Hour Glass Singapore sold me fake Rolex accessories on the Rolex watch I bought for my wife as an souvenir.

RadEoNic

To Rolex my friend, to Rolex.
All these years u service at Rolex, now then they say no to u???????

then u never ask them why still let u service?
I thought they will even refuse normal servicing if u mod your watch
Doesn’t make sense leh

SimpliCity2k

They say they won't verify if genuine anot.

Those times many more financially abled sinkies bought directly when touring in swiss w/ serial numbers went to centre just to chk after returning to Sinkapore to how-lian

& peace of mind to qualify for later servicing~

Philipkee

Nobody knows the full details except TS.

With the invoice and the cert issued by the company, the least they can do is to at least pick up the complaint and work with TS to resolve it. Whether he did anything to the watch or not, a conversation will be able to find out.

However it sounds like the company instead choose to washed their hands off it? Like that you dare to buy expensive things from that company?
It’s been 30 years so I dunno. Even I buy expensive stuff also might be long gone by then.

eyz

if the decoration are not part of the original design, there is nothing wrong to say it's fake.

if you add diamond, change bezel, it's definitely not original.

what is more important is whether the movement is original or not, as that is something that cannot mod.

parchiao

Why? Because watch needed repair 10 + years after purchased date and yes too, the watch is now near 30 years old. Hope I helped clear up this small maths enigma for all.

You still not clear.

You bought a watch in 1995. Around 2005, you sent the watch in to Rolex and they said not in original condition, so will not repair? If my memory serves me well, Rolex will offer to repair your watch by replacing the parts with genuine ones and you will have to pay for the parts.

Ao now is almost 30 years later, how did you get the watch repaired?

drkcynic

It’s been 30 years so I dunno. Even I buy expensive stuff also might be long gone by then.
Well exactly. Who will dare to buy expensive family heirlooms then if after X years the authencity kenna questioned and the company who sold it to you act bodoh?

If the company cannot give consumers peace of mind maybe they shouldn't sell while providing cert and invoice because it means nothing. 20+k in 1995 not small amount.

standarture

Well exactly. Who will dare to buy expensive family heirlooms then if after X years the authencity kenna questioned and the company who sold it to you act bodoh?

If the company cannot give consumers peace of mind maybe they shouldn't sell while providing cert and invoice because it means nothing. 20+k in 1995 not small amount.

Problem is TS is one person only. If many watches found to be fakes, then got case. But the fact remains is that TS could have serviced it elsewhere and the parts could have be swapped/watch modified.

Philipkee

If the company cannot give consumers peace of mind maybe they shouldn't sell. 20+k in 1995 not small amount.
Let’s hope TS is telling the truth. We don’t need the whole truth. But he should be telling the truth otherwise he might kenna big time from a lawsuit

We don’t need the whole truth. The whole truth will come out in court if it comes to that.

@MrTanPaiLaw

Then why is it you had no problem before then now you have? Could it be Rolex policy changed?
Understand this. The first and only time I took it in for any servicing was to Rolex for repair was some 10+ years later after the purchase date. Rolex refused to repair. Hour Glass Singapore refused to be responsible. We still keep the watch that need repair, along with the purchase receipt and the Rolex certificate.

drkcynic

Problem is TS is one person only. If many watches found to be fakes, then got case. But the fact remains is that TS could have serviced it elsewhere and the parts could have be swapped/watch modified.
Like I said, if the company want to sell expensive thing with cert and invoice, the least they can do is to talk to TS and try to resolve it and not leave him dissatisfied which he obviously is.

Otherwise what is the whole point of issuing the cert under their name.

standarture

Understand this. The first and only time I took it in for any servicing was to Rolex for repair was some 10+ years later after the purchase date. Rolex refused to repair. Hour Glass Singapore refused to be responsible. We still keep the watch that need repair, along with the purchase receipt and the Rolex certificate.

So 20 years later you come here and raise this issue?

Mebeater

I'm willing to bet that TS' nick is his real name. Boomer's standard pattern.

RadEoNic

S
so 20 years later then u bring up again?
I mean, sure u can, but u left it in its unrepaired state until now suddenly remember then post in edmw to stir ah

coolad74

No leh. They clearly said they will never verify for you. As in they will never explictly tell you your watch is fake or real.

Nvm, guess what they mean is must topup money for the verification.
Yup, they will never tell u explicitly is fake They will politely decline to service or authenticate for you. Good what, implicitly u now something wrong Liao and no need pay.

And they WILL NOT replace fake parts with real ones even if u want to pay for it hor. This will create another scammer paradise to get original parts.

standarture

Seems TS just happened to read that old thread and posted this for awareness.

trojanhorse

I believe the buyer is genuine.

1. Back in those days, it could be salesman 偷龙转凤。
2. When it items brought in, nobody knew how to check.

I believe it is Hourglass 员工 fault.

Back more than 20 years ago, lots of fake 天珠 that nobody knows how to differentiate. I have verified 鉴定 Dzi 天珠。Many Singaporeans bought it for S$20K as much as S$50K turned out to be fake. Many rich uncles and aunties jumped out and “laao baak saai”. I can 鉴定 新天珠 老天珠 FOC.

#新天珠 #老天珠

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.