I don’t think cheap hawker food is sustainable in Singapore

pwongkk

The rental rate for NEA managed hawker stores has been constant at around 1.2k per month since 2019.

There is also mechanism in place for rental to drop to that 1.2k level eventually at lease renewal.

So what she said doesnt seem wrong for NEA managed hawker stores. The issue shd be with those privately own food stores.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/new-measure-by-nea-to-deter-high-bids-for-hawker-stalls
There should be more controls over subletting. I don't think these sublet stalls are charged low rentals.

Ubi-Warrior

no reason for hawker food to exist if its not cheap. Its suppose to be a cheap alternative no? If hawker food and cafe/restaurant food is close in pricing, why bother with hawker?
Plus hawkers from the store i visit probably earns way more than me driving their new mercs and bmws

This is good point , if the price is same as a cafe , then what is the point of it?

Some Hawker also in prime area , so have very good land value to build condo/HDB

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
gotta be realistic somehow
espc customers

can't expect prices to be cheap as in the 80s or 90s

what we can do is to limit ourselves to how much we can afford to spend per week on dine-outs or dabao-ing

maybe try to self prep cook our own meals on weekends

just the simple things, even if it taste bland :s13:

:s22:

hawkwind

While rental might contribute to higher food prices, I think prices will not come down even with lower rentals. Low historical hawker food was a result of a generation and a half of relatively lower educated people who often had no better option than to become hawkers. As long as they were able to live reasonably they were satisfied. Our younger generation are different. They want to make as much hay as possible and will maximise profits where they can. I dun blame them.

jumpthepig

espc customers

what we can do is to limit ourselves to how much we can afford to spend per week on dine-outs or dabao-ing

maybe try to self prep cook our own meals om weekends

If so…..these people seems like having 3rd world quality of life :ROFLMAO:

TA20222025

I also think ppl need to ownself cook for family. Healthier. Less diabetic cases.

BUT PAP muz set working hours to 9am - 4.30pm. Same as developed nations. And no OT allowed. Ppl need to go home cook.

My buibui aunty neighbour who is fully retired still finds it a hassle to cook and prefers to eat cai png even though she spends her entire day watching Kdramas only. Some people are just plain lazy and don't mind damaging their health.

sunsetbay

so much of promoting Unesco title for hawker culture~ i dun see any culture on it, its business as usual~

focus1974

cos when too expensive, people will resort to skipping meals or eating just 2 meals or 1 meal a day, in turn they will become more healthy and less diseases. One cannot doubt the sincerity of our govt, they have our interest at heart. As they increase the transport fares constantly, i start walking more and never go far places like town as i have done before so it is a lifestyle change.
This is true!
Last time when i was in australia, I see a lot of office workers packing home food like sandwhiches and pasta for their breakfast and lunch .

so the only meal they need to eat outside if they are not going home would be the dinner.

But AMDK really poor SOB. I student I can afford $10+ meal for breakfast, lunch, dinner.. they cannot.. haiz..

Eliwood

My favourite stall now need to pay more for those central dishwashing. Their basic rent used to be only $500 years back.

Now that you mentioned this, how about the rentals at new hawker centres. Is it still 1.2k😬

U shd chk with NEA directly if u r so interested in the rent. Maybe can apply too to test the system.

grevq80o

Personally I don’t think cheap hawker food is sustainable in Singapore.

We are the only developed country in the world with this low-priced eating option.

People understand that hawkers also need to make a good living. So it’s politically incorrect for them to insist that they keep their profits or wages low.

Ingredients are largely out of Singapore’s control since we import most raw food.

So everyone gripes about rent.

But one thing Singapore definitely does not have enough is space.

At least PSP Hazel Poa was honest enough to suggest that the alternative to bidding is balloting.

Balloting however harms hawkers and consumers.

If I can pay more and charge less to cook char kway teow, why should I be allocated a stall by luck ?

There are no easy answers.

I think in the end , prices have to rise and more people will have to cook at home.

This is what most people in developed countries do.

- From Calvin Cheng Facebook
I don't think SG minister salary is sustainable.
I don't think SG population increase every year is sustainable
I don't think 20K passport given out to foreign trash is sustainable.

All ish a matter of perspective.

Foetid

“I think in the end , prices have to rise and more people will have to cook at home.

This is what most people in developed countries do.”

This is rubbish. Ang moh developed countries mostly knock off on the dot, go off at 5, some even earlier.

SG knock off 6-7pm, sometimes closer to 8pm. Then those who got young kids need to pick them up. Unless got in-law support or maid, if not how to ownself cook dinner at home if both are working?

If govt wants to encourage dual income families, then they got a role to ensure cheaper takeaway food options.
the govt can freely import FT, they dont need us. Low fertility rate is a misnomer, its red herring.
I don't think SG minister salary is sustainable.
I don't think SG population increase every year is sustainable
I don't think 20K passport given out to foreign trash is sustainable.

All ish a matter of perspective.
SG Minister celery easily sustainable de. GST have room to go 25%.

Sango123

There should be more controls over subletting. I don't think these sublet stalls are charged low rentals.
According to one hawker that i know quite well, he told me his rent is S$ 500 from NEA. 2 stalls beside him on the same row, the hawker is paying something like 2000-3000 from subletting

lumpyme

as go as high as 30%, GST @ 30% can help the poor alot, looking forward to higher cdc vouchers, assurances vouchers.

r2015-twp-chartdata-Chapter_8-1.gif
GST can also help to fight inflation and keep prices down
we urgently need to increase GST to at least 15%!

vee4044

espc customers

maybe try to self prep cook our own meals on weekends

When Cheapo talk we listen. True nothing but the true. 😄 🤣 😃 😛

helloicanseeu

Admiralty kampung cai png shrinkflation ... price lowered back by <1 dollar but meat portions much lesser

SkyNinja

The main killer is rent and the rich landlords. Fix that and almost all issues can be settled.

pwongkk

i agree, govt should increase taxes once again so as to fight inflation
GST 10% would make things easier to count as well

GST helps the poor by taxing the rich more and taxing tourists. it's the best way forward
let's increase GST to fight inflationi!

PAP! PAP! PAP!
They raise taxes, then we learn from.a particular group of economic refugees from 1 country.

We don't even spend as far as possible. Just spend on real basic necessities. In the end see who die first. Once people goes into cost conscious and spend less, the habit will not change

Since reopening, I have been having our monthly family restaurant meals in jb and it is no looking back. I got better value for my $$$ there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.