Are the service standards and waiting times in singapore public hospitals terrible?

Are the service standards, waiting times in Singapore's public hospitals terrible?

• Yes

Votes: 67 77.9%
  • No

Votes: 15 17.4%
  • Maybe

Votes: 4 4.7%

• Total voters

J_Man

Because, in land-starved islands, building expensive condos and landed property for rich FTs and BTOs for new voters citizens is more important than building more hospitals.

Bringing in drunk FWs who drink & piss on public transports is more important than bringing in more nurses and medical personal.

KPO_SAHM

private doctors dont want to work in govt hospitals

if too convenient to see doctor with short waiting time nobody will go to private doctors
too easy to see doctor also will be misused by public

True and also private doc the responsibility is higher cause can't hand over patients to other dr to follow up unless they go on holidays and they will inform their patients before hand

jimmy

private doctors dont want to work in govt hospitals

if too convenient to see doctor with short waiting time nobody will go to private doctors
too easy to see doctor also will be misused by public
Some went private not because they wanted to but they cannot take the strict process workflows. Some of you have correctly highlighted that these workflows are sometimes inconsistent and result in doctors unable to timely administer correct procedures for the patients.

Eliwood

IMHO.
Aging population need carpark ah ?

U r not getting the point.

U r saying that the wastage that can be better used to fund healthcare to meet the standard is cumulative so we shd be able to do it without raising taxes.

My point is the proportion of ageing population and society expectation of medicine and healthcare is also growing cumulatively so the wastage is not enuff.

Nobody here will be satisfied with the medicine and technology of 1990s, even tho the carpark for the hospital might have been built in 1990s.

marksnow44

See Ministry of Health want to tackle the problem or not only.

But Sinkies really 3rd class citizen in SG, even worse than construction Bangla!!!

Heard from construction relatives said gahment set up many clinics for construction bangla open everyday ( not like polyclinic close on Sunday), and they see Dr, take MC, take med, do x ray do test only need to pay $5.

diequick

To comment on the service of hospitals....so far ....I am very happy with their service.
The system is good, but can be better. World class dont settle.
Why does gov hospital need to provide A/B/C? how sick/ill/dependent u r, dictates how much care u go. If mobile/conscious, i dun mind go grab my own food tray. Do we really need the nurses to ask the patient(s), "this is the menu for tmrw, what would u like?" They r nurses, not waiter/waitress with nursing dip/degree. No one use the tablet, all lao kok kok 80+s.

On the same day at CGH, there was one fella, he says he was there since 5.30p.m. I am there at 10+p.m. I asked him, he says "no choice, wait." I buay tahan 4 him, I go to the admission counter, "I know nt ur responsibility, but can u assist this unker who says he was here since 5+?". In the end, he left CGH same time as me, around 5 a.m. They got him a new queue number. Why he so blur? His blood sugar is off the charts, 20+? It doesnt take much effort, for 1 staff to go scan the waiting area.

Joseph12

Recently visited a relative in cgh and saw the waiting room full of armchairs with sick and frail side by side. Was told operating timings are erratic and doctors are usually short-tempered
As compared to what?
Guess compared to third world countries like India and China small cities it's not that bad

Joseph12

See Ministry of Health want to tackle the problem or not only.

But Sinkies really 3rd class citizen in SG, even worse than construction Bangla!!!

Heard from construction relatives said gahment set up many clinics for construction bangla open everyday ( not like polyclinic close on Sunday), and they see Dr, take MC, take med, do x ray do test only need to pay $5.
Minister busy doing his tiktok
What do you think

van123

Population don’t age overnight
A responsible govt would have planned properly to ensure its citizens’ healthcare needs are well taken care of

mummynew

My experiences with public hospitals are generally negative if required hospitalisation since about 20 years ago when I had to accompany my parents for appointments / admission, to the extent that I became immuned to long waits. I have not been in the 'system' for about 7 years after my parents passed and hope there are improvements.

That's why even though pte medical insurance premiums so expensive, I am still hanging on to it coz I try not to let my kids experience the same as me when it's my turn to go for regular appt / admission etc. I hate the 'powerless / resigned' kind of feelings.

Roundtreex

Recently visited a relative in cgh and saw the waiting room full of armchairs with sick and frail side by side. Was told operating timings are erratic and doctors are usually short-tempered
Private hospital which insurance covered.
No such problem.

khratit

The cure for bad service, is bad service

Close down all pubic hospitals

Let all the doctor open hospital themselves

Then we either have competition

Or lay down flat

ahnyaahnya

The system is good, but can be better. World class dont settle.
Why does gov hospital need to provide A/B/C?
If no A , B1 , if all the same, the charges for the poor among us will go up. The private patients ( A and B1) > profit for the hospital > offset costs so that can keep charges for the other wards low

Dracky

The service is good despite what you pay for. That's why people will choose public hospitals over private hospitals, unlike in Indonesia for example.

There are lots of people who ask to see specialists for every ailment.

The solution is to reduce the level of service and not treat non-critical conditions. Let more people suffer the financial impact of poor health. This will reduce the queues at public hospitals.

windwaver

acongyekung060323_1.jpg

mgx-alander

It's not "the population keeps increasing". FTs and FWs don't come here to be hospitalised. They come here to work.

The long queues of patients in hospitals and policlinics are our very own boomers, white haired, no hair, in wheelchair, with maid or a daughter/son accompanying them. Some go alone for whatever reason.

It had already been said so many many times, that Singapore is now an aged society. The young men and women of the 1970s and 1980s who, after work, went to a hotel lounge to listen to a Filipino band belting out the pop songs of that era, and an occasional learned-by-heart Teresa Teng's song, that generation is now O L D.

lol go look at the dependent passes :crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.