How you guys prepare for retirement?

hachi

Bro, it is good to hv this thoughts how to retire when hit say 50s or 60s.
Time won't stop.
Age won't stop.
We will grow old one day.
Nothing will stop.
Yes it is easy for youngsters to say this n that...
But when hit mid 50s, 50s, 60s, the thinking of retirement n how much saving I hv can determine whether need to work till 70s or 80s.
Every 10y of our life is different... Just plan and enjoy every process...

charlieangel123

For lower middle incomes like me. Get cheap or free 2nd bto.
This help to preserve cpf or wealth.
Invest the rest. Into stocks, high interests savings and some bonds.
Once cpf ramp into 5 digits interests... FRS is not too far away.
Don't over estimate how much you need during your retirement years. Like mnay here... 3m/5m.

Money don't matter much for elderly anymore. Don't tell me need 300-500k for medical... Once you need that...actually no more runway...

Remember come here crying... Leave with a smile. Learn to spend more time with you loved ones...
Money don't matter much for elderly anymore. Don't tell me need 300-500k for medical... Once you need that...actually no more runway...

this i agree.

enimen

In the worse case scenario, if u r poor, just need these 3 things to plan for retirement.

Rocking chair
TV
Government support

For 3rd item, enquire about lease buyback scheme and sell a portion of your hdb back and gov feed u for life with cpf life (if meet conditions)

Then u just buy chai png rice and spend your days in front of tv watch until ....

yokine3a

Is local bank shares doing well bro?
Can share?
Sis.

Doing well, unless big crisis like the last asia financial crisis then will drop, but go up again when economy recovers.

So, got up n down, but long term wise still more stable than other local stocks. But their share prices not cheap now, you need a big sum of capital fund.

hachi

this i agree.
Seen my BIL late millionaire frd.. He is still working 2 weeks before he pass on.

Stay in private hospital... Nurse keep calling his family members cos he go missing... Coz he ran away and go hawker center eat CKT. He said no more time... Enjoy while it last.

Nice and fun guy.

hachi

In the worse case scenario, if u r poor, just need these 3 things to plan for retirement.

Rocking chair
TV
Government support

For 3rd item, enquire about lease buyback scheme and sell a portion of your hdb back and gov feed u for life with cpf life (if meet conditions)

Then u just buy chai png rice and spend your days in front of tv watch until ....
Flexi lease.... The 3rd bto... Which also means your financial planning failed..

popdod

I already can't eat much these days, so not too worried on food. Honestly, 1 packet cai png at old age is a lot already. Fibre from vege, carb from rice, fats from curry sauce, actually ok.

Don't mind walking and hiking, only need to find free shower and water nia.

Don't think I will still be flying by then, priorities changing le. If can is best, but hard... can't retire here anyway. Not being melancholy, but just saying by then... probably just watch TV, and stare out window.

Important is don't be a burden to anybody. Die in peace can le.

thats right.
don’t be a burden to anyone.

even siblings have their financial problems. :(

everyone is responsible for their own life.

parents had done their part by putting us to education.

the rest depends on ourselves. :(

EJB

thats right.
don’t be a burden to anyone.

even siblings have their financial problems. :(

everyone is responsible for their own life.

parents had done their part by putting us to education.

the rest depends on ourselves. :(
Hur, I'm the youngest, so I guess my siblings will go before me. My nephew/niece also growing up fast, get married then will unlikely keep in contact with me liao, so it should be quite safe for me to not be a burden.

106gunner

Thinking of migrating to Thailand for retirement but worry later I end up in Myawaddy 🥶

popdod

Hur, I'm the youngest, so I guess my siblings will go before me. My nephew/niece also growing up fast, get married then will unlikely keep in contact with me liao, so it should be quite safe for me to not be a burden.

youngest doesn’t mean live longer. :s13:
my aunties passed away earlier than my grandma. :(

Later your nephew:niece cum and borrow $$ from you. :s13:

EJB

youngest doesn’t mean live longer. :s13:
my aunties passed away earlier than my grandma. :(

Later your nephew:niece cum and borrow $$ from you. :s13:
Heng is their lao peh richer than me, that one I not scared. They know I no money one. LOL... they have more than me after my sister left. My sis's all left them one HDB each... they are confirm richer than me. I have nothing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.