A 33 year old Singaporean man won S$500,000 from Big Sweep and lost it all in 5 years! :'(

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

randyap

500k so little.

Actually nowadays lottery also no use. So little.

Is like those Nobel prize winners. Still only win $1m. And if joint winners have to share the $1m with however many joint winners.

Nobel prize winner for $1m?

Go do finance better. WTF do research all for measly $1m or few hundred k only.
Nobel prize glob publicity is worth way more than 1million.

crimsontactics

500k..

can use some money buy house n huat

n some of the money buy btc or palantir or nvidia

5 years ago until now. Huat until buay lin chu liao
Yeah sia can straight away buy one 2 room BTO and max out SA and MA Bro arsenalfc85! :(

Maybe still go some money left to go Bangkok... :(

Kanko San

I buy a bit of Toto for fun. I don't do 4D. If I win something big 15 years ago, I'd probably squander a large amount of it away. Now I'd probably know how to make use of money to get more money.

My FIL is terrible at finance. He's over 70 but squanders nearly half his pay as a security guard every month on 4D. He wins something occasionally, but it never makes up for his losses. He just don't see things that way.
His money.
Let home enjoy what he wants.
After all..in future, he will be gone ( same as you n me too ).
Happy can liao

MyWill

Remind me of folklore my deceased grandma once told.

A man saw the opening of heaven gate in the sky one night. He was granted one wish. The celestial suggested good health, happiness etc. But the man insisited on 1 ton of gold. The celestial gave up. 1 ton of gold fell from sky and hit the man feet. The man then spent the 1 ton of gold on healing his feet. Nothing gain in the end.

Kanko San

When i strike TOTO 2nd prize. $126k.
1 - Bring family to Tokyo.
2 - Pay for 2 children U fee.
3 - Book 2 urn places in Kong Ming San temple.
Now much expensive plus fully booked.
Of course also donated to Temples, Bugis Guan Yin temple $500 & Amoy T. P. Kong temple $500.

If strike above $2M, $50k to 4 temples.
1 - G. Yin Temple.
2 - Loyang Temple.
3 - Amoy T. P. Kong temple.
4 - Geylang Lor 25A 1 temple

crimsontactics

Remind me of folklore my deceased grandma once told.

A man saw the opening of heaven gate in the sky one night. He was granted one wish. The celestial suggested good health, happiness etc. But the man insisited on 1 ton of gold. The celestial gave up. 1 ton of gold fell from sky and hit the man feet. The man then spent the 1 ton of gold on healing his feet. Nothing gain in the end.
He ish not wise Bro MyWill... :(

500k so little.

Actually nowadays lottery also no use. So little.

Is like those Nobel prize winners. Still only win $1m. And if joint winners have to share the $1m with however many joint winners.

Nobel prize winner for $1m?

Go do finance better. WTF do research all for measly $1m or few hundred k only.
usually ppl that say this kind of thing dont have 500k

Quala98

ya its normal to lose all

normally ppl will straightaway book tour to go Japan eat the most expensive omakase..

then come back say want to invest in crypto and jio girls to eat omakase

then during CNY boast boast a bit and suddenly all the relatives claimed that they had been in financial difficulties

and then CNY go casino try try and tio addicted to gambling

crimsontactics

ya its normal to lose all

normally ppl will straightaway book tour to go Japan eat the most expensive omakase..

then come back say want to invest in crypto and jio girls to eat omakase

then during CNY boast boast a bit and suddenly all the relatives claimed that they had been in financial difficulties

and then CNY go casino try try and tio addicted to gambling
That's why moi put all moi gambling winnings into CPF Bro Quala98! :(

yiron

https://www.asiaadvisersnetwork.com...Grab-driver-blew-through-his-lottery-winnings

Someone walked away S$9 million dollars richer in Singapore after the recent lottery draw results. But is it luck or a curse? Here's a timely reminder on the importance of money management as we learn from the experience of someone who blew through his lottery winnings and is back working as a Grab driver.

Singapore Pools, the state-owned lottery subsidiary company in the lion city, announced the results to its Toto lottery draw on 27 February. And there was one winning ticket for the grand prize of S$9,310,169.

Wow!

I’m sure you must have heard of objections from prospects or even your clients sharing with you their hopes of striking the lottery to put aside all their financial worries.

Even as they continue to dream and hope for a lottery win, it is important that they put in place a financial plan and enhance their personal financial literacy to cultivate good money habits with you.

You can find plenty of examples doing a quick search about lottery winners in the US with unbelievable amount of winnings who end up broke again.

Well, here’s a story closer to home in Asia that you can share with them.

“I won the big sweep. 2nd prize. $500k”

Earlier this year, Ian Isaiah Ding recounted his conversation with the driver on his Grab ride in Singapore.

While chatting, the driver Mr Teo shared what Ian described as “the most fascinatingly mind-blowing story” he has heard.

Mr Teo shared, “I won the big sweep. 2nd prize. $500k.”

According to Ian, Mr Teo:

• quit his job with immediate effect
  • took his dad on a holiday to Taiwan, where he spent $20k on business class flight, food, and experiences
  • took the next 45 consecutive days to drinking expensive hard liquor at his regular club
Unfortunately for Mr Teo, after the 45th night of drinking, when he got up to shower the next day, he slipped and fell in the bathroom and fractured his spine.

At the hospital, the MRI scans showed that he also had 3rd stage brain cancer.

And the driver showed Ian the photo proof of the letter of diagnosis as well as his X-Ray images.

Fortunately for Mr Teo, he didn’t have to worry about his medical bills as 90% of the bill was covered by his hospitalisation insurance plan and all his surgical costs were covered, including the two spinal implants at his neck.

So how did he spend the more than $300,000 that he was left with?

Mr Teo lost another $100,000 at the casino and was scammed some $100,000 by someone in a Chinese temple for two years.

The rest was spent without much thought to pass time.

“This year is my 5th year. In March, the doctor will declare me clear of cancer. But the money ran out already, so I have to come out and drive grab,” said Mr Teo.

The incident happened five years ago when Mr Teo was 33. Now he is only 38.

And the driver has replied to collaborate the story and gave further details

“I check 6 times to double confirm the number before collecting it the next day, lol I spent 7k on 5days trip in Taiwan and business class air tickets was at 15k only, I spent 100k on drinking Gordon blue, Martell Chivas and beer, I lost 28k in casino anyway we got a common friend, so he text me what u send online.”

“I got scammed by a chinese medium 130k after 2years which I confirm 2 times at the temple I strike is basically out of luck but the ??? help me strike 1st prize 70k, ???? help me strike 12500 when I was in hospital. really damn funny”

As Ian rightly pointed out, Mr Teo won the money, but we can all gain the lessons from his experience. So can your prospects and clients, when it comes to financial literacy and sound money management habits.
Won a one-off $500k, spent like he earns $500k per year. I'll be surprised if he doesn't get into trouble.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.