anyone buy kim peng hiang bakkwa?

BunnyPancake

so many negative feedback? maybe i go back buying lim chee guan sua
LCG also overrated.

And believe me, most people won't eat bak kwa as compared to the past. Most are health conscious now and bak kwa seems to be for 'show' only just like pineapple tarts are expected to be on the table. But the difference is bak kwa we don't put the packaging and whatnot, we just put on plate for guest to take...

So just buy Fragrance's kurobuta or BCH's prime is good enough le. They are as good, no joke. Just toss them in the toaster and serve hot to guests... Many people don't realize that heated bak kwa taste way better.

relishmalice

Very overrated brand. In the past, they used to be good but something feels different over time...

Last time my parents loved this particular brand because they claim it is very tender/soft and fragrant.

So I would queue as early as 2 hours before opening time.

And, as you can expect, people to cut queue. You will see someone suddenly go to the person in front, "Hey! How are you bro/sis?! Wah..." then pretend just cut inside. I remember I was the 3rd in line end up become the 12th in line as friends after friends start cutting inside. So many times I see got quarrels but the shop owners and staff don't care.

I don't know is it some sick flexing mentality they have because they love seeing people queue until so long like snake. I remember giving many feedback to them that they should accept online orders but all my feedback/emails were ignored. It was only later when other bak kwa sellers started accepting online orders only then they followed suite.

And I'm not sure about now but when I tried their online order, it wasn't fresh too... The sticker on the packet showed that it was made 2 days back. So that means the bak kwa I received was already few days old.

I have no idea why they don't hire extra staff or just start making them overnight or something to help ease the congestion/queue... Anyway, they have their official website where you can make the order and have them delivered to you or self-collect... But it may be 1-2 days old.

Later when I secretly bought BCH's bak kwa (that new ones that claims to be soft) and gave it to my parents, they find it nice and thought it was as good as KPH. That's when we all stopped buying KPH. Even Fragrance's Kurobuta Bak Kwa is just as good... So don't just be a loyal customer blindly, try to sample others and you would be surprised.
I've been buying from them for years (even during non cny period).. they have never accepted online orders so I'm not sure wad u are on about

articland05

buy 10yrs worth then store in freezer...
10yrs later prices will soar even higher

BunnyPancake

I've been buying from them for years (even during non cny period).. they have never accepted online orders so I'm not sure wad u are on about
They did in the past. It was on Qoo10.

But on further check, they seems to have stopped accepting now (qoo10 gone, and they do not have an official website). Thanks for bringing it up, corrected my post at the end.

edit: think different brand. Thanks @relishmalice and @fandango for pointing out.

fandango

They did in the past. It was on Qoo10.

But on further check, they seems to have stopped accepting now (qoo10 gone, and they do not have an official website). Thanks for bringing it up, corrected my post at the end.
No no no. They have never gone online. You sure you talking about the same brand?

It is the shop space at Kembangan MRT vicinity

d3fc0n

LCG also overrated.

And believe me, most people won't eat bak kwa as compared to the past. Most are health conscious now and bak kwa seems to be for 'show' only just like pineapple tarts are expected to be on the table. But the difference is bak kwa we don't put the packaging and whatnot, we just put on plate for guest to take...

So just buy Fragrance's kurobuta or BCH's prime is good enough le. They are as good, no joke. Just toss them in the toaster and serve hot to guests... Many people don't realize that heated bak kwa taste way better.
mine is personal consumption not for guest

BunnyPancake

No no no. They have never gone online. You sure you talking about the same brand?

It is the shop space at Kembangan MRT vicinity
Oh, sorry, I think I mixed up with another brand liao... Think different.

And wtf, now I wonder if I got dementia or what... Or did I mixed up 1 brand after another then the taste was different :frown:

But thanks for bringing it up.

edit: okay, confirmed... I mixed up "Kim Peng Hiang" and "New Peng Hiang". My mistake because name so similar and so were the packaging... Sorry!!! :frown: :frown:

relishmalice

And wtf, now I wonder if I got dementia or what... Or did I mixed up 1 brand after another then the taste was different :frown:

As I've said I've been buying from them for many years and they have never done anything online.

Also they have always been cash only but recently they start accepting Paynow.

Tbh everyone taste is subjective, if u prefer the other brands then go for it (less queue for others also). I support this shop cos I like the taste, texture and the fact they dun practise CNY surge pricing.

orhneeorh

can offer queuing, collection and delivery service to chiur house for S$200

fandango

edit: okay, confirmed... I mixed up "Kim Peng Hiang" and "New Peng Hiang". My mistake because name so similar and so were the packaging... Sorry!!! :frown: :frown:
You anyhow lar. Kim Peng Hiang so unique. The packaging is box with Sakura flowers one. How could you have mixed it up.

Tetsuconek

Those willing to fatten the pockets of bak kwa sellers when prices are like 70++ per kg is jin rich and jskm

BunnyPancake

As I've said I've been buying from them for many years and they have never done anything online.

Also they have always been cash only but recently they start accepting Paynow.

Tbh everyone taste is subjective, if u prefer the other brands then go for it (less queue for others also). I support this shop cos I like the taste, texture and the fact they dun practise CNY surge pricing.
You anyhow lar. Kim Peng Hiang so unique. The packaging is box with Sakura flowers one. How could you have mixed it up.

But wait, I swear to God there was one time I did self-pickup to collect without the queue...

Only the other time I did an online order and have it delivered to my home and I think that was "New Peng Hiang". But for Kim, I swear remember doing online transaction or something then I just go over and collect at their outlet without queuing then people kua buay song like why I just walked to the front and collect.

Now I am trying to recall... When was it.

And no, I am not trying to wiggle my way out... I seriously swear remembering it. I am even going through my emails to verify.

Tetsuconek

Srsly. Super, super overrated.

I failed queue for 2 years in a row … 3rd year successful, end up taste like crap, really regret wasting 3 years of queueing for this $#!t.

Even Fragrance is better. Really don’t know how newspaper claimed they are #1 :s8:
Fragrance cmi lah... I been eating peng Guan. 20/kg during normal seasob... It's good enough for me

I dunno how they can sell so cheap compared to fragrance and bee cheng hiang. But it's good enough for me

fandango

Those willing to fatten the pockets of bak kwa sellers when prices are like 70++ per kg is jin rich and jskm
Kim Peng hiang no cny surge pricing. All year round $47 to $55. For many years already.

ahlim13

Ya why Peng can sell $20 /kg . I bought once and it tasted decent but don’t dare to buy again . What meat they using . $20/kg . Unbelievable

Tetsuconek

Ya why Peng can sell $20 /kg . I bought once and it tasted decent but don’t dare to buy again . What meat they using . $20/kg . Unbelievable
I eat many times liao. No issues leh.. Brazilian pork as they claimed

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.