I dislike this young man that my daughter seems to fancy (at last night's Xmas party)

Lemonpeach

Yr daughter brought this guy for piak piak at home many times liow. That’s why he knows his way around like he lives there. That’s nothing much you can do. She wants to be love or love this guy is her choice. Suck it up that she will be used and thrown aside like a used doll.
That sucks. If true, I will be very very angry and revengeful on the boy.

econ food

Before we go off to JP for Xmas and Oshogatsu, my daughter held a mini party at home last evening.

There was this young guy that my daughter seemed happy to chat, joke. I had observed she was always smiling at his humour.

I found out a few things:

1) He rented a car and volunteered to "ferry" a couple of friends to our place. Granted we are in a not so accessible area, he could have shared a Grab ride. I think he is showing off.

2) He darted around our place as if familiar with the setting. It is his first visit. He settled himself, without consideration of himself being merely a visitor, a guest. Acted as if he is the host. No big no small. I have no clue for how long he has met my daughter.

3) At 4 years older than my daughter (21), he completed his NS, Poly, and did a few businesses, as he claimed (or odd jobs as I sensed). I was not a good student, but his 18 points for O level amazed me. He told me he is a startup entrepreneur/marketing consultant. He talks a lot of topics, but shallow in discourse.

4) The family and social gaps are too wide. I grew up in a rental flat. My parents worked hard, upgraded themselves, progressed through the years. My parents were frugal, no gambling, drinking, smoking. This young man has stayed in the same housing estate, same flat since young. I wondered why the lack of upward social and financial mobility. Was there any attempts at hard work, goal-getting, or enjoyed life in the moment? Does he not have a mentor? Role model?

5) He is a damn good, sweet talker. The type that will give way to my daughter momentarily, make her happy, cheerful. Couldn't he employ his EQ for making $$$$, instead of in social conversation?

My hunch tells me this guy is not gonna to achieve much, and there will be no good outcome for my daughter. There is no compatibility. A 3rd rated poly and odd jober versus an Oxford alumnus.

I'm writing this to let out air and to see if any experienced fathers have good advice.

My wife and I will chat with her in JP. I will not leave her alone, with this chap.

I have read too many Edmwer posts and also heard from classmates about non-working husbands, lying flat at home, leeching on the wife. Such a menace, pest.
Ps.. girls like humour and bad boys. Just admit the facts. Nerds can't even get a date and gf.

DulanMax

After he had his fun, he will move on. The girl can gain some valuable life experience.
If TS is satki as he claimed and his observations are accurate, the guy will aim to faster pump full tank and have a baby so he can jiak soft rice for the rest of his life

fire

Good sweet talkers are the ones that will go far in sinkieland career 🤣

sanukboy

I remember my friend daughter's boyfriend (prior) actually seek my friend's permission to start a relationship with the daughter.
I was shocked when my friend shared with me.
What are the chances of finding such a good brought up boy and the gentlemanly way he conducted himself nowadays?
Anyway both of them are happily married now.
I can only pray hard my daughter meet someone like this guy one day.

bruiser69

Don't let your past prejudices cloud your judgement. Give the boy a chance. That's all I can say :s13: :o

Emperor_Hippo

Before we go off to JP for Xmas and Oshogatsu, my daughter held a mini party at home last evening.

There was this young guy that my daughter seemed happy to chat, joke. I had observed she was always smiling at his humour.

I found out a few things:

1) He rented a car and volunteered to "ferry" a couple of friends to our place. Granted we are in a not so accessible area, he could have shared a Grab ride. I think he is showing off.
If he "did a few business" what happened? Dio pok until no money buy car har? Not even a friggin' COE car left 5yrs?
2) He darted around our place as if familiar with the setting. It is his first visit. He settled himself, without consideration of himself being merely a visitor, a guest. Acted as if he is the host. No big no small. I have no clue for how long he has met my daughter.

3) At 4 years older than my daughter (21), he completed his NS, Poly, and did a few businesses, as he claimed (or odd jobs as I sensed). I was not a good student, but his 18 points for O level amazed me. He told me he is a startup entrepreneur/marketing consultant. He talks a lot of topics, but shallow in discourse.
Erm... 18pts for O Levels considered good nowadays ah? It's like saying score 190 for PSLE T-Score is "very good".

Blardy bs lah. Single digit below 10pts for O Levels then considered good. More than 220 for PSLE T-Score is considered "ok". Anything below 220 is actually subpar.

