USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

ctan84

I probably stronger than him la. He very patriotic with simi SGX and flying his Singapore flag. All these indirectly screwed him. For their generation, they probably live and die with their country. For my generation, country = rental apartment only, 😜! Doesn’t work out then move la. Lol
Your lao pei n his gen probably got to buy all the SGX bluechips and bank stocks at IPO price loh. At those prices, even today is still huat big big.

CrashWire

Trickier for CPFLife tho….suay suay pass on during certain age band kena makan all.
I don't think this is true. If I understand correctly, the full RA minus payouts already made will still be distributed to beneficiaries.

The only thing people under CPF Life lose out on is the interest that could have been accrued in RA.

stanlawj

All US economic indicators continue to get worse.

Retail sales m/m 0.1% vs 0.3% forecast.
Core retail sales m/m -0.1% vs 0.2% forecast.

Last month's retail sales m/m was revised DOWN from 0.0% to -0.2%,
core retail sales m/m revised DOWN from 0.2% to -0.1%.

Swiss Franc continues to strengthen vs USD (since 23 May).

stanlawj

S&P500 is already far beyond its 2022 peak yet margin loans are far below the peak seen in 2021/2022. This is clearly not driven by leverage.
You still think SP500 not driven by increasing margin? See below 👇. Keyword: options, intraday.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...-tougher-margin-rule-as-zero-day-options-boom

Wall Street Faces Tougher Margin Rule as Zero-Day Options Boom

The world’s largest derivatives-clearing house is seeking to introduce fresh margin requirements on Wall Street firms as the frenzy in zero-day options shows no sign of letting up. Options Clearing Corp. is looking to harden rules on intraday margins at brokers and dealers in the event their risk exposures breach certain thresholds, according to a spokesperson. OCC is also proposing a monthly add-on to their collateral contributions to ensure the smooth functioning of markets, among other obligations, the person said. It’s the latest push from industry supervisors to secure market discipline amid the trading frenzy in equity contracts that expire within 24 hours

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...-tougher-margin-rule-as-zero-day-options-boom

d5dude

You still think SP500 not driven by increasing margin? See below 👇. Keyword: options, intraday.

Wall Street Faces Tougher Margin Rule as Zero-Day Options Boom

The world’s largest derivatives-clearing house is seeking to introduce fresh margin requirements on Wall Street firms as the frenzy in zero-day options shows no sign of letting up. Options Clearing Corp. is looking to harden rules on intraday margins at brokers and dealers in the event their risk exposures breach certain thresholds, according to a spokesperson. OCC is also proposing a monthly add-on to their collateral contributions to ensure the smooth functioning of markets, among other obligations, the person said. It’s the latest push from industry supervisors to secure market discipline amid the trading frenzy in equity contracts that expire within 24 hours

Thats intraday margin, it doesnt have anything to do with FINRA margin, which affects longer term holdings.

0DTE options are like daily lottery tickets, the leverage is reset to zero at the end of the day and since very few of these options are ever exercised, they can't have any mid/long term impact on stock prices. End of the day we still need more buyers of the common stock to have any long term impact on stock prices. Just look at the recent GME fiasco if you dun understand this i.e weekly options not exercised = dealer dump = stock price crash.

Trader11

So......calls?
I have 69 calls expiring in Oct.
They don't look hot right now.
I think big boys still accumulating NU. See the up weeks are with above average volume. Down weeks are with less volume. Fidelity contrafund is increasing their position in NU.

NU has a large market base.

Sometimes the best time to buy is when things look quiet

stanlawj

I think big boys still accumulating NU. See the up weeks are with above average volume. Down weeks are with less volume. Fidelity contrafund is increasing their position in NU.

NU has a large market base.

Sometimes the best time to buy is when things look quiet
Rotation out of Semicon into other sectors in full play. Yesterday was day no. 1.

yslvlys

Nibbled some Nvidia post-split and it has been going up ever since.
+10% in almost 3 weeks! Madness! 🤯
Hope u didn't buy too much as it's declining now at least for short term. But think it will eventually turn out well by next earnings release.

yslvlys

Was waiting for Broadcom split in July then will sell off half.. Hope it will shoot up again after share split for me to sell a bit off😁

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.