Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Habrosus

You in Boleh land Genting ?

Parents kept asking me to go genting with them but I'm quite hesitant. Heard a lot of time wasting at check in and with the school holiday, i'm concerned it could be a nightmare. Asides from the casino, what is it that I cannot do in JB that I have to go to Genting ah ? Just curious ! Me no love theme parks !
I foresee you'd be browsing the shops and getting bored. IMO it's like a shopping mall now, if you discount the casinos and theme parks. Eat and stroll, and get bored.

That's what happened to me before C19 hit, so going to Genting now would only mean curiosity of what changes would have been made, and maybe go to the premium outlet there to look-see.

Meemoosaa

gelang patah not bad actually, just outside bus terminal got money changer, rate also not bad. then many breakfast places nearby, got one ckt smell goods open in the morning but that time i had my ban mian so didn't manage to try the ckt. also got bus to pontian and tasek central. the terminal much cleaner than larkin and pontian. nice alternative when i wan to go pontian/pekan nanas or tuta but lazy to go by woodlands.

Gelang Patah bus route one of my favourite these days ! Fastest way to get to JB civilization from custom and quickest way to return to Singapore. Didn't realise there's a money changer there, is it at the terminal itself ?

I tend to get off one stop before the terminal and use it as a base to grab somewhere else !

And yeah, plenty of eateries in the area. I don't even have enough time to explore it yet. Quite keen to explore pontian from that terminal one of these days. Can I ask what you do in pontian ? Googled map it and apart from famous wanton mee, seems like a very quiet town. Is there enough to be occupied ?

Andrew833

i tried taking cw7L from mall of medini once, the bus stop is outside the mall, lucky i did ask with the information counter instead of waiting at the mall lobby 😅

even the LUGO app is showing wrong bus stop

for big box, not sure if same bus stop as LUGO app or not
mall of medini easier, problem is Big Box, one of the bro saw the bus but didn't stop at the bus stop.
gelang patah not bad actually, just outside bus terminal got money changer, rate also not bad. then many breakfast places nearby, got one ckt smell goods open in the morning but that time i had my ban mian so didn't manage to try the ckt. also got bus to pontian and tasek central. the terminal much cleaner than larkin and pontian. nice alternative when i wan to go pontian/pekan nanas or tuta but lazy to go by woodlands.

It's much cleaner coz it's normally just their locals using the limited bus services there. Or their relatives going there to fetch them to/from their SG>JB bus rides. But if it gets invaded...

And it's a rather small terminal anyway, nothing for sniffing aunties with trolleys to buy.

For @Andrew833 it'd only be a good place to Grab to, for a quick bus ride to 2nd Link.
I haven't explore gelang patah, so not a option for me now.
I went tasek central from Paradigm Mall once, under renovation, so nothing much.

ST9611

You in Boleh land Genting ?

Parents kept asking me to go genting with them but I'm quite hesitant. Heard a lot of time wasting at check in and with the school holiday, i'm concerned it could be a nightmare. Asides from the casino, what is it that I cannot do in JB that I have to go to Genting ah ? Just curious ! Me no love theme parks !
Genting maybe can see snow? Now Seoul heavy snow alr.

Andrew833

Decathlon opening at Bukit Indah (I think Aeon bah) on 7-8 Dec (Level 1)
Be the first 100 person to buy min RM180, free a camping chair.
There are many other free gifts and offer.

I miss the date, I going this weekend :cry:

Meemoosaa

Don't think prices will be anywhere near present once they land in SG, what's with our high rentals.

By the way, I think your Tea Garden's opened in Komtar a couple of days back. Or was it yesterday...?

OK prices are already quite high for JB standards, let alone coming into Singapore. I think it will match Toast Box pricing, then it's a battle of who has better branding, service, food choices, taste etc..

Tea Garden in Komtar ?! :love: Means can whack their frozen stuff just before leaving JB via Woodlands but then I don't tend to go via Woodlands. Anyhow, still good to have that option.

Habrosus

Gelang Patah bus route one of my favourite these days ! Fastest way to get to JB civilization from custom and quickest way to return to Singapore. Didn't realise there's a money changer there, is it at the terminal itself ?

I tend to get one off stop before the terminal and use it as a base to grab somewhere else !

And yeah, plenty of eateries in the area. I don't even have enough time to explore it yet. Quite keen to explore pontian from that terminal one of these days. Can I ask what you do in pontian ? Googled map it and apart from famous wanton mee, seems like a very quiet town. Is there enough to be occupied ?
CNY shopping coaches will go as far as Pontian, not just JB. I just saw an advert yesterday but can't remember which company. Pontian seafood comes to mind. Ya, you should explore that area some day.

mall of medini easier, problem is Big Box, one of the bro saw the bus but didn't stop at the bus stop.

