Govt intends to stop masking NRIC numbers, says there is not 'much value in doing so'

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Should lw step down?

• Total voters

prusswan.net

The NRIC has 7 digits and a checksum.

Unmasking the last 3 digit and checksum, and with the birth year known, we are left with

S/T 79XX123C

The logic for generating the checksum is not a secret. Just Google for it. Now with these information, how many permutations are there in the 3rd and 4th digit that will pass the checksum? Just need to reverse the logic.

And the 3rd and 4th digit is also tied to the person's birth sequence in that year so the later one is born in the year, the higher the number.

The sooner we stop thinking that our NRIC is secret, the better.
It's not about nric...more of how personal data is so poorly protected and this is making things worse and enabling hackers who already have data containing nric..

Mecisteus

Don't know what you mean by that.
Now NRICs are not publicly available info. There's controls in place.

Why are we providing more data than necessary in public domain? This provides more data points for scammers no?
@TopGun already explained in post #1,375.

prusswan.net

I just tried phone banking. I just need to key in nric and my one time password sent by sms. So if my phone got infected with a malicious app, a person might be able to perform transactions by phone banking if he can intercept the sms

Install a malicious app is one thing. People might be thinking no biggie if he never do internet banking, no banking app or off internet access when not in use. Cos the scammer just needs the nric and intercept the one time password.
But it is not gahmen fault you see, they don't operate the banks. It's your fault for not securing your phone

TopGun

It's not about nric...more of how personal data is so poorly protected and this is making things worse and enabling hackers who already have data containing nric..

Which is exactly why we must move away from using NRIC as a form of verification because it's not safe to begin with.

Philipkee

Wow, so fast flip prata by PDPC on PDPA liao. The Ministar in charge think it's something that can suka suka change?
Actually this flip prata is scary.

imagine you were caught for an offence. You show evidence that under the law, it’s not an offence
Govt change and say it’s been planned a long time ago.
You are now guilty

Think Malaysia did that before

testart

Actually the purchase of people profile in Bizfile is not a new thing. All along can buy the people profile in Bizfile. The only difference after it revamp is the search results can come back is unmasked NRIC.

Previously when you search a person exact name, it can come back with 10 results with m

Previously the Fujian Gang saga, the ST journalist might have make use of Bizfile portal to retrieve one fujian guy profile and can see he is registered under which companies.

Gov stance now is like Just follow what I say lah. I say what you all just follow, wouldn’t go wrong one.

arcturuz

Eugene Tan toking cock as usual in the article

Singapore Management University Associate Professor of Law Eugene Tan said the government’s Dec 14 stance is consistent with the PDPA, but “at odds with the public understanding and comfort level” on the use of NRIC numbers.

“The official shift in practice towards revealing full NRIC numbers cannot simply ignore this lived reality,” said Prof Tan.

“Singaporeans have been socialised into being sensitive to having their full NRIC number made public, and have accepted and internalised this.”

A public education campaign could “re-socialise people’s and organisation’s approach towards the non-masking of NRIC numbers”, he suggested.

Only when non-masking NRIC numbers is “widely practised and accepted” should public agencies proceed with using full NRIC numbers where necessary, said Prof Tan.
maybe he can start by sharing his NRIC online for the public to see

forests_gump

Sigh...now civil service don't even know how to bs, iron rice bowl + fat bonus makes them lazy & lack hunger

Sibeh woke...Jo did a f job.

Trump & Elon is right ~ vote them out, we need DOGE

Philipkee

But it is not gahmen fault you see, they don't operate the banks. It's your fault for not securing your phone
Swiss cheese model

For every action, it’s usually a chain of events where if one link was broken, the event wouldn’t happen

So for any issue, just focus on the one action that was done that caused the issue to happen (but not the one you are responsible for), focus on it and you will always be in the clear

Itsnotfunny

With IC no and name, u can go print out details of home address, know your age, etc. Can also check your car details. Etc. With IC number, Can go check who is your wife at ROM, name and details. Can borrow $ from loanshark too.

Justsomename

She went from “you only need a small space to have s3x” to “ you dont need to conceal your NRIC because scammers can figure it out anyway”.

well done Jo.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.