jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

No disagreeing with mindset. most of us here are determine to improve from what our current status is.. but I think I am already pushing the upper limit of what my gifted with. That's why my goal, it seems getting more and more elusive. But will give it another go that's why quickly signed up for SCSM without 2nd thought and training started this week.

I think for me it's the other way rouynd, marathon distance even HM chionging for performance / PB would be too difficult and frustrating for me.
Coz it is afterall gonna be a 3-4hr thingy for most of us. I like to try some sort of "TT" every week or every other week, esp if got good weather i sure try .
If i try half marathon like this in TT mode,. i sure injured first coz nobody can recover from such hard efforts.

Even SRY said 2.4 "TTs" would be good for most runners as a locally recognised distance, as it would be very accessible and literally every runner of all ages can recover well from it.
Also why i started to do 3k as actually 5k not super easy, also coz Metasprint sprint duathlon is 3k ba (just 2 of them). T100 standard duathlon is 5k, so also gotta train for that.
T100 long duathlon i think i die first (9.5k/64k/9.5k)

WussRedXLi

Tonight think need to rest.......just listen to music / play games with kid.
Even though wasted the nice weather tonight.,,,,,and also i wanna test a speed suit with texture / trip lines that just arrived.

Quite tired, definitely signs of overtraining.

Still, no effect on upper body strength training, 3 sets of ~ 25 decline push ups done height 0.75m table......now i use new pattern, 2 seconds push and 4 seconds eccentric.

Nowadays i find that pushing to 1-2 reps prior to failure and last set all the way to failure and shout vulgarities type work better for me, can see improvements with whey/creatine.
I used to have plateaued for a few months after the beginner gains.....no progress at all.
1 day is push up day, then subsequent day is with resistance bands curls / pull / rows + good mornings.
Unfortunately this also means that the core more or less gets worked every day (less progress), but it is what it is.

Supposedly important in cycling and climbs/sprints power delivery.......esp for seated position. And also for my own aero position. No back aches also.......i think it does work.
Hopefully also aids running, in whatever minor way.

Kuudere

actually when I talked to Rui Yong, he suggested gold coast is a good course to pb. Good weather, course and atmosphere
Gold coast is good for PB. A lot of national marathoners ran there and got good times from there. I think Shaun Goh is planning to go for this year's one.
I think one rather related thing is also the character of the person. If VO2max and genetics not the limiting factor, if the mindset/character not there, also difficult. Somewhat the same goes for career and working world.

Same goes for those SRY sagas, he is the type who can perform, but SG agencies dont seem to supportive coz law by law it is frowned upon. Basket no leeway one.

Not blowing my trumpet here.... (no intentions) , but same.....racewalk if i sense got runner wanna chiong, i go chiong. Same for cycling on the roads. Just try, gun....if lose, turn that anger into more training.
No excuses, gun first talk later. If scared of getting ego bruised, then that is a negative liao.
Experience in racing the particular distance also...

Those run long mileage but focus solely on 5/10k and don't transit up over the years, will gain experience and get better in racing that distance.

Hagos Gehrhiwet runs the 2nd fastest 5k in the world at 30.
More or less there, i just use runninglevel (and cyclinglevel) as rough ref
No doubt heat index temps would make a difference as distance goes up.

https://runninglevel.com/running-times/5k-times
Runninglevel "Advanced" category seems to be equivalent to Run Singapore Run minimum entry criteria.

5k Advanced in Runninglevel: 19.44 (25-35 yo)
5k qualifying time in Run Singapore Run: 19.46 (<50 yo)

Out of interest, just decide to calculate the "Advanced" category for 2.4km to see what kind of hypothetical times are considered competitive to enter Run Singapore Run rankings if there will be one in future.

1 mile: 5.46 (30-35 yo) > 3.35 min/km
2 mile: 12.20 (30-35 yo) 3.50 min/km

1.5 mile: (5.46 + 12.20) / 2 = 9.03 (30-35 yo) > lenient calculation

(3.35 + 3.50) / 2 = 3.42.5 min/km or 8.57 (30-35 yo) > strict calculation

How about 55 yo???

