sub 20 is already hardcore if we talking about average runner with average gift. Yes 22-25 it a more realistic number for most of us, which I have seen many success here. And it something we should celebrate if they get there too.

Ender

Anyway, sell some dreams here. Dont flame me hor, i am not the author.
It's also not the sole criteria.

https://simplifaster.com/articles/how-trainable-is-vo2-max/
Posting an article for us to read is ok. Everybody learn. But to literally tell them they can do it if they follow this and that is another thing.

Just glance thru the article, a case study of athlete who VO2max increases drastically from more aerobic training instead of VO2max training. Interesting read. Different people respond to different stimuli.

Just look at the recent Norwegian method which had major breakthrough with performance of their athlete. Largely Pyramidal distribution with more focus of sub threshold training. Another different approach with good results. SO good to introduce and we learn various methods of training(MAF,80/20, TAO, Zone 2, Norwegian method, Periodization) we can try and one of it may be the magic plan that works for us.

Also note that author also mentioned this type of improvement is not typical. So caveat here. I am mostly aerobic person.. LOL The VO2max respond has plateau for me via more aerobic training. So trying out some interval instead for different stimuli which the TAO has scheduled in for me.

sph777

Posting an article for us to read is ok. Everybody learn. But to literally tell them they can do it if they follow this and that is another thing.

Just glance thru the article, a case study of athlete who VO2max increases drastically from more aerobic training instead of VO2max training. Interesting read. Different people respond to different stimuli.

Just look at the recent Norwegian method which had major breakthrough with performance of their athlete. Largely Pyramidal distribution with more focus of sub threshold training. Another different approach with good results. SO good to introduce and we learn various methods of training(MAF,80/20, TAO, Zone 2, Norwegian method, Periodization) we can try and one of it may be the magic plan that works for us.

Also note that author also mentioned this type of improvement is not typical. So caveat here. I am mostly aerobic person.. LOL The VO2max respond has plateau for me via more aerobic training. So trying out some interval instead for different stimuli which the TAO has scheduled in for me.
Somehow doing the cross training rather than just running everyday has caused my VO2 max to go up from 55 to 56 in the past 2 weeks (not bad for bui bui) but it is just using the garmin watch to see so not sure how accurate.

Foetid

just curious, I thinking most people here are in the 30s to 50s, maybe majority in 30s, anyone able to maintain very close to or exceed your 18years old fitness in the army in terms of your 2.4km timing?

LWZ

just curious, I thinking most people here are in the 30s to 50s, maybe majority in 30s, anyone able to maintain very close to or exceed your 18years old fitness in the army in terms of your 2.4km timing?

based on my final IPPT over a year ago, yes.

fastest 2.4 timing was at 27 :s13:

Ender

Somehow doing the cross training rather than just running everyday has caused my VO2 max to go up from 55 to 56 in the past 2 weeks (not bad for bui bui) but it is just using the garmin watch to see so not sure how accurate.
Just my opinion. I think in term of absolute values may not be accurate, though I saw on youtube, someone compared to real actual lab test, they are close. But for trend, I think it is reliable. So I would trust that your Vo2max had increased.

Back to absolute numbers. I personally don't think it's accurate for me at least. Garmin used to give me a number 50 for Vo2max. Always was happy, until I use Runalyze, and then to Coros, which both gave me 44, but subsequently drop to 42 after my hyperthyroidism. I think Coros and Runalyze numbers are more realistic, coz based on my 5km timing and assuming my Running Economy is factor as 1, my Vdot is around the 40+ region. Close to 44 VO2max. Very far for Garmin 50.

Kuudere

Re: the youtube channels/vids telling you can beat 5k and 10k of 20 mins and 40 mins etc.......of coz they have to sell you (the runner) the dream first, without much assessment of anything.

Coz the majority of these channels offer coaching and sell plans.

Maybe some will be more realistic......ask you adjust your goals and go step by step, but if talking about 30-35 min 5k drop to 22-25 min, it'd be great for many people, the newbie gains are the biggest and that is true for the vast majority of people taking up any sporting activity.

Still, they prob will be trying to dangle the carrot and tell you that "magic" 20 mins is achievable...that's the hard part :grin:
It is mostly the process that is fun.

Then for the more "elite", training for sub 18, 17, 16. heh.....that one gonna be hardcore.

Around the same with SG Pools selling Toto, but that's with even more people not winning any goals. But the hardcore addicts still keep people coming back for more.

Even if naturally gifted with higher VO2max, with the weather here, the vast vast majority of us normal people are not gonna to get out there to train, not even for a comparatively short distance of 5k.
Heck even a full-send 2.4k can get pretty warm and very sweaty due to the humidity.

Even for me i use iced water / slushie for "longe"r faster runs. Even at heat indexes of 26-30.
Even for training sessions on warm nites, i can hide 2 to 3 times in MBS few minutes blow AC first.
(i put quotes coz i am not really a super long distance runner anyway lol )
https://runsingaporerankings.com/criteria/

RSR actually has a criteria of what they define as elite in Sg. They categorise by age also. Overseas/tropical also have difference from 10k and up.

And this is for the national level:

High VO2max usually find their way into racket/contact sports. Those are more popular.
Yah. Seems like these running events are not very lucrative nowadays. Don't have Sundown. Lazada Run also cancel when it's supposed to be in July. The usual Marina Run also no news.
I wanted to go for Marina Run this year, but nothing much about it.

I am under 30 by few years, but am at 18 year old 2.4k fitness. Last week I did my 2km run at 7.49, not at my maximum effort. Planning to run at the same pace in 200m weekly increments until I reach 4km. Then try for 19.30 5k.

What I want to get back is 19 year old fitness, 8.40 2.4k. 17.45 4.7k. 41.30 10k. 1.06.17 16k.

Once I hit that 16k time again, will return back to proper HM training.

Ender

https://runsingaporerankings.com/criteria/

RSR actually has a criteria of what they define as elite in Sg. They categorise by age also. Overseas/tropical also have difference from 10k and up.

Going by Tropical, assuming this is representative of Singaporean. An Elite >50 for FM is 3:39. I am thinking if my sub 4 goal is realistic anymore.

Kuudere

Going by Tropical, assuming this is representative of Singaporean. An Elite >50 for FM is 3:39. I am thinking if my sub 4 goal is realistic anymore.
Quite a number on the list is amdk/japanese runners, so it's hard to reach those times.

Also, they don't consider times from non-certified courses (2XU HM not inside).

Sub 4 is their 60+ goal so it's still a good goal to aim for.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.