Starhub TV+ Recontract

wolnavi

Hi, I was recently contacted by Starhub to recontract my TV and was told that I’ll need to switch to the TV+ variant as the Fibre TV has been discontinued and would be unable to keep the existing Fibre TV if I wish to recontract. So I recontracted but am awaiting the installation of the TV+ box

So far I have been reading here and found that we would need to use the Nokia Beacon 2 router if we want to continue watching Mediacorp channels on the TV+ box

My question is why can’t we just connect the TV+ to port 2 of the ONT to maintain the Mediacorp channels as per the previous way like the Fibre TV? Thanks

Solution
Hi, I was recently contacted by Starhub to recontract my TV and was told that I’ll need to switch to the TV+ variant as the Fibre TV has been discontinued and would be unable to keep the existing Fibre TV if I wish to recontract. So I recontracted but am awaiting the installation of the TV+ box

So far I have been reading here and found that we would need to use the Nokia Beacon 2 router if we want to continue watching Mediacorp channels on the TV+ box

My question is why can’t we just connect the TV+ to port 2 of the ONT to maintain the Mediacorp channels as per the previous way like the Fibre TV? Thanks

They are using totally different technology with Starhub TV+ box...

stephenbishop

Yup, I've went by to Starhub to verify and unofficial reply is, yes. lol
So literally can bring overseas and plug into TV to stream? :ROFLMAO:
Sadly, no. You can only access Starhub TV+ via their box or any other compatible device, from Singapore unless you use VPN or smart Dns to access from outside Singapore.

froztheart

Sadly, no. You can only access Starhub TV+ via their box or any other compatible device, from Singapore unless you use VPN or smart Dns to access from outside Singapore.
Ya, bring overseas and stream through roaming hotspot, so you are saying they will detect IP then?
You can watch Netflix and Prime Video from your mobile and cast to the hotel TV.
Yes, of course, just want to understand what's the restrictions and if anyone has tested. lol

stephenbishop

Ya, bring overseas and stream through roaming hotspot, so you are saying they will detect IP then?

Yes, of course, just want to understand what's the restrictions and if anyone has tested. lol
Yes, and you will blocked if connecting from outside Singapore unless you you connect via vpn or smart dns.

cracker

but i dun understand why anyone will want to bring along a bulky tv box to another country in today world of casting.... some countries hotel TV also have built in netflix or other streaming platform.. just key in yr info and u can watch.. BUT remember to logout when u check out.. else.....

froztheart

Yes, and you will blocked if connecting from outside Singapore unless you you connect via vpn or smart dns.
That is only for Netflix, Prime Video and perhaps Disney+ which are also available in Singapore. Starhub TV+ content not possible to access from outside Singapore unless via vpn or smart dns.
Ahh, I see, just to clarify, this was tested or presumption?
but i dun understand why anyone will want to bring along a bulky tv box to another country in today world of casting.... some countries hotel TV also have built in netflix or other streaming platform.. just key in yr info and u can watch.. BUT remember to logout when u check out.. else.....
Just curious how it works, the white box isn't bulky imo so some might bring it overseas?

xiaofan

That is only for Netflix, Prime Video and perhaps Disney+ which are also available in Singapore. Starhub TV+ content not possible to access from outside Singapore unless via vpn or smart dns.

SingTel Cast and MediaCorp meWatch are not easy to access through typical VPNs when outside Singapore.

Just wondering which VPN works with Starhub TV+?

From what I understand, you need resident IP address since SingTel Cast and meWatch use a simple yet effective method to block VPNs -- simply block the Singapore data centre IP ranges used by typical VPN vendors.

stephenbishop

SingTel Cast and MediaCorp meWatch are not easy to access through typical VPNs when outside Singapore.

Just wondering which VPN works with Starhub TV+?

From what I understand, you need resident IP address since SingTel Cast and meWatch use a simple yet effective method to block VPNs -- simply block the Singapore data centre IP ranges used by typical VPN vendors.
I have tried to watch Starhub TV+ content from outside Singapore- it does not work.

I have not tried VPN- so do not know for sure if and which VPN works.

I understand some smart DNS services specifically provide for Starhub TV+ access from outside Singapore. Again I have not tried these so do not know if and how well they may work.

stephenbishop

Just curious how it works, the white box isn't bulky imo so some might bring it overseas?
Don't bother if the objective is to watch TV+ content. It wont work.

Ahh, I see, just to clarify, this was tested or presumption?

Neither. If you want certainty, check with Starhub like you did the last time.... or read the Starhub FAQ

Where is StarHub TV+ available?

froztheart

I have tried to watch Starhub TV+ content from outside Singapore- it does not work.

I have not tried VPN- so do not know for sure if and which VPN works.

I understand some smart DNS services specifically provide for Starhub TV+ access from outside Singapore. Again I have not tried these so do not know if and how well they may work.
Appreciate the sharing!
Don't bother if the objective is to watch TV+ content. It wont work.

Neither. If you want certainty, check with Starhub like you did the last time.... or read the Starhub FAQ

Where is StarHub TV+ available?
No la, like what was shared, can cast why bother to bring the TV box and cables etc. lol
Read FAQ, just curious whether any one went out of the way to test it, like what reviewers does to test out. 🤭

Henry Ng

to watch SH content oversea? lolx

why not bring those xiaomi or apple tv box instead
Can not watch Starhub contents outside Sg only their International App like Netflix, Prime Video and TVB anywhere that i have watch myself while on holiday in Australia. May be Disney+? Some App only. My hotel got Smart TV and not all hotel has it.

HiHelloBye

1) try login via QR code and also keying in... didnt work.
2) delete and reinstall the apps on my mobile phone... login and viola all the package are still on my mobile phone
3) logout from my acct in the box and re-login, still tak boleh

Call up starhub, said they had done some reset at their side ... see how it goes tonight,.
wah jialat... then your case is considered unique:s22:

HiHelloBye

Yup, I've went by to Starhub to verify and unofficial reply is, yes. lol
So literally can bring overseas and plug into TV to stream? :ROFLMAO:
not really as it's still geo-locked...

on May 2023, i went to Japan and watched Premier League via SH's TV+ Mobile App using VPN. not sure whether it's still working or not:spin:...

pwongkk

Long time ago during cable TV days, I used placeshifting devices like Slingbox to watch Starhub contents on the go. Can even change channel.

The only problem is only 1 screen. If your family changes the channel, then the app will be streaming that channel. Of course you can change the channel back from the app.

Was quite useful back then, able to use overseas as long as got Internet connection. I install on laptop and hp, can watch on the go.

Henry Ng

Long time ago during cable TV days, I used placeshifting devices like Slingbox to watch Starhub contents on the go. Can even change channel.

The only problem is only 1 screen. If your family changes the channel, then the app will be streaming that channel. Of course you can change the channel back from the app.

Was quite useful back then, able to use overseas as long as got Internet connection. I install on laptop and hp, can watch on the go.
yes in the olden day can watch but not now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.