1 mile: 6.49 (55-60 yo) > 4.14 min/km
2 mile: 14.33 (55-60 yo) > 4.31 min/km

1.5 mile: (6.49 + 14.33) / 2 = 10.41 (55-60 yo) > lenient calculation

(4.14 + 4.31) / 2 = 4.22.5 min/km or 10.33 (55-60 yo) > strict calculation

WussRedXLi

Gold coast is good for PB. A lot of national marathoners ran there and got good times from there. I think Shaun Goh is planning to go for this year's one.

Those run long mileage but focus solely on 5/10k and don't transit up over the years, will gain experience and get better in racing that distance.

Runninglevel "Advanced" category seems to be equivalent to Run Singapore Run minimum entry criteria.

Out of interest, just decide to calculate the "Advanced" category for 2.4km to see what kind of hypothetical times are considered competitive to enter Run Singapore Run rankings if there will be one in future.

1 mile: 5.46 (30-35 yo) > 3.35 min/km
2 mile: 12.20 (30-35 yo) 3.50 min/km

1.5 mile: (5.46 + 12.20) / 2 = 9.03 (30-35 yo) > lenient calculation

(3.35 + 3.50) / 2 = 3.42.5 min/km or 8.57 (30-35 yo) > strict calculation

How about 55 yo???

I do agree to try to select 1 or at most 2 distance and just try to ace at that. I think if we factor in SG's bloody hot weather and also most people's career/home commitments, 3-10k range is optimal and more conducive if one can help it.

Personally i think for any healthy individual wo any health comorbidity, advanced running level quite doable as per runninglevel.
No need structured training, but need to grind it out very consistently (no excuses), without afraid of doing speedwork, but of coz dont overtrain. Might not even need strength training/plyo/mobility work. Recover well, diet well, sleep well. I think still well within the reach of any normal person, no need to be genetically gifted. Will get there eventually with this mindset. Then if wanna proceed and get into elite realm, then need more spicing up and more specific training.

Have this kind of outlook on training and motivation, more than half the battle won liao.
Bonus

Ender

Can try hire a coach
No lah, not going to spend money there yet. I think 60 years old will make a decision whether to end this obsession. Cannot means cannot. Will proceed to other reachable goals. To be honest quite satisfied with my progress and later regress in running so far, even though goal not met. Also get off the training regime and go back to my makan run to explore hawker centres in other estates. Also long time didn't do trail running, These are enjoyable runs I had to stop because of the training the FM, So there will come be a time I like to go back to doing them again.

Ender

Looking at you 55-60 calulation, abit too lenient for 2.4km. I got 9:45 during the last OTH Challenge at Tampines hub. You know my level , will never make it to the RSR entry at any distance level for my age level.

Ender

Adidas Adios Pro3 split on both L and R sides after this evening long run. No wonder during the run, the shoes was so noisy, producing this irritating squeaky noise. I think all PCN users that I passed by will have something to tell their friends and family about an unker with a loud squeaky shoes at SK and PG waterway PCN.

Looks like easy to glue back. Don't know if it will last, cause my success rate with midsole to midsole not high. Mileage is just 108km in it.

2mCk1hWqcyKFaBeCtLS15X-DC5aGqWBq8bGooCS3O2A-2048x921.jpg

Foetid

Adidas Adios Pro3 split on both L and R sides after this evening long run. No wonder during the run, the shoes was so noisy, producing this irritating squeaky noise. I think all PCN users that I passed by will have something to tell their friends and family about an unker with a loud squeaky shoes at SK and PG waterway PCN.

Looks like easy to glue back. Don't know if it will last, cause my success rate with midsole to midsole not high. Mileage is just 108km in it.

2mCk1hWqcyKFaBeCtLS15X-DC5aGqWBq8bGooCS3O2A-2048x921.jpg
u need to use the yellow glue, then after u make sure no dust then after u glue, u might need to put heavy things on it, like some big books to make it stick better. Is this the China Qinghong shoes?

u run in the rain often? frequently wash shoes?