I haven't explore gelang patah, so not a option for me now.
I went tasek central from Paradigm Mall once, under renovation, so nothing much.
That one overnight stay at Big Box, I was going through the shops and peeping at the back roads, no bus in sight. :o

Gelang Patah mostly shophouses there, and between those across from Petron leading up to the terminal, some schools. Shophouses again outside the terminal. Don't think will be of interest to you, unless you want to grab a ride. I've only gone to makan across Petron side, but never walked out once I got into the terminal.

But the one thing can Grab to from there, is Tong Gardens that's an open house leading up to festive seasons like CNY, Hari Raya, Diwali. Prices would be good for those loading up lorries. :crazy:

Habrosus

Decathlon opening at Bukit Indah (I think Aeon bah) on 7-8 Dec (Level 1)
Be the first 100 person to buy min RM180, free a camping chair.
There are many other free gifts and offer.

I miss the date, I going this weekend :cry:
I think it's one floor up...

I going sekarang... 👋

Meemoosaa

Than gentings not for u dah. 😁 😁 🤣
Stick to verbana & BOD song liao dah. 😁

Genting no BOD for me to whack right ? 😅

I foresee you'd be browsing the shops and getting bored. IMO it's like a shopping mall now, if you discount the casinos and theme parks. Eat and stroll, and get bored.

That's what happened to me before C19 hit, so going to Genting now would only mean curiosity of what changes would have been made, and maybe go to the premium outlet there to look-see.

The last time I was in Genting was at least 30 years ago. I'm curious about the cool weather so maybe that's the only draw for me while I shop ?! :s13: Food wise, any different from JB options and variety ?

Meemoosaa

U tried hock kee bo. Maybe coming days will whack at eco Botanic. Huat ah. 😁 🤣

Not yet, but bookmarked ! I tried Hua Mui in Kulai !

Btw, eco galleria was like a ghost town on Monday. Is that normal ? Lol.. I assumed it's weekend crowd place ?

Habrosus

Genting no BOD for me to whack right ? 😅

The last time I was in Genting was at least 30 years ago. I'm curious about the cool weather so maybe that's the only draw for me while I shop ?! :s13: Food wise, any different from JB options and variety ?
Not sure about BOD, but I did whack a box of donuts to give to a shop coz their nice staff got a tablet delivered from KL for me to buy and use during my stay there. :s13:

Ehm... during my latest trip, we got there late afternoon and I found myself perspiring while waiting for check-in... :crazy:

Oh, keep an eye on your belongings coz there're other foreigners on the prowl for victims...

Meemoosaa

Not sure about BOD, but I did whack a box of donuts to give to a shop coz their nice staff got a tablet delivered from KL for me to buy and use during my stay there. :s13:

Ehm... during my latest trip, we got there late afternoon and I found myself perspiring while waiting for check-in... :crazy:

Oh, keep an eye on your belongings coz there're other foreigners on the prowl for victims...

JJ about BOD, how to carry 500 KF pau up the air and get through Changi custom without getting caught. :s13: . My parents fly to KL for genting highlands, then take private car up. It feels like a lot of effort for not a lot of excitement. Not sure why the seniors love genting so much, they don't gamble that much either but Dad like very gian the free hotel stay. :spin:

Which hotel did you check into ?

oceanpriest

I tend to get off one stop before the terminal and use it as a base to grab somewhere else !

just outside the terminal, opposite petrol station, but only open 9am

Hiap Lee (Johore) Sdn. Bhd.
27, Jalan Kacang Buncis, Gelang Patah
9am-9pm
https://maps.app.goo.gl/YC6vJgXqHW8eZdFt7

SantyBalls

oceanpriest

Quite keen to explore pontian from that terminal one of these days. Can I ask what you do in pontian ? Googled map it and apart from famous wanton mee, seems like a very quiet town. Is there enough to be occupied ?

pontian kechil got alot of place to explore
got nice coffee just near the fish market, the coffee come from their own plantation, should be liberica bean, abit floral and nutty and light like tea
google for Kheng Guan Hiong

then for seafood u can buy from market and bring to restaurant to cook
on my list to try Harpoon Spadefish in Pontian/Kukup, either fried/steamed one with Chye Poh or as Tong Kang Fish Bee hoon

then the old pasar area also many foods to try, got one old school kopitiam and biscuit shop
near the river got Ah Poh Bak kut teh, quite nice also
further near heng heng got yuyu ice and another wanton mee

my plan to go pontian in the morning for breakfast then take bus to continue further north to batu pahat

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.