DIY PC Rig Recommendations For 2025

herzog21

@deepblue_82 @NightRaven49

That's mighty helpful of u.

I have revised my rig accordingly to yr recommendations.

ASUS TUF GAMING B650M-E WIFI + AMD Ryzen 7700 - $510
TEAM T-FORCE DELTA RGB DDR5 6000MHz CL30 32GB - $175
Powercolour 7800xt - $650
Thermalright Phantom spirit 120 se - $65
6x Thermalright PWM TL-C12C-S ARGB - $32
Samsung 980 Pro 7000MB/s Gen4 Nvme M.2 500GB(5yrs) - $105
Adata XPG Core Reactor - $125
Montech Air 903 Max Case - $100
Windows 11 Pro 64 - $13
Office Pro Plus - $15

Total damage $1790

Still sticking to 500 GB ssd as i will be reusing back my 840 pro ssd and 2x wd blue 2TB as my secondary drives

Any 10Gbps Nic to recommend? Not familiar with this....

deepblue_82

@deepblue_82 @NightRaven49

That's mighty helpful of u.

I have revised my rig accordingly to yr recommendations.

Samsung 980 Pro 7000MB/s Gen4 Nvme M.2 500GB(5yrs) - $105
Adata XPG Core Reactor - $125
Windows 11 Pro 64 - $13
Office Pro Plus - $15

Total damage $1790

Still sticking to 500 GB ssd as i will be reusing back my 840 pro ssd and 2x wd blue 2TB as my secondary drives

looks cool for me...... pretty much top of the line with the correct savings here and there...

NightRaven49

for a 10g pcie nic, u need at least 2 lanes of pcie gen3, while the tuf b650m-e only has x1 slots for expansion beyond the gpu; while they are gen4 capable, most pcie nics are gen3 only so this is not enough bandwidth for 10gbps. the board also has the primary pcie x16 slot at slot 2 while the powercolor 78xts are 2.5slots thick, which means those x1 slots would be blocked by the gpu anyway, so it might not be the best mobo if u want to include a 10g pcie card. for a slightly cheaper price u can consider the asrock b650m pg lightning, which has a gen3 x4 slot 3 slots away from the primary x16 slot. it is a much more basic board compared to the tuf though, so u can also consider boards like the asrock b650 steel legend, gigabyte b650m aorus elite or the asus proart b650-creator which also have an ideal pcie layout for this configuration, alongside costing more but u are getting a more feature rich board.

as for specific models of 10g pcie expansion cards, im not too sure either. u can refer to this thread here by @Mach3.2: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/1gbe-and-beyond-ethernet-adapters.7068236/
its listed for $52.

i dont think its worth the $20-40 saving, especially when ur paying 1.8k for the whole pc. since u seem willing to shop around multiple stores, one place to save $20 is to go for the adata xpg lancer blade 2x 16gb 6000mhz cl30 from pckaki 1 floor above dynacore, then take that saving and double ur storage with either the crucial or wd drives mentioned previously.
the air 903 max already comes with 4 140mm fans populated, which should generally be enough airflow. this also means u only have 5 fan mounts left, 2 of which i feel dont have that much of a benefit because they are sitting on top of the psu shroud. referring to this tpu review, the out of box fan configuration is already very good for temperatures, maybe u can skip the additional fans entirely. @KleoZy did receive a review sample too, maybe can ask him for his experience with it.

pr0dygi

Processor - Ryzen5 7500F
Cooler - Phantom Spirit
Motherboard - ASUS TUF GAMING B650M-E WIFI
RAM - 32GB TEAM T-FORCE DELTA RGB DDR5 6000MHz CL30
Storage - Samsung 980 Pro 7000MB/s Gen4 Nvme M.2
Casing - Montech AIR 100 LITE
Graphics Card - Powercolor Hellhound Amd Radeon RX 7800XT 16GB OC Triple Fan GDDR6
Power Supply - Core Reactor or CM 750 Gold

Noticed the MSI mobo being recommended more, is it the superior board? Saw on YT that the asus mobo has lower temps and decided to stick with it. Unless there's something I'm missing. Quite particular about temps because game often shut down my current system due to overheating issues, usually gpu(rtx1080). Have to open the side panel and not playing on higher settings despite able to run it. Also, afterburner.

Any parts can change to lower the price without affect much reliability? Going with invader so probably dynacore pricelist.

