[GLGT]”Singaporeans rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost

boh_liao

i think u misunderstood the whole thing...

sinkie in sg don wann to spend $$ eat atas food in SG.. only eat caipung using CDC

money save liao go JP eat atas food enjoy atas service
of coz mah. when you go for holidays, sure you will want to experience their culture and food and also post on social media to show off. how often do we go to japan (just an example)? so if we are there, sure we are more willing to spend.

i just find the article weird for such comparison

KYZT2021

if the card discount is 20 percent, at most offset the GST and Service charge

Macrossvin

The quality of food is not as great in Singapore as mostly are imported. Whereas, the farm to table is shorter in jpn or other parts of country. Plus its way cheaper as the food does not need to go through many middle man as well as take a flight.

On top of that, service staff are paid little in other countries and rental is low.

Sg has gone up because of the reits. On one hand we have very new buildings every 20 to 30 years. On the other, high rental is being passed on to the customers.

The price differential is very real now. Hence many are cooking at home. Rather than eat out.

Have reits that are partly co op and own by employees / people rather than capitalists.
Totally agree..... Reits is one issue...... I support industry reits... but not retail...... due to reits.... they kept raising the rental in order to give more dividends every quarter

king2penn

Orbi-good. have boycotted almost all restaurants & cafes this year. Have also limited fast food
Prices are ridiculous & people have less spending power nowadays

I'll stick to my food courts (those that are still reasonable) & hawker centers

standarture

Even at 1 SGD to 100 YEN, it is still cheaper to eat in JPN lol. Free water or wet wipes, tax included price is machiam SG menu price before service and GST. But service is much better. One cup of 200ml tap water is only $0.008 leh.

SG F&B industry lacking a lot of standards. If want to charge service charge must at least provide decent service la.

standarture

The quality of food is not as great in Singapore as mostly are imported. Whereas, the farm to table is shorter in jpn or other parts of country. Plus its way cheaper as the food does not need to go through many middle man as well as take a flight.

On top of that, service staff are paid little in other countries and rental is low.

Sg has gone up because of the reits. On one hand we have very new buildings every 20 to 30 years. On the other, high rental is being passed on to the customers.

The price differential is very real now. Hence many are cooking at home. Rather than eat out.

Have reits that are partly co op and own by employees / people rather than capitalists.

Actually, they do use a lot of China products in their food too.

king2penn

Even at 1 SGD to 100 YEN, it is still cheaper to eat in JPN lol. Free water or wet wipes, tax included price is machiam SG menu price before service and GST. But service is much better. One cup of 200ml tap water is only $0.008 leh.

SG F&B industry lacking a lot of standards. If want to charge service charge must at least provide decent service la.
is true when u eat in Japan you realize how low quality & expensive most Singapore restaurants and cafes are. Nowadays go cafe alr 25/pax minimum. Crazy.

Redbull1628

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/li...-dire-straits-more-closures-expected-year-end

“Inflation (in Singapore) is at a pretty drastic level, interest rates don’t look like they’re coming down till next year, and even some high-profile bankers I’ve spoken to warn of a recession,” he says.

“Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost 20 per cent to your bill each time. And manpower quotas are causing a really big problem.”

He adds that restaurant prices in Singapore aren’t high “because we want to charge a lot”. In fact, “if you look at it from a chef’s perspective, given the high cost of ingredients, it’s good value because we don’t make much”.

He cites the three-Michelin-starred Les Amis as an example. “When you see the amount of food they give you, (such as) the caviar, yes, it’s expensive but it’s good value. Compare that to, say Robuchon in Macau, where it costs S$600 for lunch per head, and it’s full house.”

Although some new investors have approached him and his landlord did offer to renew his lease, Koh declined, as he feels the market is the worst it’s been since Covid. In fact, he even thrived during the pandemic thanks to his captive market of expats; but once the travel floodgates opened, many left, leaving a big impact on his business.

:s14:
ya….i fly over to jap for dinner

Godeau

"Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them.."

huh? dont want to spend $10 eating here but ok to spend thousands abroad and eat there?
Means people rather go overseas and let others earn their money instead. A spiteful and rather illogical approach, but still, it makes some sense because the service in many eateries is horrible, yet there is still a service charge ontop of sky high prices

sunnyisandsingapore

Singapore customer service is way below standard and sometimes, customers get abused and have to tolerate the crews' smelly faces, as if we owe them money.

Plus, the food portion and quality are not up to standard and low value for the steep prices we paid.

So, with the high price, small portion, low quality, and lousy customer service in Singapore, I rather take my money elsewhere or save it up for use when I travel abroad.

justln

Singapore import everything, ingredients really high cost.
Coupled that with staff salary, rental and other operating costs, FnB is very hard to survive in Singapore.

If you want to lose money, open FnB.

king2penn

Means people rather go overseas and let others earn their money instead. A spiteful and rather illogical approach, but still, it makes some sense because the service in many eateries is horrible, yet there is still a service charge ontop of sky high prices
actually same for spending

ill rather buy Uniqlo in Japan than here. Uniqlo in SG now is crazy expensive. Avoid buying most of the time unless really need

joshua182

A big portion of new residents are from China and India right.

They know how to cook, they enjoy cooking and most of all they are keenly aware in the long run cooking at home saves more money unless one is ok with eating hawker food everyday...

Anyway 10 years ago Japan more ex than SG. Now SG much more ex than Japan, with much poorer standards and quality.

Gattaca1812

Actually, they do use a lot of China products in their food too.
Yeah I agree. Having said that, the jpn rice is better. The japanese vegetables are sweeter. So are the melons. Tha shine muscats are overrated and soon the chinese ones will overtake them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.