Starhub UltraSpeed 3Gbps/5Gbps/10Gbps plans

MichealScott

For ONR, as SH is issuing nokia ONR wifi 6, the CSO told me it is not able to mesh with wifi 7 so customer cannot upgrade to wifi 7 without changing the integrated modem/router.

For ONT, customer free to choose router brand/mesh type and upgrade to wifi 7 as and when needed.
thanks. think i just go with ONR. Did some googling. Wifi 6 or 7 no diff to me. dont think i will ever need the speed of wifi 7

Skypower

ONT perform better than ONR in the sense that you control the "computing" to manage the network packets flow, When using ONT, you have the choice to choose higher performance "wifi" router for improve "General" network performance.

When using ONR, Your router "General" network performance is limited by the ISP provided ONR

Wifi performance is dependent on number of antenna + WIFI version 6/7 etc... which is on a separate topic.

CCCustom

Hopefully others will be able to help you with the M1 digital voice porting. It is possible as per the report but then there may be some tricks.

As for your ZenWiFi XD6, you can continue using them but you will be limited to 1Gbps since ZenWiFi XD6 has only 1G WAN port.

Getting two TP-Link HB710 (at S$192 x 2 = S$384) may be a good option, if you want to get full 5Gbps bandwidth.

Yet the other option is to get Asus 2.5G capable router like GT-AX6000 or TUF-AX6000 (both have dual 2.5G ports) and utilize 2.5Gbps bandwidth. The good thing is that you can use your existing ZenWiFi XD6 as AImesh node in this case.
I see the current <$4xx mesh solutions, only 1 WAN 1 LAN … my primary node XD6 feeds the living room, study room and master bedroom ports, with the 2nd node XD6 connected to the master bedroom port.

Don’t have a better mesh solution with primary node with at least 3 or better yet 4 LAN ports? :frown:

tsammyc

I see the current <$4xx mesh solutions, only 1 WAN 1 LAN … my primary node XD6 feeds the living room, study room and master bedroom ports, with the 2nd node XD6 connected to the master bedroom port.

Don’t have a better mesh solution with primary node with at least 3 or better yet 4 LAN ports? :frown:
Most of the routers with multiple LAN ports, they are not 10Gbps, but 2.5Gbps ports. You can get a $50 2.5Gbps switch and attach it to the router 10Gbps port that will feed all your rooms 2.5Gbps. Of the <$400 mesh solutions, the TP-Link HB710 sold by Starhub is just $192 and truly value for money.

I have a four mesh network, which is three TP-link BE230 and one HB710. I acquired the BE230 from Carousell BNIB for $100 ea. They don't have 6Ghz band and LAN/WAN are 2.5Gbps. Works beautifully. If you use the BE230 as satellites, they will have 4 1Gbps ports as well

phayze

https://www.asus.com/sg/networking-...ystem/zenwifi-wifi-systems/asus-zenwifi-bq16/

Asus BQ16 have a total of 5 Ethernet ports. Can be use as 1 WAN and 4 LAN ports.

https://www.netgear.com/sg/home/wifi/mesh/rbe973sb/

Netgear Orbi 970 have a total of 6 Ethernet ports. 1 WAN and 5 LAN ports.

CCCustom

https://www.asus.com/sg/networking-...ystem/zenwifi-wifi-systems/asus-zenwifi-bq16/

Asus BQ16 have a total of 5 Ethernet ports. Can be use as 1 WAN and 4 LAN ports.

https://www.netgear.com/sg/home/wifi/mesh/rbe973sb/

Netgear Orbi 970 have a total of 6 Ethernet ports. 1 WAN and 5 LAN ports.
Boss don’t like that leh :frown: I not ah sia kia can buy Orbi :frown:

BQ16 is 1 x 10G WAN, 1 x 10G WAN/LAN, and the rest are 1G … cost-benefit of this 1 on top of looking for a <$4xx solution, this 1 is also out for me :o

Project_Xco

At the secret link, where is the part where i get to choose between ONT or ONR option? I'm already at the page where they ask me to choose appointment dates.

Henry Ng

Most of the routers with multiple LAN ports, they are not 10Gbps, but 2.5Gbps ports. You can get a $50 2.5Gbps switch and attach it to the router 10Gbps port that will feed all your rooms 2.5Gbps. Of the <$400 mesh solutions, the TP-Link HB710 sold by Starhub is just $192 and truly value for money.