Thanks!

soreloser

Processor - Ryzen5 7500F
Cooler - Phantom Spirit
Graphics Card - Powercolor Hellhound Amd Radeon RX 7800XT 16GB OC Triple Fan GDDR6

Noticed the MSI mobo being recommended more, is it the superior board? Saw on YT that the asus mobo has lower temps and decided to stick with it. Unless there's something I'm missing. Quite particular about temps because game often shut down my current system due to overheating issues, usually gpu(rtx1080). Have to open the side panel and not playing on higher settings despite able to run it.

Any parts can change to lower the price without affect much reliability? Going with invader so probably dynacore pricelist.

Thanks!
The temps you are talking about is VRM temps on the motherboard, will mostly likely not affect the GPU temps. If you want to have a GPU that doesn't overheat, make sure to undervolt and you will be fine. Can follow guides/import undervolt profile from Ancient Gameplays on youtube, he does extensive testing and tuning on AMD GPUs

pr0dygi

Abit paranoid liao. Lol. I think i got use msi afterburner to undervolt abit but still either super hot to the point im uncomfortable (90+ degrees) or still shuts down my system. End up i still play at normal settings despite having one of the better cards during its launch. Hope it doesn't repeat again.

Recently my friend who is using aftershock system also kana the same issue. He is using 3080. Really sian. Spend money but cannot play high setting in peace.

soreloser

Abit paranoid liao. Lol. I think i got use msi afterburner to undervolt abit but still either super hot to the point im uncomfortable (90+ degrees) or still shuts down my system. End up i still play at normal settings despite having one of the better cards during its launch. Hope it doesn't repeat again.

Recently my friend who is using aftershock system also kana the same issue. He is using 3080. Really sian. Spend money but cannot play high setting in peace.
dont need to worry so much. Your build looks like its decent for airflow, PS120 + montech air should be fine for airflow.

bladez87

Do you all build your own pc or is there a service provider? Because from the first post, it seems like the parts are sourced across multiple shops, then how does one build the pc if never done it before? Thanks

Koenig168

Do you all build your own pc or is there a service provider? Because from the first post, it seems like the parts are sourced across multiple shops, then how does one build the pc if never done it before? Thanks

I don't normally recommend LTT except for entertainment value :D but this seems like a decent guide.

我的超酷故事

Going for a mostly-white build, keeping it under $2k +/-.
Following NightRaven49's recommendation - thanks bro.

CPU+MOBO: Ryzen 5 7500f + MSI b650m gaming plus wifi ($408 Dynacore)
GPU: SAPPHIRE PULSE AMD Radeon RX 7800 XT 16G 16GB GDDR6 Graphics Card ($659 Dynacore)

RAM: XPG lancer blade rgb 2x 16gb 6000c30 ddr5 ($155 Bizgram)
OR TEAM T-FORCE DELTA RGB DDR5 6000MHz CL30 WHITE ($175 Dynacore)

SSD: WD BLACK SN850X 2TB ($225 Dynacore)
PSU: XPG core reactor 850w ($129 Performance PC)
CASE: CORSAIR 4000D Airflow White ($119 Dynacore)

Cooling Option 1 AIR: Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE ARGB ($54 Bizgram)
Cooling Option 2 AIO: Lian Li Galahad ii Trinity 240 SL-INF White ($199 Dynacore)

---------------------------------------

Since the case only comes with 2x stock fan, I'm thinking of replacing it, depending on whether I'm doing AIO or Air.
Option 1, AIR: Phantom Spirit + 6x Casing Fan (2x 3-pack Lian Li SL-Infinity 120) = $58+109+109 = $276
Option 2, AIO: Lian Li Galahad ii Trinity 240 SL-INF White + 3-pack Lian Li SL-Infinity 120 + 1-pack = $199+109+38 = $346 Difference of $70 I get a visual upgrade.

Casing 4000D I intend to remove the HDD bay since not using and also for better airflow.

Any suggestions on savings/improvements welcomed!

