jogging and motivation thread

Ender

@Ender boss i tried doing the race pace in between my long run and died.
felt feverish and lethargic after that. think i have over-exerted.

think i should have stick to 5:30 pace instead of going for 5:00 pace.

I thought your race pace was 5:40 for that sub 2 hr? 5min pace is a lot of more. 5:30 is safer than 5 min. Anyway as long you don't get injured along the way ,sub 2 is already an easy goal for you liao based on your 10km, can try 5:30 first for a slightly more aggressive goal but safer than 5 min pace.
Just be careful coz overtrain will be detrimental to performance gain. Any training that cause you to need one or two full day rest to recover is to me too detrimental for gains. Only on race day that I allow myself to go thru that kind of torture and then rest for 3 to 7 days.

WussRedXLi

Some lunch time motivation vids....
Don't let so-called "limitations" stop you. Be flexible and work around them. Like the high heat index weather here sucks, i just use active cooling for the TTs and of coz choose the cooler days to gun. I don't do and push it at 6-9pm after a sunny afternoon or even mornings when it is warm.
Things might not be as smooth as original, but it also doesn't have to be overly complicated.

Bonus vid below of a 70 year old.

SG Everesting

First is a full one. And then the vid is a half one. (basecamp)

https://www.flatspokemedia.com/return-to-mt-faber-ndash-everest-part-iii.html

WussRedXLi

Seriosuly and technically, you can't even ride up Mt Everest (tallest mountain in the world), be it whole length or from basecamp.

z6riCjv.jpg

WussRedXLi

Wow.......what time did you run at? Feverish / light-headed not good.

The first time middlle last year i tried a "proper" 10k TT to see if i can get below 40 min, i felt that. 7.x km mark gave up. Figured i overheated at around 7pm even though no sun, coz mid year and sunny afternoon. From then on i figured for such longer distances and faster paces, i need the env to be cooler plus some additional form of cooling in order to do it.
For me, 10k is already long distance, more than enough to be affected by the heat / have "heat soak".

No doubt TTs are going to be tought but some things (symptoms) are not meant to get past one.
ps. See the above injury vid i just posted.

WussRedXLi

I thought your race pace was 5:40 for that sub 2 hr? 5min pace is a lot of more. 5:30 is safer than 5 min. Anyway as long you don't get injured along the way ,sub 2 is already an easy goal for you liao based on your 10km, can try 5:30 first for a slightly more aggressive goal but safer than 5 min pace.
Just be careful coz overtrain will be detrimental to performance gain. Any training that cause you to need one or two full day rest to recover is to me too detrimental for gains. Only on race day that I allow myself to go thru that kind of torture and then rest for 3 to 7 days.

Yea, always be safe. Dont push the boundaries too much.
And as usual and as always, wanna push boundaries also best to do pre-event health and IMO more importantly cardiac type checkups. :ROFLMAO:

milkiee

trying to push myself harder for more gains.
guess i learn something new about my body too.

it was a terrible feeling. my stomach was churning as well hours after my run. didnt feel good at all.

1ndigoJinx

Hello fellow joggers, any of the males here after a run got blood in pee or pee is pink in color before?

Saturday ran a 10k, Sunday did a recovery 6k, afterwards came back and saw that pee was pink, no other symptoms. Recently upping mileage to 30-40km a week. Googling found out that is called "exercise induced hematuria". quite common among male runners, wanted to check if any here experienced the same before, since then my urine has cleared up already

WussRedXLi

Hello fellow joggers, any of the males here after a run got blood in pee or pee is pink in color before?

Saturday ran a 10k, Sunday did a recovery 6k, afterwards came back and saw that pee was pink, no other symptoms. Recently upping mileage to 30-40km a week. Googling found out that is called "exercise induced hematuria". quite common among male runners, wanted to check if any here experienced the same before, since then my urine has cleared up already

Yea clear up ok, another similar conidtion that has darker urine not uncommon for spinners also....dont know why, maybe this area of fitness esp susceptible to peer pressure and the environment that they are in (techno and flashing lights etc). Then newbies overpush.
Runners also can kena, though more likely for longer distances.

Got study even

Xq7mtzU.jpg

https://www.mountelizabeth.com.sg/health-plus/article/rhabdomyolysis-exercise-spin-crossfit

LWZ

ya, happened to me once last year

Ender

I had that many years back. Se doc the next day, and the urine sample I gave has no trace of blood. I do see blood in the urine the night before, which is just after the run. . Anyway, the doctor wasn't concern since no trace the next day. But the pee qty is low, so I was dehydrated. I remembered it was tough run, felt dehydrated. Was advised by the doc to stay hydrated, coz a fully empty bladder, blood vessels easier to rupture, something like that. Anyway, haven't had it anymore. IF it cleared up overnight, I wouldn't worry too much. But if the blood is still present after a while, then see a doc for peace of mind.

WussRedXLi

Sounds like a less severe form of hernia

So same thing, I believe core stuff can help greatly reduce risk in such things, so that you can remain consistent and no need to take what 2-3 months off.

WussRedXLi

Think it's closer to very low 11s from what i stopwatched (wo downloading it and checking it on software) but still......

Kuudere

Wah, looks like signifcant improvement. For such shorter distances and faster timings, 30 seconds is a heck lot. (9 to 8.30 is not the same as 13 to 12.30)

edit - eh you still not full send lah. 168bpm max only, and young fella also
I was 8.47 in late june, so about 8 seconds improvement. If translate to 10km, 30+ secs. Then 21.1km, at least 1 min cut. Just training for 5km off 55km/week.

8 minutes to hit max HR is quite tough, I need to run for at least 12-15 minutes. Somewhere around 3.5-4km. Correspond to Vo2max.
crazy speed . thats insane
There's definitely still some room for improvement. I was mostly doing 5k training, will go into 2.4k training after Pocari Sweat Run at the end of this month. See how it goes, mainly just doing my workouts and not expecting too much.

WussRedXLi

Just
I was 8.47 in late june, so about 8 seconds improvement. If translate to 10km, 30+ secs. Then 21.1km, at least 1 min cut. Just training for 5km off 55km/week.

8 minutes to hit max HR is quite tough, I need to run for at least 12-15 minutes. Somewhere around 3.5-4km. Correspond to Vo2max.

There's definitely still some room for improvement. I was mostly doing 5k training, will go into 2.4k training after Pocari Sweat Run at the end of this month. See how it goes, mainly just doing my workouts and not expecting too much.

I think can hit max HR if you warmed up for 2.4 easy before the 2.4 plus some strides and solid round of skips and dynamic movements etc (the A/B skips can get mine to 140+ bpm or zone 3, quite power if you apply some power to it, ie dynamic mah) .
Of coz sometimes it depends on the individual/preference coz i guess some might not be able to withstand such longer warm ups, but i think you can lah......
I read that these shorter durations like 1.5k, 2.4 maybe even longer warm up distance than the actual race, but of coz easy + some strides at the back or something. Some people even run 5k warm up before 5k but for me i cap it to below 3 just by feel.

wj1984

wow rail corridor... exactly the same route i run weekly!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.