Ender

u need to use the yellow glue, then after u make sure no dust then after u glue, u might need to put heavy things on it, like some big books to make it stick better. Is this the China Qinghong shoes?

u run in the rain often? frequently wash shoes?
I have the contact cement glue. But I am going to try this glue from Lazada, shipped from China, that literally call itself a shoe glue. LOL. This particular shoes run a wet day a couple of times.
This shoe is Adidas Adios Pro 3.

Kuudere

I do agree to try to select 1 or at most 2 distance and just try to ace at that. I think if we factor in SG's bloody hot weather and also most people's career/home commitments, 3-10k range is optimal and more conducive if one can help it.

Personally i think for any healthy individual wo any health comorbidity, advanced running level quite doable as per runninglevel.
No need structured training, but need to grind it out very consistently (no excuses), without afraid of doing speedwork, but of coz dont overtrain. Might not even need strength training/plyo/mobility work. Recover well, diet well, sleep well. I think still well within the reach of any normal person, no need to be genetically gifted. Will get there eventually with this mindset. Then if wanna proceed and get into elite realm, then need more spicing up and more specific training.

Have this kind of outlook on training and motivation, more than half the battle won liao.
Bonus

2 distance is good, because the shorter distance race will improve your speed. Longer distance will improve your endurance. Both help hand-in-hand together. 3k/5k, 5k/10k, 10k/HM, HM/M. The best is for the distance to be close to each other.

I wouldn't say that any individual should aim for advanced. Because advanced is at least 5 years of consistent training based on the website. Intermediate makes more sense since it's the 50 percentile of runners.
Looking at you 55-60 calulation, abit too lenient for 2.4km. I got 9:45 during the last OTH Challenge at Tampines hub. You know my level , will never make it to the RSR entry at any distance level for my age level.
Let's recalculate, this time using RSR criteria.

50: 5.57 (1.5k) 12.35 (3k)
60: 6.27 (1.5k) 13.46 (3k)

55: 6.12 (1.5k) 13.10 (3k) > Use the midpoint timing for 55.

Use justrunlah predictor https://www.justrunlah.com/race-time-predictor/
vdot predictor https://vdoto2.com/calculator/

2.4k times for 55 year old: 10.12 - 10.23 (justrunlah)
10.27 - 10.38 (vdot > use the above timings and add the equivalent 1 mile/2mile timings divided by 2)

So, it seems that RSR criteria is faster than advanced criteria for 55 year old on 1.5/3k.

So how about you?

9.45 (2.4k)

Justrunlah predictor

1.5k: 5.55
3k: 12.21

Vdot predictor

1.5k: 5.45
3k: 12.26

So, you basically meet the cut for 50+ criteria of 1.5k/3k. This proves that you can make it in RSR. Also, not to mention you are faster than the 55+ timings.

I admit that I was lenient previously since I thought that Runninglevel advanced category was equivalent to RSR entry criteria, but it might vary across different age groups and distances. But I am confident that my 2nd calculation is accurate.

WussRedXLi

Really naturally gifted. Foundation all there or something.

14.52. 10 weeks ago 17 mins detrained. Every 2 weeks or so PB no issue.

WussRedXLi

9.45 2.4k @ 55-60, in my eyes....actually you are in 20 mins 5k shape for a 20-35 age grouper. Comfortably in the Advanced cat on runninglevel.com, possibly knocking on the doors of Elite cat.

If reach 60 still cannot attain FM goal then just go for parkruns la........ every week go vroom vroom, you sure PB one, just a matter of time with so many tries.

Problem is, i think your area no near parkruns. I know that feeling one, i mean most of us are siao on but not that siao on and hate the travelling time....which in my eyes is time wasted that could have better be spent on running :unsure:

xllms

for 55-60 age group to complete 2.4km at 9:45, its a great achievement. If my memory serves me well, that is the Gold Standard in IPPT when we were in Army (below 25yr).

LWZ

for 55-60 age group to complete 2.4km at 9:45, its a great achievement. If my memory serves me well, that is the Gold Standard in IPPT when we were in Army (below 25yr).

yep, it was the 'normal' gold standard all the way till the IPPT overhaul of the mid-2010s

iirc cdo, ndu and guards had a stricter one of below 9:15

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.