NightRaven49

Noticed the MSI mobo being recommended more, is it the superior board? Saw on YT that the asus mobo has lower temps and decided to stick with it. Unless there's something I'm missing.
not really, but it does pack most of what most users want for $20 less at dynacore. the msi board does have a weaker vrm (which should still be enough for a 7/9950x), but also has a secondary nvme heatsink (which the tuf board lacks), wifi 6e (6 non e on the tuf) and is fully usb3 on the rear io (half of the tuf boards rear usb are of the 2.0 spec). the tuf board offers pcie gen5 nvme, but at this point in time it is kind of irrelevant given how much more costly gen5 drives are with very marginal real world use gain, and all the recommendations are still on gen4 drives at most. make sure u are getting the plus version of the board, the msi gaming non plus should be avoided if possible.
vrm temperatures are generally not a primary consideration; assuming u are watching hwu videos on mobo testing, they do emphasise that vrm temperatures should only be considered after things like features and pricing, and should only come into play as a tiebreaker. for a 7500f, there should be 0 concern since it does not pull that much power compared the 7950x that is used in testing, and even if u do upgrade to an x3d cpu for better gaming performance, the x3d chips are generally more efficient, with the 78x3d actually pulling less power for more fps.
Quite particular about temps because game often shut down my current system due to overheating issues, usually gpu(rtx1080). Have to open the side panel and not playing on higher settings despite able to run it.
as soreloser mentioned, vrm temperatures dont usually affect gpu temperatures since the power dissipated by the vrm is miniscule compared to most gpus, most likely the other way around that is the case.

invader currently does not offer any builds with the 7500f, and doesnt follow 100% to dynacore pricelist depsite being affiliated, since i do see some top ups for upgrades not tallying with the price differential for the same upgrade from the pricelist. personally, i would shop for alternatives from other sources: u can get similar spec ram from performance pc for $20 less, crucial t500s and wd sn850xs are generally cheaper than 980 pros for very similar performance, and u can get cheap powercolor 78xts (non hellhound) from techyard.
Because from the first post, it seems like the parts are sourced across multiple shops, then how does one build the pc if never done it before?
can learn from friends or online resources then try urself, or can get a computer shop to build it for u (usually for a fee).
GPU: SAPPHIRE PULSE AMD Radeon RX 7800 XT 16G 16GB GDDR6 Graphics Card ($659 Dynacore)
maybe can consider sapphire pure for white aesthetic, but it is $100 more. or if u want to save money, techyard has a similar 2 fan model from powercolor for $35 less.
SSD: WD BLACK SN850X 2TB ($225 Dynacore)
amazon got sk hynix p41 plat 2tb for $200.
PSU: XPG core reactor 850w ($129 Performance PC)
650w enough for 7500f + 78xt, can get the supernova ga 650w for $20 cheaper from pc themes.
CASE: CORSAIR 4000D Airflow White ($119 Dynacore)

Since the case only comes with 2x stock fan, I'm thinking of replacing it, depending on whether I'm doing AIO or Air.
there are better value cases out there, and since u are using an matx mobo i would suggest getting an matx case as well, since there will be a lot of empty space if u put a matx mobo in an atx case. a white montech air 100 argb can be found for $81 at vii pc, and already packs 4 rgb fans so u dont have to buy extra. or for $6 more than the 4000d, u can get the lian li lancool 216 white from bizgram with 2 huge 160mm rgb intake fans.

deepblue_82

wait 90+ degrees clearly something is wrong already..........

deepblue_82

if u lazy or dont know how.. u can go to nigel he will put togather it for u for a nominal fee

PC CARE & Solution​

R6exR6

Processor - Ryzen5 7500F
Cooler - Phantom Spirit

Noticed the MSI mobo being recommended more, is it the superior board? Saw on YT that the asus mobo has lower temps and decided to stick with it. Unless there's something I'm missing. Quite particular about temps because game often shut down my current system due to overheating issues, usually gpu(rtx1080). Have to open the side panel and not playing on higher settings despite able to run it. Also, afterburner.

Thanks!
I noticed Asus boards are superior to the rest for onboard audio. Bet this X870 finding is applicable to B650 series too, coz same SupremeFX audio. Asus normally not best value though. Asrock takes the crown for that. I'm picking the Asus Strix X870E-E for next year's 9950X3D (or 9800X3D).

