jogging and motivation thread

ctan84

Data not accurate. Last month when i clocked 200km, sometimes i felt tired but indicated my body is at 80-90%.
Like I said b4, sources of stress are many. All these readings from watches can only rely on 1 physiological marker - HR. Usually, by the time things start showing up in your HR, the fatigue is pretty much set in liao. Hormones are the first line, HR the last.

Kuudere

Data not accurate. Last month when i clocked 200km, sometimes i felt tired but indicated my body is at 80-90%.
Yes, you should learn how to operate running by feel (RPE) rather than using just data. With a warmer weather, both distance and pace will be a lot worse off. Can always do easy runs during warmer weather and then get back to hard runs when it's cooler. No point over pushing yourself and sustain injuries.

Will incorporate this as part of strength work. Sounds legit.
Last time was just doing lower cadences "torque" based training.....but looks like not as effective as this.
Then the squats with resistance bands a bit also.......back breaking. lol (scared hernia)
Also a bit scared for the inverted row + good morning combi that i am doing (also hernia risk)

Hope got decent transferrence to running. But anyway also doing hill sprints for running also (though very short distances)

My current strength work is like this:

Hamstring/Quad: Lunges or Jump Squats on stadium
Calves: Hill sprints
Core: Planks or Sit-ups
Biomechanics: Striding 6 x 70-100m
I need to stop running liao and rest my leg before 1st Of September :sad:
I am doing 25-40% mileage taper for pocari sweat run on 31 Aug

Next week: 40km
Race week: 30km + 5km (race distance)

fantasyrulz

Hey there,

Actually for me i believe i am the worst in such tech. Till now i dont even really know what is Strava for, just maybe something that keeps record and compare with others doing similar stretches?

The only tech i use is bluetooth speaker only, blast hard techno. :frown:
Then some gives me that "WTF" look. :frown:
And oh yeah of coz the cheap $36 bike computer (use it only for speed and cadence) and also my $133 Huawei watch for pace / HR.

But what i really like is to exercise/train and then recover. Usually is too hard, so hopefully can recover harder. :ROFLMAO:

great man same like me
recently have been listening to some viking music at youtube for exactly 1 hour my run time lol.

at times im in flow state that i feel good while jogging, time passes much too fast

finished my jog for an hour (9km) today at Zone 3 Cardio 161bpm avg for my age and fitness lvl im happy at this result

benefits of jog and better cardio really helps everyday life
better mental state, clear mind, focus, energy level, mood etc

Ender

Started at 10pm, despite tonight is the peak of the chinese 7th month. LOL. Also the last day for my off training cycle (recovery week)to explore new SIT campus with a casual jog with traffic light stoppage along the way. Back to TAO training on Monday.

image.png

Ender

I need to stop running liao and rest my leg before 1st Of September :sad:
All the best. It's hilly, so no need to push, just enjoy the view, which is very different from the usual marina bay area races. I won't be running. SCSM is my only race for the rest of the year.

sph777

Space is really something i don’t have here unfortunately, foldable bicycle does not work for me too. So i guess i have to keep on running and stay away from cycling,. ;)
Maybe can rotate some swimming with the running. Then just run as the body feels.

WussRedXLi

great man same like me
recently have been listening to some viking music at youtube for exactly 1 hour my run time lol.

at times im in flow state that i feel good while jogging, time passes much too fast

finished my jog for an hour (9km) today at Zone 3 Cardio 161bpm avg for my age and fitness lvl im happy at this result

benefits of jog and better cardio really helps everyday life
better mental state, clear mind, focus, energy level, mood etc

Yeah muzik is really great for helping things like motivation and even cadence, just must be careful and preferably use BT speakers or open bone conducting headphones, so that the external ambient noises is not muted vs relative to the music dB input.

dreamaurora

Yeah muzik is really great for helping things like motivation and even cadence, just must be careful and preferably use BT speakers or open bone conducting headphones, so that the external ambient noises is not muted vs relative to the music dB input.
Yes, must always turn on the hear through function.

xllms

Yes, you should learn how to operate running by feel (RPE) rather than using just data. With a warmer weather, both distance and pace will be a lot worse off. Can always do easy runs during warmer weather and then get back to hard runs when it's cooler. No point over pushing yourself and sustain injuries.

My current strength work is like this:

Hamstring/Quad: Lunges or Jump Squats on stadium
Calves: Hill sprints
Core: Planks or Sit-ups
Biomechanics: Striding 6 x 70-100m

I am doing 25-40% mileage taper for pocari sweat run on 31 Aug

Next week: 40km
Race week: 30km + 5km (race distance)

Yes, i am running by feel now and what my body is telling me to take it easy most of the time, eg. Today
10.12km @ 6’57”/km av (70’22” total), wanted to do a z2 return run but didn’t feel good and ended up walking majority of the return leg 10.15km @ 8’50” (89’43” total). Personal observation is that i can no longer sustain high HR for prolonged duration now, eg. >165 and max at around 170+/-. 3 years back, I recall my Apple Watch did register HR higher than 180 and longer durations in 170s.

As indicated by many kind souls here, I am tweaking my runs now and do more of my runs at lower pace, eg. 7-8min/km to build up the base. And hopefully I will be disciplined enough to do more strength and spend work.

Jeremy1

All the best. It's hilly, so no need to push, just enjoy the view, which is very different from the usual marina bay area races. I won't be running. SCSM is my only race for the rest of the year.

May I know how many % of the race is hilly ?

dreamaurora

Yes, i am running by feel now and what my body is telling me to take it easy most of the time, eg. Today
10.12km @ 6’57”/km av (70’22” total), wanted to do a z2 return run but didn’t feel good and ended up walking majority of the return leg 10.15km @ 8’50” (89’43” total). Personal observation is that i can no longer sustain high HR for prolonged duration now, eg. >165 and max at around 170+/-. 3 years back, I recall my Apple Watch did register HR higher than 180 and longer durations in 170s.

As indicated by many kind souls here, I am tweaking my runs now and do more of my runs at lower pace, eg. 7-8min/km to build up the base. And hopefully I will be disciplined enough to do more strength and spend work.
Think you were exerting too hard if your HR higher than 180. After starting my new training plan in July, my Garmin has adjusted my max HR to 184 down from 199 in June. Not sure if it's really accurate, but I do think my new corresponding HR Zones feel more correct based on how I felt my body was exerting in different HR Zones. My Z2 now starts at 135. So maybe you might need to adjust your HR zones?

I do agree it's not easy to stick to slower pace. A lot of times during my easy runs I wanted to go faster coz felt shiok or got chiobu in front, lol. But more or less I managed to stick to my running plan.

dreamaurora

Won't be steep like Sheare bridge lor. Meet a hill, just walk up. Used to do that when I was doing trail.
Haha, the Sheares Bridge still ok lar. Run up Mt Faber can feel like dying.

Today I ran the Ridge Runner lesser people compared to last year. I guess many were traumatized by the route last year. My Garmin recorded 406 meters elevation gain during the HM.

人造人16 号

just went jogging today, first time in like 15 years.

Jog for 1.4km, took 10+ mins and I almost died.

Felt giddy and my hands abit numb, had to stop.

I think jogging not suitable for me...

it's been 2 weeks since i started jogging.

Ran 2 km at 15 1/2 min today...

2 weeks liao but only small improvement, was hoping to run at least run 2.4 km by end of week 2, but now need to set that for next week instead.

WussRedXLi

Talking about Mount Faber, over there can do PBs and intervals too.

Significantly tougher on the muscles than running.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.