Starhub UltraSpeed 3Gbps/5Gbps/10Gbps plans

007Mi6

For some strange reason I tried to sign up but kept getting not able to create a new account or not able to login.

Did you guys encounter such an issue?

RayRay0

For some strange reason I tried to sign up but kept getting not able to create a new account or not able to login.

Did you guys encounter such an issue?
I remembered reading it somewhere SH made it difficult for existing users to sign up. I signed up as a new customer initially at my iPad and for some reasons half way through the process I experienced error and got kicked out from the page

So I use my phone to sign up instead and everything went smoothly. Maybe using different devices might help with the issue

ishootprovia

Thanks to all who have shared in this forum, I managed to get the 5 Gbps ONT plan installed(out-of-contract Starhub 500Mbps existing customer).

Would like to confirm that the digital voice service can be transferred to the new ONT for the 5Gbps service. However mine did take 3 weeks for the line to be provisioned on my Nokia ONT. Starhub cited some "backend issues" but they did give updates in 2 to 3 day intervals with clear timeslots (i.e. 4pm to 6pm) without me prompting, so I was kept informed.

First bill stated an installation fee of $80+ which was waived, but there was no mention of NLT activation fee at all.

RayRay0

I will be getting 2.5Gbps capable router and mesh for the 5Gbps ONT plan.

Staying in HDB now and it’s already laid with Cat 6 cables by them

Many people have different suggestions on using Cat 6 and Cat 6a to Cat 7 Ethernet cables

Cat 6 - some said capable of up to 10Gbps and up to 50m distance. Shopee said up to 1Gbps only and recommend Cat 6a minimum

Cat 6a and 7 - might create bottleneck because cat 6 is already laid out by HDB

Any experts here on recommendation whether to use Cat 6 or Cat 6a/7 for a 2.5Gbps router and mesh for 5Gbps ONT plan? All of my devices are wired within 1m except mesh node in bedroom which may need 3m or more to be placed nearer to the door

xiangzeng

need to pay disconnection fee if you dont want to continue Starhub broadband in future

starhub-disconnection-fee.png
same as MR and viewquest which are all yao gui for money. That is why MR can pay its employees each for $51,000 per year.

Thanks for your information of this condition. I will not think of getting SH for its service due to its yao gui mentality.

xiangzeng

Many people have different suggestions on using Cat 6 and Cat 6a to Cat 7 Ethernet cables

Cat 6 - some said capable of up to 10Gbps and up to 50m distance. Shopee said up to 1Gbps only and recommend Cat 6a minimum

Any experts here on recommendation whether to use Cat 6 or Cat 6a/7 for a 2.5Gbps router and mesh for 5Gbps ONT plan? All of my devices are wired within 1m except mesh node in bedroom which may need 3m or more to be placed nearer to the door
ethernet cables are dirt cheap now. Cat 8 cables are very cheap and I have been using it since year 2022. look them up at shopee, vention cables are good and all my cables are by vention.

Skypower

my 5gbps installation completed yesterday. speedtest with my old huawei ax3000 (living room). my wireless pc with ax200 in my room (3m + 1 concrete wall). got only 600-700mbps. not much real upgrade from old 500mbps plan, which get 400+mbps.

my xiaomi be5000 just came. tested same pc got 1400-1500mbps. now my room, even toilet min 500mbps instead of double digit. jin happy, my family also jin happy now.
beside receiving the ONT, the installer also provide optical cable and network cable for connection to your router?

yeenfei

Haha I just signed up this morning and thinking was it me only. Anyway, after signing up the ONT deal, a sales rep called me to confirm the installation date

Both her and a live chat cs through WhatsApp I spoken to said the NLT one time charge of $61.04 will be waived off automatically and the monthly costs of $29.55 remain the same even after 24 months

Note that I am a new StarHub customer
I'm a new subscriber too, but nobody called/WA me, maybe because i intentionally pushed back my installation date? (i selected 20/11/2024)

xiangzeng

How would you charge the laid out cat6 cables in hdb to cat8?
My home is without pre-laid out cables. I measured the length needed to extend to each room and then buy the cat 8 cables according to each room from the router. then I buy the wire trunking cases from nearby hardware shop. drill holes to screw and hold the trunking cases, lay out the cat 8 cables and connect them to router. all DIY in about 2 days.

your case may vary. so you ask around for the handyman who can help you on this. Else, an electric drill, screws, 6 mm drill bit, screwdrivers, trunking cases, cat 8 cables and your effort is all is takes to complete the job.

SEALT6

Wanted to recontract my SH fibre broadband with the 5gbps $29.55 plan with ONT but it just hangs at the broadband configurator page. Tried using hp, laptop, chrome browser, edge browser..doesnt work :cry:

xiaofan

Unshielded CAT6 cable is perfectly fine for 10G for typical home use. No need to change the HDB cabling at all.

If you are laying cable by yourself, then CAT6 or CAT6A are both fine.

CAT5E is officially good for 2.5Gbe.

No point to use CAT7 or CAT8 at all. In fact they are shielded and typical DIY or installer can not do it properly.

JepH10

Wanted to recontract my SH fibre broadband with the 5gbps $29.55 plan with ONT but it just hangs at the broadband configurator page. Tried using hp, laptop, chrome browser, edge browser..doesnt work :cry:
Try signup first with the regular $45+ 5gbps plan. Just until you reach the appointment page or router selection. Then replace the url on your browser with the 29.55 ont link. Redo the signup.

RayRay0

Unshielded CAT6 cable is perfectly fine for 10G for typical home use. No need to change the HDB cabling at all.

If you are laying cable by yourself, then CAT6 or CAT6A are both fine.

CAT5E is officially good for 2.5Gbe.

No point to use CAT7 or CAT8 at all. In fact they are shielded and typical DIY or installer can not do it properly.
Awesome!! I will stay with Cat 6 cables then :)

RayRay0

I'm a new subscriber too, but nobody called/WA me, maybe because i intentionally pushed back my installation date? (i selected 20/11/2024)
Might be. It takes up to 3 working days to receive a call. Alternatively, give them a call

SEALT6

Try signup first with the regular $45+ 5gbps plan. Just until you reach the appointment page or router selection. Then replace the url on your browser with the 29.55 ont link. Redo the signup.

Thanks for the tip! Haha i tried again and now it says my address is not fibre ready even though I was on starhub fibre broadband for years. Will try later. Thank you :)

sk0065

1. Quick comparison of ONT vs ONR.
ONT --> you can use your own router to its full ability.

ONR --> it will be the main router of your home network. ONR will usually have limited FW features. The usual recommendation is to set your own router in AP mode to avoid Double NAT when using ONR. In that case, you lose major FW features of your own router. Power users will usually avoid ONR.

2. But if you do not care about the FW feature of your own router and you only care about wireless performance, then no issues to get the ONR option.
sorry to ask you ah
this ONT is a little too chim for me.

I am thinking of the ONR option.
my children connects to the router for wifi only.

If i sign the ONT plan, means i need to a seperate router is it?

(TV and my PC is wired to the existing starhub router)

yeenfei

sorry to ask you ah
this ONT is a little too chim for me.

I am thinking of the ONR option.
my children connects to the router for wifi only.

If i sign the ONT plan, means i need to a seperate router is it?

(TV and my PC is wired to the existing starhub router)
you need a router to be connected to the ONT (treat it as modem in old days).
if you reuse your existing router, chances are you are not fully utilising the bandwidth if the router is not 10G WAN.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.