ARMKTSKXSG

INTEL i5-14400F 2.5GHz 10CORE/16THREAD
ASUS TUF GAMING B760M-PLUS WIFI DDR5
INTEL COOLER
KINGSTON FURY BEAST RGB 6000MHz
16GB(8GBx2) CL36
ASUS DUAL GeForce RTX"" 4060 08G TWIN FAN
GDDR6
CRUCIAL P3 PLUS 1TB GEN4 NVMe M.2
SILVERSTONE ET650-650W V1.4 80+ BRONZE
NEOTEZ DEUS CASING
4 X 120MM ARGB FANS
HIGH-SPEED AX WIRELESS AND BT | WIFI 6 + BT 5.2
WINDOWS 11 HOME UN-ACTIVATED

Hi guys. Forgot my old email account so created a new one.
Need some assistance and recommendations for a new PC. I don't need to bring it around hence opting for a PC rather than a laptop. Is the above specs (from DynaC) overkill for someone who does not play PC games at all?

Mostly I will be doing
- sound/music production via an audio interface.
- very basic photo/video editing.
- MS office.
Thanks in advance.

soreloser

Going for a small build, Please advise. Thank!

Chose this case cause can fit quite alot of things in a small case

Went to Dynacore just now, they say this case can fit 360 AIO cooler and suggested getting ITX MB so that bottom of case can put fans to prevent GPU overheat.

Use case mostly fps gaming. Probably playing upcoming games also thats why chose this build

Case: LIAN LI DAN M-ATX A3 MESH CASING
MOBO: ASUS B650E-I GAMING WIFI ITX
CPU: 7800X3D
GPU: Asus Proart RTX4080 SUPER O16G Triple Fan OC GDDR6X
SSD: WD Black SN850X 1/2 tb
Ram: 32 or 64 gb ? only got 2 ram slots cause ITX
CPU cooler: 360 AIO cooler according to Dynacore
CPU fans: ?
PSU: ?
CPU Cooler: Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE (Currently running PA140 with my 7600x, getting 39C at idle and 40+ while playing CS2. Will save some money because AIOs dont respond well to AM5
CPU Fans: Arctic P12 (not sure how many u need)
PSU: 850W XPG Core reactor
Case: Lancool 216, because it has 2x 160 and 1x140 already included

soreloser

INTEL COOLER
16GB(8GBx2) CL36
GDDR6
NEOTEZ DEUS CASING
4 X 120MM ARGB FANS

Need some assistance and recommendations for a new PC. I don't need to bring it around hence opting for a PC rather than a laptop. Is the above specs (from DynaC) overkill for someone who does not play PC games at all?

Mostly I will be doing
- MS office.
Thanks in advance.
Looks good to me. Never did anything related to video/photo editing, but the 4060 should be good enough for basic tasks

bladez87

Was exploring the possibility of buying a desktop from taobao... Any advice?

NightRaven49

Went to Dynacore just now, they say this case can fit 360 AIO cooler and suggested getting ITX MB so that bottom of case can put fans to prevent GPU overheat.
Case: LIAN LI DAN M-ATX A3 MESH CASING
MOBO: ASUS B650E-I GAMING WIFI ITX
CPU: 7800X3D
wah they really out to chop ppl sia, ask u get a super expensive itx board + 360mm aio when u dont need either at all. the a3-matx can comfortably fit an matx board with bottom fans, and the 78x3d is extremely easy to cool with a simple tower cooler being more than up to the task. suggest u get the asrock b650m pg lightning combo with the 78x3d, save a couple hundred dollars with no sacrifice to compatibility.
GPU: Asus Proart RTX4080 SUPER O16G Triple Fan OC GDDR6X
if not urgent, best to hold off high end gpu purchases as next gen is coming start of next year, which usually means some performance uplift for the same price (hopefully).
CPU cooler: 360 AIO cooler according to Dynacore
PSU: ?
as mentioned previously, a regular tower air cooler is enough to cool a 78x3d, just get their cheapest which is the thermalright ax120r se. psu wise, u can consider the adata xpg core reactor ii ve 750w or msi a750gl, either cost about the same at dynacore and should come with the 12vhpwr connector, and since both are 140mm long u should have the full gpu compatibility too.
INTEL COOLER
16GB(8GBx2) CL36
GDDR6
NEOTEZ DEUS CASING
4 X 120MM ARGB FANS

Mostly I will be doing
- MS office.
Thanks in advance.
quite overkill, u probably dont need a dgpu. a simple igpu system like with a 5600g for less than $600 will do, or perhaps mini pcs for even less.
Was exploring the possibility of buying a desktop from taobao... Any advice?
individual parts sure and maybe some mini pcs, but getting full builds from there is quite iffy, since their gpu prices are not that great and shipping cost + gst will destroy whatever savings u thought u would have gotten based on sticker prices alone. u also dont get local warranty.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.