Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

oceanpriest

Gelang Patah bus route one of my favourite these days ! Fastest way to get to JB civilization from custom and quickest way to return to Singapore. Didn't realise there's a money changer there, is it at the terminal itself ?

I tend to get off one stop before the terminal and use it as a base to grab somewhere else !

And yeah, plenty of eateries in the area. I don't even have enough time to explore it yet. Quite keen to explore pontian from that terminal one of these days. Can I ask what you do in pontian ? Googled map it and apart from famous wanton mee, seems like a very quiet town. Is there enough to be occupied ?
just outside the terminal, opposite petrol station, but only open 9am

Hiap Lee (Johore) Sdn. Bhd.
27, Jalan Kacang Buncis, Gelang Patah
9am-9pm
https://maps.app.goo.gl/YC6vJgXqHW8eZdFt7

SantyBalls

oceanpriest

Quite keen to explore pontian from that terminal one of these days. Can I ask what you do in pontian ? Googled map it and apart from famous wanton mee, seems like a very quiet town. Is there enough to be occupied ?

pontian kechil got alot of place to explore
got nice coffee just near the fish market, the coffee come from their own plantation, should be liberica bean, abit floral and nutty and light like tea
google for Kheng Guan Hiong

then for seafood u can buy from market and bring to restaurant to cook
on my list to try Harpoon Spadefish in Pontian/Kukup, either fried/steamed one with Chye Poh or as Tong Kang Fish Bee hoon

then the old pasar area also many foods to try, got one old school kopitiam and biscuit shop
near the river got Ah Poh Bak kut teh, quite nice also
further near heng heng got yuyu ice and another wanton mee

my plan to go pontian in the morning for breakfast then take bus to continue further north to batu pahat

Habrosus

JJ about BOD, how to carry 500 KF pau up the air and get through Changi custom without getting caught. :s13: . My parents fly to KL for genting highlands, then take private car up. It feels like a lot of effort for not a lot of excitement. Not sure why the seniors love genting so much, they don't gamble that much either but Dad like very gian the free hotel stay. :spin:

Which hotel did you check into ?
Flying there I discovered no point. Waiting at airport wasted time too, and the car ride (I got airport taxi back then) was so long that I actually told the poor driver to stop for a rest anytime he wanted. In the end he went all the way up so I tipped him to cover a meal there, but he went to look for passengers for the ride down instead. Poor chap. Next time I'd consider the airport express or coach all the way there... Next time. :crazy:

Stayed First World. Flying trip was Club Room on 24th(?) floor with breakfast on the same level, need not go down. :grin:

Just before C19 was Deluxe Room in the 2nd block from their lobby. Big room but see no human presence. :s34:

Not very healthy coz bored until bought tablet and luggage. Pocket-hurting trips. :s13:

It's v normal dah. That's why I like eco Botanic u dun see aunties w luggages. 🙏😅🤣
Shophouse setup not trolley nor auntie friendly...

Habrosus

Quick question... CIMB card insert to ATM is facing up, right? Last trip card got rejected saying wrong position... :crazy:

Habrosus

I have 2 cards, which were no longer useful, without a car. If you were to take a coach from Larkin JB, the exit gate to take the coach will require RM 1, with TnG card. The buses and MRT at KL, also uses TnG card for ease of payment.
Good info. I was just wondering about that RM1 charge at Larkin. Good to know can use TnG card. (y)

SantyBalls

I think they really huat big big with Sinkie spending. One of the Kskin staff told me locals never go OK , that's when I realised I need to cut myself from it too as it's designed for foreigners like Sinkies (nothing wrong!) . I do like their ban mian pack and whacked a dozen of it over the weekend with the car, not from their cafe but from Popular bookshop. Bookshop trying to clear stock with sale, so it was an even better deal at the cafe ! :s13:

They do have great branding and store design, hope they huat in Singapore too giving Toast Box and our other local vendors a run for their money. More competition among them better for Sinkies. :grin:
If you big spender there, your items become really cheap.

My collick literally drive his porsche bring us there and his membership or smth make everything so cheap. Hoot their stuff gao gao 2 full bags lol

SantyBalls

Tea garden nice ar? Went see their menu not cheap.

Komtar marybrown open alrdy?
OK prices are already quite high for JB standards, let alone coming into Singapore. I think it will match Toast Box pricing, then it's a battle of who has better branding, service, food choices, taste etc..