I have a four mesh network, which is three TP-link BE230 and one HB710. I acquired the BE230 from Carousell BNIB for $100 ea. They don't have 6Ghz band and LAN/WAN are 2.5Gbps. Works beautifully. If you use the BE230 as satellites, they will have 4 1Gbps ports as well
Yes quite value for money.

Boltstorm

Very strange I signed up UltraSpeed 5Gbps ONR at $29.55 plan, they never showed up for the appointment and then CS still need to check what happened with some other dept.

cstanhwz

Very strange I signed up UltraSpeed 5Gbps ONR at $29.55 plan, they never showed up for the appointment and then CS still need to check what happened with some other dept.
Better call in to Starhub and confirm installation appt once sign up via the links.

The call in again one day before appt date.

Previously also got others facing the same.

They got too many applications now for this S$29.55 plan.

chartao

For ONR, as SH is issuing nokia ONR wifi 6, the CSO told me it is not able to mesh with wifi 7 so customer cannot upgrade to wifi 7 without changing the integrated modem/router.

For ONT, customer free to choose router brand/mesh type and upgrade to wifi 7 as and when needed.
Is this true?? Meaning seriously I have to change my ONR to ONT?

xiaofan

As mentioned, you can get Asus 2.5G capable router like GT-AX6000 or TUF-AX6000 (both have dual 2.5G ports and quad 1G ports) and utilize 2.5Gbps bandwidth. The good thing is that you can use your existing ZenWiFi XD6 as AImesh node in this case.

For Asus, you do not need to really differentiate the normal router versus ZenWiFi which is kind of "canned mesh solution". Both the normal Asus router (eg: WiFi 6 and above) and ZenWiFi support AImesh.

xiaofan

xiaofan

Is this true?? Meaning seriously I have to change my ONR to ONT?

1. It is true that Nokia XS-2426X-A ONR can only mesh with Nokia Beacon 2 (or other Nokia Beacon models but Nokia does not offer them in Singapore).

2. Therefore if you want to use your own mesh solution, it is better to go with ONT option and not the ONR option. As per the reports here, it is possible to convince Starhub to change ONR to ONT with some negotiation power, as done by users like Henry Ng.

3. Of course it is still possible to use WiFi 7 mesh solution with some compromises if you keep using the Nokia ONR, since ONR is the main router in the network and it has one 10G LAN port and three 1G LAN ports.

Examples: using mesh in AP mode, or live with Double NAT.

1) Examples of living with Double NAT
Nokia ONR 10G LAN port --> Deco BE85 in router mode -- Ethernet backhaul or wireless backhaul --> another Deco BE85 as mesh node

Nokia ONR 10G LAN port --> HB710 in router mode -- Ethernet backhaul or wireless backhaul --> another HB710 as mesh node

2) Examples of using mesh in AP mode (losing FW features of your own mesh solution)
Nokia ONR 10G LAN port --> Deco BE85 in AP mode -- Ethernet backhaul or wireless backhaul --> another Deco BE85 as mesh node

CCCustom

https://www.starhub.com/personal/broadband/routers.html

If you dun mind service provider router, actually TP-Link EB810v is a good option.
As mentioned, you can get Asus 2.5G capable router like GT-AX6000 or TUF-AX6000 (both have dual 2.5G ports and quad 1G ports) and utilize 2.5Gbps bandwidth. The good thing is that you can use your existing ZenWiFi XD6 as AImesh node in this case.

For Asus, you do not need to really differentiate the normal router versus ZenWiFi which is kind of "canned mesh solution". Both the normal Asus router (eg: WiFi 6 and above) and ZenWiFi support AImesh.
If I get 1 EB810V as the primary and 1 HB710 as the secondary in the master bedroom, would that work? EV810V connect to the interchange at the DB box, I’m thinking 10G to master bedroom connect to HB710, 2.5G connect to living room and study room … study room desktop direct wired connection.

Henry Ng

If I get 1 EB810V as the primary and 1 HB710 as the secondary in the master bedroom, would that work? EV810V connect to the interchange at the DB box, I’m thinking 10G to master bedroom connect to HB710, 2.5G connect to living room and study room … study room desktop direct wired connection.
Can work but you may not need the 710 router in the Master bedroom.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.