Anyone else hooked on going to JB?

waterdestiny

I’ve been going to JB at least once or twice a month, and honestly, it’s become my happy place. The main reason? Everything is so much cheaper. Food, shopping, massages, you name it. Every trip feels like a budget-friendly mini-vacation that I look forward to every week.

Lately, I’ve even started fantasise about moving to Woodlands. The idea of living closer to the Causeway sounds like a dream, imagine how much more convenient it’d be to just pop over to JB whenever I want! Right now, the journey can be a bit of a hassle, especially with public transport, but I’m managing because it’s so worth it.

And don’t even get me started on the upcoming RTS. Once it’s operational, it’s going to cut down the travel time drastically. The thought of hopping on a train and getting to JB in just a few minutes? That’s pure bliss. I feel like I’ll have even more excuses to head there for a quick bite or some shopping.

Is anyone else as hooked as I am? Are you also tempted to move closer to the border for easier access? And what’s your favorite thing to do in JB?

Tiny Shrimp

I’ve been going to JB at least once or twice a month, and honestly, it’s become my happy place. The main reason? Everything is so much cheaper. Food, shopping, massages, you name it. Every trip feels like a budget-friendly mini-vacation that I look forward to every week.

Lately, I’ve even started fantasise about moving to Woodlands. The idea of living closer to the Causeway sounds like a dream, imagine how much more convenient it’d be to just pop over to JB whenever I want! Right now, the journey can be a bit of a hassle, especially with public transport, but I’m managing because it’s so worth it.

And don’t even get me started on the upcoming RTS. Once it’s operational, it’s going to cut down the travel time drastically. The thought of hopping on a train and getting to JB in just a few minutes? That’s pure bliss. I feel like I’ll have even more excuses to head there for a quick bite or some shopping.

Is anyone else as hooked as I am? Are you also tempted to move closer to the border for easier access? And what’s your favorite thing to do in JB?
ever think of just moving there? 😝

itedino

My record last time is daily entering to jb in and out. Hooked for 30 years. Sianz liao.

Rainy day also go in. What u think? 3 to 4 am go road side buy nasi lemak.

I used to be siao last time. Last time motorcycle. Live batok. Very near so everyday in and out. Morning still go work.

80s also always go in. See from green customs boxes to red customs boxes

bobo07

And what’s your favorite thing to do in JB?

images

Joseph12

Once or twice a month isn't hooked

Sylar22

tell those that are hooked on coming into SG

urbanathlon

Sian liao.

U think it's cheap then u do the math, u should be eating caipng that day and spend $5

U went inside JB, spent $5 on bus. $10 on grab. $50 on food.
Then realize savings not found. :(

Not only that.

The food in Malaysia are super unhealthy.
People who go there often should check their blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar etc.

Both my parents cholesterol and BP shot through the roof to dangerous levels since they start going there to eat. Now needs to take medicine.

Flavor good?
What's the magic?
More sugar, more MSG, more salt lor.
Their veggies for domestic market are as good as from China, full of pesticide, never checked much one.

GEORGE TOWN: The Consumers' Association of Penang (CAP) has urged consumers to be cautious of the high amount of pesticides detected in vegetables and rice sold in the market.
In a study done with the assistance of Wonjin Institute for Occupational and Environmental Health (WIOEH), and supported by the Financial Industry Public Interest Foundation (FIPIF), Korea, a total of 112 samples of vegetables and 20 samples of rice were tested for the presence of pesticides.
A total of 98 samples or 87.5 per cent of vegetables, and 11 samples or 55 per cent of rice contain pesticides.
Samples were purchased from various outlets such as supermarkets, hypermarkets, wet markets, mini markets and retail shops in Penang.
CAP president Mohideen Abdul Kader described the results as "horrifying".
"From the results, it was found that excessively high amounts of pesticides are being used in the vegetables tested.
"Besides, it was found that there were pesticides that are banned by EU countries used in Malaysia.
"What is most shocking was the presence of up to 35 compounds in a single vegetable," he told newsmen here today.
Results showed celery contained between seven and 35 active compounds/pesticide; rice (one to three active compounds); lettuce (one to 13 active compounds); Chinese flowering cabbage (three to nine active compounds); Napa cabbage (one to seven active compounds); and cabbage (one to two active compounds).
Meanwhile, Amaranth mixed red/green contained two to seven active compounds; spinach (two to eight active compounds); leaf mustard (three to 13 active compounds); Chinese kale (two to 21 active compounds); coriander (one to four active compounds); spring onion (one to 11 active compounds); and bok choy (two to 22 active compounds).
Mohideen said most of the vegetables tested were from the farms in Ara Kuda, which is the main vegetable growing area in Penang.
He said the vegetables grown in this area were also supplied to the surrounding states of Kedah, Perlis and Perak.
Explaining, Mohideen said, presently in Malaysia, legislation pertaining to pesticide residue in crops was under the Sixteenth Schedule (Regulation 41) of the Food Regulation 1985.
He added that only the pesticides mentioned in the Schedule (together with its MRL – minimum residue level) were allowed to be present in the respective crops.
"Besides using excessive pesticides, farmers are also using pesticides that are banned.
"The results revealed that there are a number of crops found to contain pesticides that are not allowed to be present in it.
"For example, the pesticide Abamectin which is only allowed to be used in fruits such as watermelon, cucumber and tomato, was found in celery and spring onion. Carbofuran, which is allowed only in rice, was found in some leafy vegetables.(Carbofuran will be banned from May 2023).
"The samples were also found to contain insecticides such as Malathion and Metaflumizone," he added.
Malaysian consumers, according to Mohideen, are unaware of the extent and types of pesticides used on the local agricultural produce as there has not been much publicity on it.
He, however, said there were cases where Malaysian vegetables were sometimes rejected overseas due to the high pesticide content.
"The study also revealed that our government encourages the use of pesticides as farmers are given financial aid to purchase them. Besides, illegal pesticides are also available to farmers.
"It was also found that many farmers are unaware of the dangers of pesticides and do not practise the required safety procedure such as the wearing of protective safety gear. Normally, foreigners who are not trained in the procedure, are paid to apply the pesticides.
"We also found that there is no proper storage place for keeping the pesticides. Sometimes it is kept in the same storeroom with tools and food.
"Empty pesticide containers are being disposed of at random even though there are proper places that have been designated for them," he said.
Given the above situation, Mohideen urged the authorities to:
* Regularly conduct tests on food items in the market for pesticide levels;
* Publicise the results so that consumers can avoid the food items that were found to contain pesticides;
* Strictly enforce the Sixteenth Schedule (Regulation 41) of the Food Regulation 1985;
* Enforce and monitor good farming practices;
* Conduct education programme for farmers to educate them on the hazards of pesticide use; and
* shift from industrial agriculture based on high use pesticide to organic agriculture.
Meanwhile, Mohideen advised consumers to demand for better food production practices through their power of consumption.
"Where CAP is concerned, we are encouraging and educating consumers to grow their own organic vegetables," he said.

Nevereatrice

Custom no jam?

addict951

Cross the stupiak kastam where got fun. :look:
I live here also dun cross the sea that often
Only when certain stuff run out and it’s very ex here then I go over to buy 1.
Other than the malls the infrastructure there quite deteriorated I see also gao wei:crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.