Tea Garden in Komtar ?! :love: Means can whack their frozen stuff just before leaving JB via Woodlands but then I don't tend to go via Woodlands. Anyhow, still good to have that option.

Aaagogo

I have 2 cards, which were no longer useful, without a car. If you were to take a coach from Larkin JB, the exit gate to take the coach will require RM 1, with TnG card. The buses and MRT at KL, also uses TnG card for ease of payment.

alternative choice is to go to Merlin Tower. the shops for the coach service are still there since the old custom days

sbl2560

alternative choice is to go to Merlin Tower. the shops for the coach service are still there since the old custom days
Larkin is good with many choices and price. Easybook or Busonline are easy to book. No need to lug luggage to Merlin Tower. Bus 170 is just right after immigration to Larkin.

Meemoosaa

CNY shopping coaches will go as far as Pontian, not just JB. I just saw an advert yesterday but can't remember which company. Pontian seafood comes to mind. Ya, you should explore that area some day.

I just googled and seen a few offerings but then on second thought, better to go via cw and local buses or grab around, self plan and OTOT with much more flexibility. I promote myself to intermediate JB level liao. :s13: Coaches for beginners. (Unless there are good deals like the one to Kulai + free RM40 voucher!)

The thought of having to wait an entire bus load of people to get through custom gives me the shudders, but I think it's great for those who are less adventurous or staying way too far from either customs. I didn't even know they existed before !

That one overnight stay at Big Box, I was going through the shops and peeping at the back roads, no bus in sight. :o

Gelang Patah mostly shophouses there, and between those across from Petron leading up to the terminal, some schools. Shophouses again outside the terminal. Don't think will be of interest to you, unless you want to grab a ride. I've only gone to makan across Petron side, but never walked out once I got into the terminal.

But the one thing can Grab to from there, is Tong Gardens that's an open house leading up to festive seasons like CNY, Hari Raya, Diwali. Prices would be good for those loading up lorries. :crazy:

My makan around Gelang Patah.... Great prices (cos serving locals mainly i think?) but so far haven't hit on anything super sedap. Not enough trips and stomaches to take it all in yet.

Sharing some pics with others.

Below: Malay prata shop next to the terminal. Lots of local malays customers. Very efficient, taste wise okay as long as not looking to blow your mind. Great for a quick bite before heading off for any big adventure. Lol We were fuelling for JPO chiong !

nH2EC2N.png

Wantan mee and seafood kway teow near Gim Tong coffeeshop bus stop (one stop before terminal) . Also fuelling for JPO chiong on a different day ! Lol.

PTYvtza.png

hzgm7DH.png

IVdTbW2.png

duNBahi.png

Meemoosaa

pontian kechil got alot of place to explore
got nice coffee just near the fish market, the coffee come from their own plantation, should be liberica bean, abit floral and nutty and light like tea
google for Kheng Guan Hiong

then for seafood u can buy from market and bring to restaurant to cook
on my list to try Harpoon Spadefish in Pontian/Kukup, either fried/steamed one with Chye Poh or as Tong Kang Fish Bee hoon

then the old pasar area also many foods to try, got one old school kopitiam and biscuit shop
near the river got Ah Poh Bak kut teh, quite nice also
further near heng heng got yuyu ice and another wanton mee

my plan to go pontian in the morning for breakfast then take bus to continue further north to batu pahat

Thank you ! Sounds like quite a bit of things to do ! On my list now ! :love:

Meemoosaa

Flying there I discovered no point. Waiting at airport wasted time too, and the car ride (I got airport taxi back then) was so long that I actually told the poor driver to stop for a rest anytime he wanted. In the end he went all the way up so I tipped him to cover a meal there, but he went to look for passengers for the ride down instead. Poor chap. Next time I'd consider the airport express or coach all the way there... Next time. :crazy:

Stayed First World. Flying trip was Club Room on 24th(?) floor with breakfast on the same level, need not go down. :grin:

My parents seems to love flying and taxi all the way there. They also stayed in First world resort. It just feels like a lot of effort to get there for nothing if one doesn't gamble nor enjoy theme parks. As for the premium outlets, I JPO until exhausted liao. I thought we could perhaps check out KL at the same time but they were against it and said KL will kena jam and stuck and what not. I thought KL sounds more interesting than going to Genting.

Just before C19 was Deluxe Room in the 2nd block from their lobby. Big room but see no human presence. :s34:

Not very healthy coz bored until bought tablet and luggage. Pocket-hurting trips. :s13:

:sad: Need to find excuse to escape from the trip...........

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.