Min Min

I am opposite, want to get out of sg to work but my field is mostly local jobs

what is your field?
I have support roles too but don’t pay as well la
Recruit from TW better?

This I concour!

TS, I ever attended for an Interview at a SemiCon company somewhere near Tampines (I don't want to reveal the company's name), albeit it's for an IT Operations Manager.

Sit for almost 1hr+, interviewed by 3 people (1HR & 2 IT guys), ask me about my experience & the tools (SaaS) that I'd used before; then, I realised that it was more like information gathering. Cause they kept asking things like how Jumpcloud is better compared to Microsoft Intunes & et cetera (it also hits me that the 2 IT guys never heard of Jumpcloud before - but always gave people the benefit of the doubt).

To short-cut the story, the interview went well & all 3 of them were keen to offer me the role. They told me that they would get back to me in a couple of days. Guess what? I'm still waiting for the offer email that never came till today :LOL:. When I reached out to the 3 of them, even via WhatsApp, all I got was nothing.

After that experience any IT Role in SemiCon, I totally avoid cause I worried later kena-CON again.

local firm ah?

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
semicon companies are quite selective on skillset and exp not anyone can apply. this industry is quite cut throat. i know ppl do 5 digit monthly pay and then got lay off in a few months. funny thing is half year later they start hiring same position again.

twodragon

The problem here is local bosses dun think that way, their thinking is ppl owe them 1st and foremost. They wan Exp, good fast and no trouble but how many is willing to pay for it. It's always ''YOU prove to me 1st'' rather then the other way round and when Gen Z comes up and dun take up their bull, the narrative becomes '' good worker hard to find these days''.

I think Corp seems to forget an interview is 2 way, not 1. He's looking for a job yes but it's not like he dun have a choice. Similarly, you dun owe him a job just becuz he turned up too. If a corp is really sincere in looking for a good candidate for the role and there's no ******** inside, fill free to pay market rate for example, instead of basing it on his last drawn. If after 3 month, he's not what u want? Well, dun clear his prob then.

If it turn out to be the right choice or even a better then expected candidate, you got someone for market rate and it's totally no loss to the coy at all. So i dun understand the need to play low ball last pay in 2024. Gen Z is not stupid, they might ask for the sky yes but realistically, some coy also need to internal self judge la.

GES survey from previous year would be good for getting a gauge at how much u should be paid. Local poly/ uni..... only dumb dumb gen z dunno how see and accept low ball offer

But if 1st jod nvm, suck thumb accept if despo, moi have friend wait 6 months after NS to get "market rate" jod .... but thats 6 months of 0 income essentially compared to taking a low ball jod while finding better opportunities

juergenlam

Lol. Look at the prospect of STEM degree holders surely everyone wants to go finance trust fund. For race to bottom job, hard work low pay. Engineering jobs can nvr achieve equity with other professionals. On the end need FT to supplement the workforce. So far in my engineering career I havonly seen 1 case of a person who has no need to slog in terms of soft skills or hard skills and managed to earn high salary doing a entry level job. Most ppl long hours thankless job and greatly disrespected by society

Kuudere

what is your field?
I have support roles too but don’t pay as well la

local firm ah?
I am under research/healthcare, I have never gotten private company job offers based off my resume

wwenze

I had a hard time getting people to work in the semiconductor Industry

good benefits etc and overseas exposure and yet don’t get enough fresh nor qualified experienced engineers/researchers coming forward

And then we have the fresh grads with no family burdens also refuse to get out of SG to venture for a good career ahead

So it’s not really no jobs it’s more like people have many conditions they set for themselves, how to make money or get a good career if not ready for change?

I travelled out of SG for work once.

It clashed with my 8th ict and cost me my MR

charlieangel123

good benefits etc and overseas exposure and yet don’t get enough fresh nor qualified experienced engineers/researchers coming forward

And then we have the fresh grads with no family burdens also refuse to get out of SG to venture for a good career ahead

So it’s not really no jobs it’s more like people have many conditions they set for themselves, how to make money or get a good career if not ready for change?
these days nobody is engineer
engineer is blur collar job

Kuudere

Curious whats ur uni course, cannot pivot?
Public health, not easy to pivot. I have applied to private sector companies before but never got an interview with them. My last job, had 15 interviews all from university/hospital/research institutes. My current job application, so far, have 6 interviews, similar outcome as last time (3 academia, 3 hospitals).

4Dluckystrike

You pay 5k wash toilet , i dont believe no one wan to do..
Ppty, insurance, phv firms you never hear no ppl want to join ..
this shows how bad engineer career stigma is..

Yaoxis

You not 空姐 meh ??

When you become recruiting for engineering positions??

Yaoxis

What is the prospects, what career advancements and benefits?

Sometimes overseas exposure is simply just to fill a job, get somebody to do leg work, no prospects one. Paint picture nice but actually it's just a role.
画大饼。。。。

:)

Hot_Dog

chiu must understand EDMWers. Don't just take their jiao way at face value leh. ran jiao rangs alot chiu noe.

jeffrey745

In the meantime I have my friends finding it very difficult to land engineering roles.

jeffrey745

You want qualified experienced... then you say fresh grads don't want.

Can make up your mind?

How to get fresh grad and still expect to be qualified experienced? Of course cannot find la!

They wanna find an experienced, qualified engineer and pay them fresh grad salary :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.