Nowadays people standard SO LOW LIAO HAR?! I see my kid score AL9 (using PSLE Score mapping) for P3 I tore my hair out liao.
4) The family and social gaps are too wide. I grew up in a rental flat. My parents worked hard, upgraded themselves, progressed through the years. My parents were frugal, no gambling, drinking, smoking. This young man has stayed in the same housing estate, same flat since young. I wondered why the lack of upward social and financial mobility. Was there any attempts at hard work, goal-getting, or enjoyed life in the moment? Does he not have a mentor? Role model?
This one hard to say nowadays. I started my kid on 5rm level liao. Next level is what? Condo? Landed?
I dun intend to get a stupid 1000sqft Condo or buy a landed toilet. Got better ways to spend. Even if I buy a holiday home in ozzie and do visa runs also cheaper when I retire.

This one cannot take our yardstick and current yardstick to measure.

5) He is a damn good, sweet talker. The type that will give way to my daughter momentarily, make her happy, cheerful. Couldn't he employ his EQ for making $$$$, instead of in social conversation?
We are all men. U know the tricks.
My hunch tells me this guy is not gonna to achieve much, and there will be no good outcome for my daughter. There is no compatibility. A 3rd rated poly and odd jober versus an Oxford alumnus.

I'm writing this to let out air and to see if any experienced fathers have good advice.

My wife and I will chat with her in JP. I will not leave her alone, with this chap.

I have read too many Edmwer posts and also heard from classmates about non-working husbands, lying flat at home, leeching on the wife. Such a menace, pest.
"Let me put it in a way that you might understand. Where you come from, zebras marry zebras and leopards marry leopards. Stripes for stripes, spots for spots. Hmm? Where Ursula is a stripe and you are a spot, one which I intend to have it removed. Have a good evening Mr Jungle." - George of the Jungle.

Yah, the above line might apply to u.

But how old ur dotter nia? 24 only Oxford Alumnus? She how old go Oxford one?

Whirling_Dervish

If he "did a few business" what happened? Dio pok until no money buy car har? Not even a friggin' COE car left 5yrs?

Erm... 18pts for O Levels considered good nowadays ah? It's like saying score 190 for PSLE T-Score is "very good".

Blardy bs lah. Single digit below 10pts for O Levels then considered good. More than 220 for PSLE T-Score is considered "ok". Anything below 220 is actually subpar.

Nowadays people standard SO LOW LIAO HAR?! I see my kid score AL9 (using PSLE Score mapping) for P3 I tore my hair out liao.

This one hard to say nowadays. I started my kid on 5rm level liao. Next level is what? Condo? Landed?
I dun intend to get a stupid 1000sqft Condo or buy a landed toilet. Got better ways to spend. Even if I buy a holiday home in ozzie and do visa runs also cheaper when I retire.

"Let me put it in a way that you might understand. Where you come from, zebras marry zebras and leopards marry leopards. Stripes for stripes, spots for spots. Hmm? Where Ursula is a stripe and you are a spot, one which I intend to have it removed. Have a good evening Mr Jungle." - George of the Jungle.

I think you saw it wrongly. He states that his daughter is an Oxford alumnus at age 21.

Emperor_Hippo

the boy 21yrs old got license to drive already... don't think is from low ses family... can afford to send him get his license at such young age... he has a crucial soft skill at such a young age... that is DPX and speak well... nowadays in this day and age... hard tech skills are really worthless... but TS is right in his analysis that the boy won't amount to much if he can't find any do-ers to leech on... he can be the sales or face of a product or company... but he can't be the creator of something unless he develops those skills first....
Ehhhh.... I was frm Lower middle class.

I paid for my own driving classes and license. Got it at 18.

Driving lessons nowadays how much? $3K? $5K? $10K? Please. U use ur hands to work abit can afford a license liao.

As for doing sales, lets say if want to be that "小鲜肉 face" for company to do sales and sweet talk, got limit one.
If u never maintain a certain look, by the time u reach 40, still want to do sales ah? People tell u go jiak sai if u dun have the tech knowledge or hands-on to back it up.

bruiser69

Lemon Peach sounds quite snooty to me. She is the disapproving mother right? :s13: :o

fade_white

Ok u don’t like him so?
Your daughter fancy him so?
Are they getting married? Then what is the matter

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.