I dislike this young man that my daughter seems to fancy (at last night's Xmas party)

focus1974

What if dotter bring home a SME BOSS F2D that is 48 year old but shallow as heck, alot of sweet talking, seem like the siamdiu type, drive conti and brought no friends, brought abalone gifts how?
these type .. i not financiall rich family ... i also dont want my dotter to marry this type of guy loh!

Better to marry an prim and proper rank and file office worker with an average family. Key point is Son-in-law character is good and will take care of the dotter.

alex22

I'm not like that brat. I did not go to my wife's parents house and darted around. I'm also not a smooth talker; actually I'm pretty straight. I'm also not useless like him to hit 18 points and pretended to be an entrepreneur with limited experience, and from a 3rd rated poly.
Got stay in the same hdb area or keep buying upward till gcb when u meet parents?

focus1974

I shared again the story of my room mate when I was in the US (about 40 years ago).

Her family background was good with mum as a principal of a ‘good’ school and dad was also an educator in a tertiary institution.

She went to the US for her degree after A level, leaving her boyfriend in Spore.

While there, she let loose and slept around with many ONS cases.

When her parents and boyfriend visiting her, she returned to her ‘demur’ image.

She graduated with almost a perfect GPA.

*my girl also has a good frn like this - rich and strict family upbringing with strong academic results since pr school. Once reached US for her degree at 18/19 yo, the FIRST THING she did was to give up her virginity to a boy whom she met during orientation.

We could only speculate these girls just want to get out from whatever parameters that their parents set for them since young and be ‘rebellious’ at least for once in their lives.

So, kids who are too guai / too 'perfect' since young can be a 'problem' later in life.

The story not really helpful.

Means we should let the kids go for it ... like have sax with boys during teenage years .. so they dont do ONS and what nots when they are in Uni?

Lemonpeach

Got stay in the same hdb area or keep buying upward till gcb when u meet parents?
From the chit chat, this boy's parents and him have been staying in their flat from long time ago, till now. I wonder why no further mobility?

The idea of try, hard work, upgrade, if accepted and actioned, should see better income, better grades.

They seems to me like in a viscous cycle of unable to breakout.

Asked him who he learnt to start business, he said friends. Asked him if he has any successful business people as role model, he said no.

So, to me, he is tikam tikam in starting a business. Sounds good too. "I am an entrepreneur and marketing consultant". That was his answer to me. I would have respected him if he is more ground-rooted and less smirky.

alex22

Means we should let the kids go for it ... like have sax with boys during teenage years .. so they dont do ONS and what nots when they are in Uni?
Dun wan all these possibilities only can keep in basement for whole life, closed ecosystem till the parents die and demolition crew find the secret door with mortal remains and dessicated human waste
But well, life 1 goals achieved, died without that regret right @focus1974 ?

Bo pian one, have to take deep breaths, go out walk instead of stewing at home or indulging in the cesspool of edmw (yes it is a thing) then go back solve problems to support your kid or divest (haha) your kid

mummynew

these type .. i not financiall rich family ... i also dont want my dotter to marry this type of guy loh!

Better to marry an prim and proper rank and file office worker with an average family. Key point is Son-in-law character is good and will take care of the dotter.

I have a sec school classmate who was the 校花 in school. She was so beautiful that many boys from the neighbouring schools would come and wait at the gate after school hours just to take a look at her (not exaggerating). She had a boyfriend in school.

She was eyed upon by a rich man of mid 30s. Her mum happily married her off in haste when the rich man visited her house and proposed. She was about 19 yo then.

We still keep in contact. She is open about her husband is a womaniser but she doesn't care as long as he continues to provide her and the kids with a lavish life.

Different people just have different 'objectives' in life.

RadEoNic

Not taking into account this is father meet potential daughter gf, most idiots interview fall into point 3 also. Talk until wu leng wu hor, but actually just making noise

same goes for most edmwers, but we got 20k celery to back it up
:o

Kaylin

What if dotter bring home a SME BOSS F2D that is 48 year old but shallow as heck, alot of sweet talking, seem like the siamdiu type, drive conti and brought no friends, brought abalone gifts how?
sounds like the ah beng boss of an ID firm

alex22

I have a sec school classmate who was the 校花 in school. She was so beautiful that many boys from the neighbouring schools would come and wait at the gate after school hours just to take a look at her (not exaggerating). She had a boyfriend in school.

She was eyed upon by a rich man of mid 30s. Her mum happily married her off in haste when the rich man visited her house and proposed. She was about 19 yo then.

We still keep in contact. She is opened about her husband is a womaniser but she doesn't care as long as he continues to provide her and the kids with a lavish life.

Different people just have different 'objectives' in life.
Wana imagine, the guy is just a hired hand to make family have the impression that the partner is some amdk backpacker on a life discovery journey that their paths meet by serendipity etc new age cultish woke sheet.

But the sax was great, they both enjoy same taste in music

mummynew

Share with the kids whatever moral values you wish them to have when they were young.

Then, whether they want to internalise the same values is really up to them.

We, as parents, can only 'respect' their choices and be their safety net if one day the needs arise.

*1. can never force 'values' into anyone.

2. Kids can do many things behind parents' backs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.